We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Internet - Too Cheap to buy sufficient newspapers”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
365 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Terrible Internet - Too Cheap to buy sufficient newspapers”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A fairly new motel that was very clean - nice breakfast area that was well staffed with an attendant right there. However, the internet access was NOT!! They offered no solution to the problem. In the morning went to get a paper - was told they were out. Checking the parking lot not a full house - looked to see if someone was reading in the breakfast room - no dice. When checking out was told the management only buys a low number of papers and that most days they run out early.

Room Tip: Ask if the internet access has improved. Ask to reserve a paper if you want one in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    58
    17
    9
    18
See reviews for
70
45
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merriam, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were traveling east and stopped in Amarillo for the night. Planned to stop here and had made a reservation. Good thing because this place was sold out by time we arrived. The hotel manager was on duty for out check in and check out the next morning. You simply will not meet a nicer guy. He was offering everything he could to make us feel welcome and made sure we didn't want for anything.

The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was we stayed on the 4th floor one room from the end of the building. In the last room next to ours was a group of guys. They were only talking, not being loud or boisterous, but they talked until 2:30 in the morning and we could hear almost every word they said. i was shocked that the walls were so thin. It ruined what would have been a perfect stay.

Other than that it was one of the nicest Comfort Suites we have stayed in. I would gladly stay there again, but will bring my ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a really nice room that was large and really quiet for being so close to I-40. Beds were super comfortable and rooms get cold fast. We enjoyed the stores in the area and the time we had to rest here. Breakfast was quite disappointing for such a nice hotel, it had really basic items like cereal, pastries and waffles but no fruit so don't get too excited about it. It seems like a pretty safe area except multiple times there were people walking all over the place in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Colorado. Booked online, arrived at 9:30pm. Room was ready and very nice. Lots of pillows on the bed and an actual thermostat on the wall just like home. The desk clerk was very friendly, I don't remember her name but she was new. Breakfast was ready right at 6:30 with plenty to eat. Only minor negatives were some carpets need to be vacuumed in common areas and there were no prices listed on the snack items in the pantry. We didn't want to bother the desk clerk to ask as she was still busy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way back from Colorado. Booked online and paid $25 for an extra person in the room--we have a family of five. Arrived at 11:00PM. There were no linens for the sofa bed. Wondered why they were not in the room since we paid extra for the fifth person. After we inquired about the linens we were given four flat sheets--no pillows or blanket. We were told they were locked in a closet and no one there had the key. We asked for the mattress pad for the sofa bed and received a blank stare. They then gave us a blanket from the room next door. Still no pillows--we used pillows we brought with us.
I think maybe the rooms with the sofa beds get a lot of use because there were a lot of scuffs on the walls, drips on the bathroom wall (that I'm hoping were coffee), lots of nicks on the furniture, dingy carpet. No plastic laundry bag--OK, probably being picky but it was just one more thing at that point.
We set the thermostat on 63 to get the AC unit to turn on. It would cycle on and off every few minutes and never got below 78. Probably could have switched rooms but it was late. We went to bed and hoped for the best.
Needless to say, I would not stay there again. No attention to detail. Did not seem clean. AC didn't work. Can't comment on the breakfast. We woke up and got out of there as quick as we could.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is nice and for the most part great staff. Check in was great, room large, clean and updated. The location is convenient, right off I-10, and close to several good places to eat like Cheddars! The pool and hot tub was one of the best we have used and breakfast was well stocked. But breakfast is where we experienced a negative. When we checked in we was told breakfast started at 6am. and thats when our family of three went to eat. We did notice a sign by the coffee that stated breakfast begins at 6:30am, No problem, the young lady whom was working the front desk, already had breakfast set up and said to help ourselves, and there was already a few others enjoying the breakfast. That is when we was confronted by an employee(an older short lady in a housekeeping uniform, wearing a brown coat, eating breakfast with two other housekeepers, or they all appeared to be housekeepers). She goes sir breakfast does not start until 6:30. We noticed others who already was eating just shook there head at her comment. So We proceeded to eat a nicely prepared breakfast. We sat down to eat and from the other table the lady talked about us,to the others in Spanish, and about how disrespectful us Americans. My high school son and wife whom both know the Spanish language, could not believe what they was hearing. Prejudice, has no place in our country! At checkout we told the young lady about this and she was very apologetic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Ok, can I just say that I am now really aware of what a "suite" is? So many hotels try to pass off a double queen and a couch pull out as a luxury suite. Comfort Suites just put them all to shame. This place is brand new and the rooms are spectacular! Huge space!! Feels like we are in a apartment, not a hotel room. Amazing. So worth the price!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 73 in Amarillo
366 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 12 Western Plaza Dr, Amarillo, TX 79109-1569
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing