We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well, I have to say that the average rating was generous. When we arrived, it was late. 1 in the morning. There was (we found out later) a new girl at the front (yes, girl - she couldn't have been over 19 or 20) and it was her first night on the job. There was something wrong when she tried to run our debit card (which we used the next night at another Hampton with no problem, by the way) and it wasn't going through. The manager came out to see what was going on and she just said "Their card is declined." Very humiliating. Absolutely no delicacy and no other suggestions. The manager didn't gently take over and run it herself or show by example how to try to make a difficult situation easier - they both just gaped at us like we were deadbeats. Finally got the billing taken care of. The sauna that we booked for? Out of order. Nobody mentioned that when we called ahead and confirmed that they had one. Also...doing construction that meant that thewater was turned off intermittently between 11 and 2 every day. During the holidays. Now, yes, that it technically between checout and checkin. But we had also asked about a late checkout since we were coming in so late and were told no problem. Wonderful. Excrpt that it is a problem to bathe a 3 and 5 year old after swimming in the pool that morning when the water goes out mid-shower. The morniing staff was wonderful. Unfortunately, the man on duty the next morning was on his last shift as he was on his last day! Overall, NOT a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalibuMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize you did not receive a pleasant experience during your time here. We are upgrading the hotel for all of our guest’s enjoyment. During this process we are working to limit the amount of impact on our guests. We have put notifications on our website as well as letting all reservations, arriving during the time, know about our improvement plan. I apologize the sauna was not in working order during your stay. We are working on this issue. Service is so important to us and I am disappointed we did not provide you with the service and hospitality you deserve. I will be working with our new team members to make sure they understand what Hamptonality is all about. I hope that the next time you are traveling through Amarillo you give us the opportunity to show you the improvements we are making. You are welcome to contact me at the hotel at 806-467-9997 and ask to speak with Lindsey Snell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    142
    64
    30
    20
See reviews for
159
159
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here one night passing through. The staff was very nice and helpful and the rooms were clean too. The hotel is right off I-40 and is behind another hotel and restaurant. This is a typical Hampton Inn with its quality and cleanliness. We would stay here again passing through! Better than an average off interstate hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emd581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I'd have to say that Hampton Inn Amarillo is not the best Hampton in the country from an interior design standpoint, not bad by any means just not as up to date as others around the country, Still it was clean, well maintained and the staff were very friendly, these are the things that matter most to me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thomas, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to let you know we are making improvements to the properties interior design. Over the next couple of months we will be making enhancements to our guest rooms and bathrooms, pool, fitness center, and public areas. We hope you will return on your next trip to Amarillo so you can see the many improvements we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a great place to stay when in Amarillo. Great location and the staff was excellent from the Ladies in Housekeeping, the very nice lady who worked the breakfast area, the front desk, and the Manager.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Mark thank you for your review. We are very proud that our team here in Amarillo impressed you. We strive to make sure every guest know that Hamptonality is BIGGER in Texas. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Amarillo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The staff was very friendly & helpful, breakfast was great! Sherry (in the breakfast room) and Candice (sp?) @ the front desk, really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Annette, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments about Candiss and Sherry. They are great team members and really know how to make our guests feel welcome. Because you spoke so highly of us and rated the individual aspects of your stay so high, perhaps the overall rating is not correct. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Amarillo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After spending the previous two nights in a not so great place, we were please to find that there was a Hampton Inn in Amarillo which was our next stop.

As usual, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was just what we expected from Hampton Inn. Breakfast was good. We definitely recommend.

Located right behind two steak houses and other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Lois, thank you for your review. We are all so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Steve was extremely helpful, professional and
friendly during my stay. Much appreciated!
Like all the Hampton Inns I stayed in for this
Thanksgiving holiday week.. the beds were
pure.. clean!!!! Love it. Coffee was great
and the breakfast hit the spot while on the run.
Charlie Reno,NV

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review Charlie! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and I will make sure to let Steven know how much you appreciated his service. He is a great asset to our team! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing