We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“          stayed in Hampton inn last...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2010

        
 stayed in Hampton inn last night in Amarillo TX @ 2AM we entered the room with missing thermostat so we called up and ask for 1. around 3 AM we were ready for bed I took the bed cover out and arranged pillows, the pillows are WET! and it's smells! AS IN! I had to change the sheets myself! And the night auditor guy gave us new pillows. That was 330Am! He said that he is going to leave a note for the manager in the morning. 10 am we went downstairs and asked for the manager, she cant even face us! The front desk staff said that she is in the conference call with the owner. WOW! how ridiculous it was! I said it's better so that the owner would know what is going on! We waited for 30 mins hoping to talk to the manager but she didn't see us at all!         
The night auditor was ok. It was a very bad experience. We thought that we will be able to sleep after 11 hours of driving. The whole staff are not friendly and they don't know how to greet people! It was horrible!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hrm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2010

I've stayed at several Hampton Inns and this one just isn't quite up to the normal standards. It's OK, but I would probably look for another option next time I'm passing through Amarillo.

First, it really seems like this was originally a Super 8 or something and then converted. Cheaper bathrooms, the arrangement of the halls, and the thinnest walls (NOISE!). I heard every one and everything.

The room was spotless clean, if somewhat dated and smaller than the norm. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was just so-so.

Also, I don't like the location. It's basically on a frontage road of the freeway. Don't expect to go for an evening walk, it seems like a light industrial area.

I've become quite loyal to Hampton Inn, as they are usually quiet good and a good value. This one didn't quite measure up.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAisMyTrueHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

My first stay in a Hampton Inn (by Hilton). It's not really designed for the business traveler. The room didn't have an office chair that rose high enough to use at a desk with a computer. It did have free Internet and breakfast was included. Unfortunately, the breakfast was mostly inedible. Eggs tough as rocks, potatoes greasy. The lighting was very poor both in the room and in the facility. There was no bar. Hilton Garden Inn (my more normal Hilton stay) was next door, and I should have been there. I won't go back to the Hampton Inn if I can help it.l

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Our rooms were very clean--that is the first item I check. Front office staff was helpful. Breakfast provided a good selection of everyday breakfast foods.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed here on 10/13/09 as one of our stops on our cross country trip. We stay at Hampton Inns whenever we can while on the road as we can count on a decent, clean, comfortable stay. Used a coupon from a travel discount pamphlet we picked up and had a really good rate. Left in the am during rush hour but since we were on the west side of the city, the traffic was no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oclola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stay in Hamptons quite a bit, and it seems they are going downhill somewhat. However, this one is to be avoided. They are doing some major renovation, and it's a mess. There is extremely limited parking, since most of the parking lot is torn up. The stairs are not usable, since they are running hoses up them for the equipment. We had very loud pounding in the room next to ours at 8:00 in the morning. Granted, 8:00 is not all that early, but we arrived at 3:00 PM and they could have put us in a room that was not next to one being renovated.

The carpet in the room was nasty, turning Debbie's white socks black with a couple of trips around the room. In the morning, housekeeping had their carts and piles of dirty laundry all but blocking the hallways. It was difficult to walk down the hallway without having to navigate around the carts and step over piles of laundry at the same time. It would have been almost impossible if we were carrying luggage. The morning breakfast was so-so. It's almost like there is either no management on duty that cares, or they need a refresher course in how to run a hotel. All in all, a very disappointing Hampton.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JdubyaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Anyways stay here on our way to and fro to CO. It's great, it's clean, it's the best!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing