We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended (with drawbacks)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommended (with drawbacks)”
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Clean, large room ("Executive Suite") with kitchenette, microwave, small dining table, sofa and small desk with chair. Friendly staff. PC in lobby provided free Internet access. Had to get multiple room keys re-keyed about 5 times in two days. Would choose again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    78
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
87
88
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

An excellent newly built budget hotel. I almost always use Holiday Inn hotels when I travel for leisure and this one did not disappoint.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dfwmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

I recently stay at Hol Inn Exp Amarillo on 2 nights a week apart. They have raised the beds up on platforms in their rooms. While my 6 ft 2 in husband had no problems, I had great difficulty getting in and out of the bed (I am 5 ft 2 in). It was an inconvenience for me since I am fit and able, but I think children, a person with disability, or an elderly person would have more difficulty.. I nearly fell getting out of the bed once. The beds are at a dangerous height. I assume they were raised to make them look more luxurious, but they are simply too high and too dangerous. Don't stay there unless you are over 6 feet tall!

  • Liked — clean; friendly & efficient staff
  • Disliked — beds put on dangerously high platforms - too high.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank crackerintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

There are quite a few sketchy hotels in Amarillo, but this one is brand new and very clean. Be careful to make sure you make the reservation with the Express Hotel and not the older Holiday Inn that is also in town.

The bathroom has granite counters. The beds are new and comfortable. The pool is indoors and clean. They serve a decent breakfast. There is a steakhouse right in front of the hotel which is a great place to have dinner.

It's a great place to stop on the way to Colorado.

  • Liked — Clean and new accomodations
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank txjayhwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2007

This hotel is by far one of the nicest Holiday Inn Express' around. The rooms were very nice and spotless. The continental breakfast was great. Not one thing to complain about here. Will stay here again as we always stay in Amarillo at least twice a year.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank greg2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2006

Wow. This is a very, very nice hotel. Holiday Inn Express hotels are usually nice, but this isn't like any other HIE I've been to. Everything was very upscale, clean and comfortable. My room had an awesome bed, a great desk chair, a safe and ceiling fan. Powerful (but noisy) A/C and a great shower. Breakfast was typical for a Holiday Inn Express.

I paid $119, and consider that a great value. In the past I have stayed at the Hampton Suites and Homewood Suites, but this hotel is definitely a step up.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ingleberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2006

The Holiday Inn Express Amarillo is brand new and very well done. The decor is beautiful and our room was very nice. The luxurious bedding is great!

My only complaints about the property were the cost ($140 net is a bit pricey for Amarillo, Texas) and the fact that there is no central air. For some reason the Holiday Inn chose in-room AC which is noisy. Also the hot tub was barely warm . . .

I will stay here again IF I can get a lower price.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank Commtexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
3.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
3.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Address: 2806 Wolflin Ave, Amarillo, TX 79109-1633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#10 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo, Texas, home of the American Quarter Horse headquarters and Museum. Our Amarillo hotel is centrally located just 3 miles from downtown, the medical center and Westgate Mall. We feature stylish executive suites and spacious standard rooms. All rooms come fully equipped with a microwave, wet bar and refrigerator. This Amarillo hotel features a spectacular indoor heated pool with hot tub, and a fitness center with a flat panel TV. And yes, we are that hotel with the waterfall, located directly behind the Texas Roadhouse. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel invites you to enjoy the 100% smoke free and pet free environment, together with the free, hot Express Start breakfast (mmm cinnamon rolls). Local attractions: Amarillo Civic Center, Tri State Fairgrounds, Amarillo Globe News Center for the Performing Arts, American Quarter Horse Headquarters & Museum, Heritage museum, Wolflin Village, Historic Route 66, Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon featuring the official play of the State of Texas, La Paloma golf course, Amarillo Country Club, West Texas A&M, Amarillo Community College Local businesses: Rick Husband Amarillo International Airport, Tradewinds Airport, Bell Helicopter, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Pantex, Tyson Foods, Owens Corning, BSA Hospital, North West Hospital, and The Laser Center for Vision. We look forward to seeing you in Amarillo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing