We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance on the Road”
Review of Embers Steak House

Embers Steak House
Ranked #16 of 508 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Romance on the Road”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well, at least at the table next to us where an anniversary was being celebrated. This dark, cozy place is perfect for that kind of dinner or a group of friends. It was half price wine night and the crowd seemed to be enjoying it. We felt like locals due to the friendly atmosphere and great service. Liked: large wine pour by the glass, steaks, summer salad, dessert. Not so much: macaroni and cheese. The apple pie a la mode is a quarter of a pie with delicious crust topped with french vanilla ice cream. One of the best desserts ever!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    30
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trion, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly servers.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were on our way back from Santa Fe New Mexico, being on the road a few hours we stopped in Amarillo to stretch our legs. We went to the quarter horse museum and decided to eat at Embers. We both had the hamburger with goat cheese on it and i had steak fries and my wife had sweet potato fries and everything was excellent and affordable. it was a pleasant surprise. In santa fe. we went to several places and wasn't happy about any of the food. The worst was a fast food place called Lot a burger.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
1,377 reviews
744 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Need To Try Dinner”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have tried the Brunch now several times and have not been impressed. Small variety of items and food just what we call eatable but not to brag about. Have been told the steaks in the evening are very good so will try that and then give another review.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to Tourist Traps and Chain Restaurants in Amarillo”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had occasion recently to overnight in Amarillo and sought out a local steak house. It appears that the local dining scene is dominated either by tourist traps or by franchised national restaurant chains, so we were pleased to find Embers Steak House as an authentic local alternative to the others.

We went early on a weeknight so we could sample the happy hour cocktails and the bar appetizers, and were pleasantly surprised to find a friendly bartender who actually mixed great drinks using real and quality adult beverage ingredients, and we enjoyed excellent fried onions as an appetizer, all at very reasonable prices. We moved into the main dining room and I ordered a small NY strip steak, while my wife sampled the grilled Portobello mushrooms. The steak was cooked perfectly to order, while the mushrooms were large, fresh and delicious. Again, service was great, and because we had not tried a certain cheese type offered there, the restaurant provided a sampling of it at no charge, along with a hard toast. Again, delicious!

The décor was handsome but perhaps a bit dark. The web site needs updating. But the restaurant itself, the service staff and the food were all great and at reasonable prices. Embers is a worthy alternative for your dining satisfaction in an otherwise jungle of chain or tourist trap restaurants in Amarillo. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amarillo, tx
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love Embers and so do all of my friends! It is one of those very special places where you can go early, or late, and get the same dependable service and wonderful food every time! They offer a wide selection of menu choices, in addition to a yummy burger menu. The salmon salad is one of my favorites! The chef is amazing and the wait staff is top notch. They also offer a full bar, great wine selection, and discounted appetizers during happy hour. Try the deep fried baked potato, green chili mac and cheese, or chipotle mashed sweet potato as a side to your entree. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shell96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Embers Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Embers Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing