We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Comfortable Beds in Amarillo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most Comfortable Beds in Amarillo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Initially I had noise problem issue from the freeway and an unattended yapping dog in room next door, but front desk immediately moved me to another floor and the other side of the building (all king suites, which I had booked, face freeway), so I ended up in a two queen bed suite, but it was the most comfortable hotel bed I have found anywhere in Texas and was the quietest hotel room I have ever been in anywhere. This will be my hotel of choice from now on when I stopover from Colorado to Dallas and back. I will know in the future to book the two queen beds for south facing. When future hotels are built on the empty lots between this one and the freeway, the noise problem will go away. I do think this hotel should have a section of rooms blocked for people with dogs, away from other rooms, And I am a dog owner but he doesn't travel with me.

Room Tip: Book a queen room on south side of building to avoid freeway noise issues, apparently all king rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    56
    17
    9
    18
See reviews for
67
42
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The building looks new, and the room was beautiful, but the walls are paper thin and the staff is either incompetent or apathetic. After a long drive, we checked in at midnight. The parking lot was mostly full, so we had to park in the back. No problem, until we're standing in the rain, trying to unlock the rear door, and the key card would not work. After running around the building with our luggage, the clerk said, "Oh yeah, we've had trouble with that door." She's the one that told me to use it. Then the key would not work on our room. She reprogrammed another key, which also didn't work. Then switched me to another room. Great! Kids were screaming and playing in the room next to us, and we could hear every shriek. Later could easily here dad saying "Go to sleep!" Then woke to his snoring and more screaming during the night. We skipped breakfast, because we just wanted out of there. The desk clerk didn't say a word to us upon checkout. No, "Good morning.", "How was your stay?", "Thanks for staying with us." There are far too many options in Amarillo, for me to consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel recently when on the road. We had a room with 2 beds and a sofa,
The hotel was very clean and looks new. The front desk woman was nice with a smile and very friendly. As a earlier reviewer stated no name tags on any employees.
The rooms are clean and look new. Several of the electrical plug covers were missing the screws and just hanging on the walls. We had to go to the front desk to ask for towels (only 3 in the room), tissues (empty), and toilet paper. (only 1/2 roll)
The breakfast was great. Lots of choices. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montana2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

When I travel for business I always try to locate a Comfort Suites, this time was no exception. The Amarillo Comfort Suites on Western Plaza Drive delivered! The staff was very friendly and strived to make my stay the best! The hotel could have been rated as a 4 or 5 star hotel based EVERYTHING, including the size of the rooms, the cleanliness, the bright and bold colors used to decorate the rooms. Most of the staff was friendly and accomodating, with the exception of the front desk woman in the morning when I checked out. She only offered a frown, no warm greeting and no name tag to identify herself. Beyond her everyone made me feel welcome! I would definately stay here in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerilynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel. My husband and I were traveling across country and stayed here on our way through Amarillo. I thought I had made reservations the night before but apparently had done something wrong as we never got a confirmation email. The woman working when we got there was extremely accommodating and matched the price online that we had gotten. The room looked very new and was a suit with a little sitting area that had a dorm sized mini fridge and a microwave. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. All and all we had no complaints. Free breakfast in the morning included waffles in the shape of Texas!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniejoyhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked our stay based upon the wonderful experience we found at another Comfort Suites during the prior week. Unfortunately, we didn't receive the same warm, cozy treatment and facilities at the Amarillo location. Upon arrival, we were not greeted by front desk personnel with a friendly hello or welcome. Although our check-in was performed in an efficient, competent manner, we felt we were more of a burden to the clerk. At breakfast the next morning, the attendant didn't smile or ask if she could help us in any way. When the couple sitting near us left their table, the attendant made what seemed like very obvious grunts and groans about cleaning up after them. When we met staff in the halls there were no good mornings or hellos. Not even a polite nod. We never asked anyone for extra help or assistance during our 12 hours at the hotel, however, we felt like we were burdening the staff just by being there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

When my husband and I think of Amarillo, Texas, we don't picture great hotels or memorable stays. However, we just visited for a wedding and we had a marvelous stay. This hotel is super clean and well appointed. I loved having extra space to move around it with extra seating. The bathroom was big and updated. The bed was comfy. And, the breakfast really hit the spot. And, the location couldn't be beat.... near but not on the highway. And, close to many nice restaurants and shopping. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: If you find the elevator too slow for you, the wide staircases make it easy to access each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsKelliH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 12 Western Plaza Dr, Amarillo, TX 79109-1569
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing