We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
SW USA
Level Contributor
277 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“An Average Hampton Inn”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A pretty average, Hampton Inn. Walking distance to an Outback and a Hoffbrau Steak House. Check in OK, not great. Hot real friendly. Breakfast a typical one for the chain, limited choices of fruits compared to other H.I. Nice cookies in the afternoon. Elevator really creepy and noisy. Dark parking lot. Only good thing was the location, right off the highway (I40) which makes it convenient for trips in or out of Texas.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNowSwUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am disappointed that your check in process was “not great.” We strive to make each of our guests feel like family. I will be addressing this with our front desk team. I am also working with our maintenance team on the elevator and parking lot lighting issues. We hope that you will return on your next trip to Amarillo so we can show you how we are continuing to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    133
    62
    29
    19
See reviews for
147
153
28
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Poor lighting in the parking lot. Our room smells like old smoke. The elevators whine and grumble- so we took the stairs.
We have stayed at many a Hampton- this is the worst. Yuck. Trust me! Go somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I apologize that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. I have discussed the issues you described with our team and we are taking appropriate action. I understand how frustrating it is when your room smells like smoke. While we are a 100% smoke free hotel, occasionally we do have guests that smoke in the rooms. When this happens, we perform a “deep” clean on the room. I will be researching your stay to make sure this room is odor free. I am also working with our maintenance team on the issues you described with parking lot lighting as well as the elevator noises. I hope that you will stay again in the future so we can show you our dedication in improving our guest’s experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hampton Inn never lets you down. Nice accommodations, good breakfast, clean rooms! This location sits off the road enough that the highway noise is not an issue . If given a choice, I'd pick them every time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Michael,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Amarillo West. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a problem with thieves in their parking lot. I've stayed here 5 times this year, but the last two times I've stayed I've had my Yeti Cooler, which had locks on it, stolen out of my work truck. No cameras in parking lot, no security, and no responsibility. I won't be staying here anymore!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Ryan, We apologize for the issues you had during your stay with us. We are taking precautions to address your issue, however the hotel is not responsible for property left unattended in vehicles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for one night only but were very impressed with our welcome from the exceptional staff. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The indoor pool area looked clean. The complimentary breakfast was a great start to the day. We would happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Portland1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is not your typical Hampton. The property is dated and the first room assigned was not inhabitable. The late night front desk was staffed with one person who obviously was not interested in working there and one who exceeded our expectations to make the stay tolerable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank LAS20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I apologize you were unsatisfied with your stay and will be addressing the concerns you had. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your experience and have the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please call the hotel directly to speak with our General Manager, Joel Snell. We appreciate any feedback you can provide, as it helps us to continually improve our service and the quality of the hotel. Guest contributions have led to many positive improvements including, an upgraded breakfast and the full renovation we completed in March of 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here on a solo trip across the USA. This Hampton inn was exactly what I was expecting after a long day of driving.

The staff greeted me and the check in was quick. Of course I had a cookie!

they were very helpful on recommending a local restaurant and made the stay very pleasant.

the breakfast provided was great and the choice was what I have come to expect from Hampton.

I would stay here again on a trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-In-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay Michael. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing