We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in Amarillo”
Review of La Casita Del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casita Del Sol
Ranked #2 of 14 Amarillo B&B and Inns
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jewel in Amarillo”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

An historic neighborhood location worth the trouble to find it, delightful hostess, great breakfast , grab the Encatada king when available. Spacious house owner has done her own renovation, roam the backyard, enjoy the deck.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etfortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We loved our experience here for our wedding anniversary! We will be back just to spend more time with the inn keeper and buy more delicious jam. The breakfast was so amazing but that was why I picked it from the reviews. Now I have been craving it every since! A cat walked across the skylight above the bed right as I woke up which started my day off perfectly. We picked our room because it had access to the garden and a private bathroom and it was beautiful and comfortable as well. Thank you Casita del Sol for such a memorable time in Texas!

I am not sure what the recycling situation is but it would be nice if there was one available, we usually just take the recycling home with us instead.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I love staying here when I'm in Amarillo! Bonnie is the perfect hostess and her rooms are all very comfortable and decorated with so much charm and artistic decor. Her location is in a quiet historic area so I always sleep soundly and then look forward to a home-cooked breakfast with Bonnie's own jams and preserves.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked a horseback ride at Palo Duro Canyon State Park, and found a great place to stay at La Casita del Sol. Bonnie was a wonderful hostess, and fixed us a fine early breakfast. The Ralph Dundee Room was just fine has a nice big bathroom. Wished we 'd had more time to check out the classy local art collection on the walls

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Lovely and lovingly restored Spanish style home with vibrant colors and fun decor. Plan to relax a little in the garden, not just dash in and on your way. Colorful songbirds like to visit this garden as well. Breakfast was wonderful and freshly prepared: the jams were delicious. I meant to buy some jars to take home, but we talked so much with the owner, Bonnie, that I got distracted. But I'd certainly stay here next time in Amarillo, rather than a sterile cookie cutter hotel along I40.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms were well decorated and had good bathrooms. While sitting in the garden, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ironpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was our first trip to Texas and we knew nothing about the Amarillo area, but have stayed at many bed and breakfasts before, so really wanted to find one there. We stumbled upon La Casita and just LOVED it from the first second we walked in. The room was so cozy and warm and beautifully decorated, I slept great on the giant fluffy king bed. Bonnie is an amazing cook, and they have said it many times, but her homemade jelly and biscuits are AMAZING. If we return to Amarillo, I would stay there every time!

Room Tip: Choose "La Encantada" the king suite, you will not regret this gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebu527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Actually stayed Dec'08 and Jan2009 and 2010June! Repeat stays. Bonnie is a wonderful propritor and chef :) Her remodled home is the most unique in history and fun stories. Her homey kitchen is great for a family/friendlly atmosphere. I pray she is still there when I go thru Amarillo again!
Ruth

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logs4mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.7 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
394 reviews
5.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 72 in Amarillo
672 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita Del Sol

Property: La Casita Del Sol
Address: 1607 Harrison, Amarillo, TX 79102
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amarillo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Sol Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing