We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amarillo hampton inn poor value and a mess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
montgomery, United States
1 review
“amarillo hampton inn poor value and a mess”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

renovation at hotel makes this unattractive place to stay...a real mess and prices do not reflect decreased value...smell of construction permeates air and fine dust everywhere...much of hotel inaccessible such as workout room...did not advise situation prior to booking...no discount on pricing to account for poor conditions

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roger J. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Roger, Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay with us. We apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We understand your disappointment in the dust as well as the inconvenience with our fitness center not being available. We are doing our best to minimize the impact that our improvements have on our guests, including offering complimentary access to a local full service gym. We will be wrapping up our renovations by the end of March. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would be happy to speak with you about this matter, if you wish to call the hotel directly. I hope you will return in the coming months so you can see all the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    142
    64
    30
    20
See reviews for
159
159
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We arrived at 4:00 to fine our room "not ready," but they had a beautifully clean and updated one ready for us on the second floor. Yes, they are still laying carpet, our room doesn't have its final touches, but who cares. Everything smells so new and clean. We were treated like royalty. Just great all around. 500' walk to the Outback Steakhouse, and Pizza Hut is just across the parking lot. No need to move the car once you arrive here.........and ten hours on the road makes that simply wonderful!

Room Tip: The Inn is back off the highway, so any one of the rooms should be fine as it is surrounded by other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Charlene, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for providing feedback. We will be making those “finishing touches” to the rooms over the next few weeks. I hope you will return again soon so you can see the final product. We are very happy with the way everything is turning out and even more pleased our guests are excited as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix AZ, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were traveling with children. We had a comfortable weekend stay. Very affordable. Very close to our venue and Torrey Pines State beach which was lovely. Would recommend to friends. The children were very pleased with the complimentary breakfast options. The trip was a long one for the children so they were very happy to have nice accommodations. This is a such a beautiful area. We wanted to experience more of what this area had to offer but our time was limited. Next time we will allow for a few more days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Thanks for your comments sorry it took so long to respond I guess it just fell through the tracks I normally do them daily. Again we are glad you had such a great stay and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I overnight for business approx. 77 times a year. I really enjoy staying at the Hampton Inn hotels, specifically the updated Amarillo Hampton Inn. Easy to get in and out, rooms are nice and staff is eager to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Jason, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoy your stays with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurst, tx
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This wasn't as new as many Hampton Inns I stay in. That being said, it still had a nice staff member, clean rooms, clean towels, etc... The breakfast was nice and eating area larger than most. We arrived really late and the parking lot was really full -- I didn't enjoy my long walk in the middle of the night, but not sure they can fix that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kseim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review! We are in the process of updating our rooms as well as other areas of the hotel, so that we are able to meet our guest’s expectations. We are very proud of our team and strive to provide the best service and cleanest rooms in Amarillo. We hope to see you again soon, so you can see all the progress we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel was under construction (badly needed) but failed to mention this when I made a reservation. My room was very outdated, nothing on walls except holes, no refrigerator or microwave in the room, stained bathtub with very low water pressure and noise from the construction starting at 8 am. There is a brand new Fairfield Inn with much better rooms and the same rate. Stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Mitchell, on behalf of the staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites, I apologize for your disappointment in your recent stay. We are currently making upgrades to the guest rooms, corridors, and other public areas. We are making every effort to minimize the impact these improvements have on our guests. We do have a message displayed on our website and have a dialog for central reservations and the hotel staff to read to guests booking to make them aware of the renovation. The improvements at the hotel will continue through the month of February and will be completed prior to spring break. We are addressing the issues you mentioned with the walls, furniture, bathtubs and other areas at this time: making a brand new hotel for our guests to enjoy. We would be happy to speak with you about your experience, so we may have the opportunity to resolve this issue. Please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager. We also hope you will return after our renovation is complete, so we may have the opportunity to show you the positive changes we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This Hampton Inn is a pleasure every time we visit. Very nice breakfast lady helped us get a great start on our day. Easy to find and many places to eat nearby. Great bed and the room was White Glove Clean!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Gary, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo. Our breakfast host, Sherry, is a great example of what hospitality is all about. I will make sure she knows how much you appreciated her. I will also make sure to pass on your comments to our hard-working housekeeping team! They are truly the backbone of the hotel and I think they are the best in Amarillo! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing