We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm-charm-charming”
Review of La Casita Del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casita Del Sol
Ranked #2 of 13 Amarillo B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charm-charm-charming”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Lovely and lovingly restored Spanish style home with vibrant colors and fun decor. Plan to relax a little in the garden, not just dash in and on your way. Colorful songbirds like to visit this garden as well. Breakfast was wonderful and freshly prepared: the jams were delicious. I meant to buy some jars to take home, but we talked so much with the owner, Bonnie, that I got distracted. But I'd certainly stay here next time in Amarillo, rather than a sterile cookie cutter hotel along I40.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms were well decorated and had good bathrooms. While sitting in the garden, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ironpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was our first trip to Texas and we knew nothing about the Amarillo area, but have stayed at many bed and breakfasts before, so really wanted to find one there. We stumbled upon La Casita and just LOVED it from the first second we walked in. The room was so cozy and warm and beautifully decorated, I slept great on the giant fluffy king bed. Bonnie is an amazing cook, and they have said it many times, but her homemade jelly and biscuits are AMAZING. If we return to Amarillo, I would stay there every time!

Room Tip: Choose "La Encantada" the king suite, you will not regret this gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebu527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Actually stayed Dec'08 and Jan2009 and 2010June! Repeat stays. Bonnie is a wonderful propritor and chef :) Her remodled home is the most unique in history and fun stories. Her homey kitchen is great for a family/friendlly atmosphere. I pray she is still there when I go thru Amarillo again!
Ruth

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logs4mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Last Casita del Sol is a winner. The hospitality of owner Bonnie is great. The rooms are comfortable and wonderfully decorated. The house has intriguing architecture. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The suite with a skylight is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynchvvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

La Casita is simply wonderful; superlatives just don't do it justice. The rooms are very neat, clean, quiet, and charmingly decorated with great creature comforts like excellent matresses, high threadcount sheets, and plush towels. There is a lovely large walled garden for relaxing and the B&B is walking distance from most downtown locations and Amarillo College and otherwise is very conveniently located near I40. But best of all, the Innkeeper, Bonnie, is delightful company and makes fantastic made-to-order breakfasts. She does everything possible to make your stay perfect without hovering, making you feel welcome in her lovely home. As far as I'm concerned, this is the ONLY place to stay in Amarillo if you want to ensure a truly enjoyable, restful visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelerdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If I needed a place for out-of-town guests or for a special occasion, I would go to La Casita del Sol and its innkeeper, Bonnie. Bonnie has created a haven of good taste, unusual and artistic decor,, and welcoming comfort. Besides being an inveterate renovator, Bonnie is an accomplished cook. The inn has welcomed bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday celebrations, as well as overnight guests in one of its three cozy and beautifully decorated rooms. The King Suite is suitable for even honeymooners. The yard-garden takes up two lots, is surrounded by an adobe wall, has a grape arbor and cedar potting shed, along with a teepee for the two garden cats. Bonnie makes delicious jams for sale, having such flavors as strawberry-rhubarb, raspberry-jalapeno, or ginger-apricot. Breakfast is served either in the kitchen or at the dining table. Guests can relax in a colorful living room,or the foyer. TV and Wifi available. La Casita is located two blocks off I-40 in an older neighborhood with brick streets.

Room Tip: All rooms have garden view. Despite being near downtown and two interstates, La Casita is an oasis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Don't be put off by outside appearance & neighborhood. This is very comfortable, great hosess & excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.7 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 73 in Amarillo
384 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita Del Sol

Property: La Casita Del Sol
Address: 1607 Harrison, Amarillo, TX 79102
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Amarillo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Sol Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing