We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amarillo Abode”
Review of La Casita Del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casita Del Sol
Ranked #2 of 14 Amarillo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the street it doesn't look like much but once inside you'll probably be amazed. This is a lovingly restored hacienda run by a wonderful hostess who knows the history and details of Amarillo like the back of her hand. Breakfast and the conversations that went with it were marvellous.

Found the room to be comfortable, with a TV and Queen bed and our bathroom was enormous. In the morning we had a great breakfast with lots of fruit, scones, eggs made to order - all with that southwest essence. We wish we had more time to spend there but we were on a deadline.

When you stay make sure you check out the garden and ask about the story of the house. Quite a tale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Spent 2 nites (one travelling west to Phoenix and one traveling east back to northwest Arkansas.)
What a gem. Interesting home. Needed more time to just take in the beauty and loving restoration. And then there is the hostess Bonnie..such a multi-talented lady! I wish we could have spent a week with her In her home.The frosting on the cake is the Nema-1450 charger! Do give her a call!
Cleary of Northwest Arkansas

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Lila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Unique house, lovingly restored with handsome, colorful guest rooms and a charming hostess. We were welcomed with the aroma of home cooking which we realized is a constant at La Casita, if not banana bread or biscuits, then Bonnie's own chili verde sauce. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MJCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our first time to Amarillo and to La Casita Del Sol.
We arrrived late and had to leave early to explore Palo Duro Canyon, the quarter horse hall of fome and the art museum.
Our stay was restful, pleasant and interesting.
Bonnie our host happened to be busy that week-end, however, she managed to put a healthy breakfast together very quickly and very nicely.
We only regretted not to have enough time to appreciate the Mexican art that cover her rooms and learn more about the history of La Casita being built in 1924 (?) and renovated sometime ago.
We promised ourselves to come back sometimes soon.

Room Tip: we only looked at the suite, but it looks fantastic, our room was quiete looking over the large gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed two nights on our way out to NM. Bonnie is an excellent hostess. Our room (the king) was very comfortable. She has an amazing story on how she raised this old building from the grave and how she lovingly restored it. Our breakfasts were amazing both mornings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamingotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My 3 girlfriends and I took over this B&B for a long weekend. It was perfect. We each had a bedroom and bath (the king room is best!!). Bonnie gave us the run of the whole house. We had more friends over for wine and cheese in the evening. And in the mornings we got our own coffee early in the kitchen and headed outside on the deck to enjoy the squirrels and birds. Breakfasts were delicious and hearty and beautifully presented. This B&B is hidden away but worth the search near downtown.

Room Tip: The KING room is best especially for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKP62942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

An historic neighborhood location worth the trouble to find it, delightful hostess, great breakfast , grab the Encatada king when available. Spacious house owner has done her own renovation, roam the backyard, enjoy the deck.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etfortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
5.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita Del Sol

Address: 1607 Harrison, Amarillo, TX 79102
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amarillo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Sol Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing