We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight with 2 Toddlers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here overnight to break up a road trip from TX to NM with a 2-year-old and a 4-year-old. It was a perfect place to stay! It has 2 indoor pools-one a large heated whirlpool. We swam when we got here that afternoon and before we left the next morning. There were fresh-baked cookies waiting at the concierge when we got here and hot chocolate which the kids loved. The free buffet breakfast included oatmeal, fruit, make-your-own waffles and a good cereal selection, among other pastries, eggs and toast. The room tvs get both the disney channel and nickelodeon. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the whole hotel was very clean. For dinner with kids, I'd recommend a nearby chuck e cheese or mall food court with free play area. There's also a Target nearby in case you forgot any necessities. :) Highly recommend this place! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

While passing through Amarillo, I chose this hotel based on price, reviews and an indoor pool. None disappointed.
I bought this room online and got a great deal.
My friends stayed at a different hotel but I chose to stay here anyway because the reviews were higher.
The bonus part of our stay was the heated indoor pool which was open until 11 pm.

Pros:
Fresh baked cookies in the lobby
Free hot breakfast that included sausage, eggs, French toast, and fruit.
Roller carts in the front entry for hauling your things to your room.
Fridge in the room
Pet friendly
Indoor pool

Cons:
Horrible cattle smell outside (They say it's the smell of money.)
Pet friendly, if allergic, there were lots of dogs.
$20 per night pet fee

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank w0rktraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have stayed at several Country Inns and have been satisfied each time. All seem to be modern and well equipped. Service was fine and the full breakfast allowed us to drive all day without stopping to eat. Employees were polite and the place seemed sparkling clean. We had planned a long drive westward, and the location on the far west side of town gave us a head start.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Although we arrived late, 9 PM, we were greeted by a friendly desk clerk. They had coffee and cookies right there by the registration desk and we helped ourselves.
Our first impression was, "What a beautiful lobby." The fireplace was going and I suggested that we just sit there and enjoy the coffee and cookies. The whole property was very nice, clean and quiet.
Our room was great. Had a flat screen TV and an extremely comfortable bed. We slept well.
Breakfast was so varied that no one was making waffles! Good hot food, cold cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, danish, etc. There was a lady who was preparing/setting the food out and it was all very fresh.
This property is about a mile off I-40 so there is no hint of traffic noise. Our room actually faced the interstate. QUIET! A really good place to stay, we'll stay here again

Room Tip: I can't imagine anything less than a great room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

While clean and tidy the hotel suffers from crappy maintenance. The hand rail at the top of the stairs is loose and when I reported it to staff they already knew and intimated that it had been that way for a while. This is a safety hazard. The hot tub was dirty and very foamy so I asked them to send someone to take care of the hot tub. We waited for a good half hour and no one showed.
Room is nice, food was good and staff nice. The maintenance makes me rate it lower than it should be

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

...700 miles of driving thru 3 states, dark and trying to find a place to stay with little notice and a crew of six...AND a dog. Don't stay in Amarillo much, but we happened to find this place with a little research and a bit of luck. For those of you who want a pretty darn nice place to stay, this is it. Not really visible off of I40, but very easy to find. Room was awesome with super comfortable beds, multiple tvs, very clean bathroom and very spacious. The pool was incredible for the kids and the breakfast was a good varity of pretty good chow. I've stayed at better and of course stayed at worse, but I was extremely pleased with the hotel and will not hesitate to make this my Amarillo stop in the future.

Room Tip: With this being my first time there, we were actually lucky enough to be by the exit stairway by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This property was the cleanest I've seen. The hotel outside is beautiful and very clean for West Texas. Parking is well lit. Lobby was clean and unclutterd. Breakfast was complimentry and fully complete with build your own breakfast buritto, waffles, bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice and coffee. More than enough to get your fill and going for the day. Our room was a very nice, clean and comfy suite. You walk in the door and there is a sofa, chair, ottoman, large flat TV desk, refrigerator and microwave. Then contiunue on to the bathroom which had the nicest tub/shower I have seen. Pleanty of counter space, toliet and sink with complimentry lotion, soap, shampoo and conditioner ~ Pantene no less! Then you continue onto the next room which had 2 queen size beds, another TV, clock, chair, and night stand. Our room overlooked the parking lot, which by the way is an upgrade from looking at West Texas dirt ~ Lol~. They have an indoor pool and spa, which we did not use, but looked very clean and nice. Overall this was a great place to stay the night while you are on your way to the next destination. I would even consider staying a few nights here if I had reason to stay longer in Amarillo. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a suite on the third floor and it was great. The hotel itself is about two blocks from the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTxCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 72 in Amarillo
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West

Address: 2000 Soncy Rd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Amarillo I-40 West offers affordable accommodations, thoughtful amenities and a convenient location near top attractions, making it the ideal place to land while visiting the Amarillo, TX area. Our hotel in Amarillo is just off I-40 West and near downtown Amarillo and Historic Route 66, putting guests in the perfect position to enjoy such attractions as Palo Duro Canyon State Park, Wonderland Amusement Park and Amarillo National Center. To ensure our hotel guests an enjoyable stay in Amarillo, the Country Inn & Suites offers attractively styled rooms and suites, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site Fitness Center, a Business Center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a free hot breakfast daily. Other points of interest nearby include Amarillo West Medical Center, Westgate Mall, Rick Husband International Airport, Amarillo Civic Center and Splash Amarillo Waterpark. Book your stay online today and experience comfort and style at the Country Inn & Suites Amarillo I-40 West hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Amarillo
Country Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Country Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing