We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great staff, nice room, comfy bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice room, comfy bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

No complaints for a quick pit-stop thru town. Amarillo didn't look very exciting, but the hotel w/ easy to find and all the details were right. Nice front desk people and the room was updated as well as nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanie327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    76
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
81
81
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed here on the return trip from Colorado to San Antonio. Waaaaaay better than the Ambassador (see my review on that -- BTW breakfast at the Ambassador was actually good.) Why? For starters it's newer and in way better shape. The room was clean (no caveats). Beds were comfy. Bathroom clean. Looking forward to breakfast tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manduco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express twice, most recently Feb 11, 2011. Both times the room was spacious and very comfortable. It had a small kitchenette area - microwave, fridge, sink, and counter. The bathroom was also spacious. The first time the shower head wasn't great, but the latest time it was perfect. The staff at the desk was very friendly and accommodating. We also like the location because right across the parking lot is the Texas Roadhouse, one of our favorite places to eat. Breakfast was HIX's usual very good. Definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
312 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Amarillo has some of the worst hotels in the country. Name brand hotels that are great elsewhere tend to be disappointing in Amarillo.

And now for the good news - This hotel is pretty good. It is priced high for a Holiday Inn Express. My advice to you, go ahead and bite the bullet and pay the price. You will be disappointed with the other Amarillo hotels.

There are restaurants all around this hotel. You can walk to them. Or, just four blocks down the street is a Market Street grocery store with one of the best deli's in the country!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultimatetravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

My husband and I stay in hotels all over the country for business throughout the year, so we have seen it all. I must say - this hotel gets a solid 5 in every category from us both!
From the moment we walked in the door to the smiling faces at the desk to the moment we left, it was a great experience!
Brian at the front desk was such a great help and very hospitable. The rooms were so clean I felt completely comfortable using the wonderful jacuzzi tub!! The hotel is fairly new so everything was very modern and very nice. Of all the chain hotels we have stayed in, I have to say their breakfast was the absolute best - eggs, hot meats, biscuits and gravy and cereals, fruit, etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greengo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

After a long day of driving and another day of driving ahead, we booked this Holiday Inn Express after reading the other reviews. It is the nicest HIE we've visited, although we have always found HIE to be consistently clean and comfortable.
This hotel is conveniently located off I-40. The parking lot adjoins a Texas Roadhouse restaurant which proved very convenient. We ordered steak and shrimp dinners over the phone, walked across the parking lot and brought it back to the room for a quiet supper. (Would recommend the Texas Roadhouse as the food was great!) There a several other restaurants very nearby.
The room was very typical of an HIE. Comfortable bed, desk with free wifi that connected quickly and easily, in-room small refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. Everything was clean and had a new look and feel to it, including the linens. The HVAC fan is set in such a way that although each room is individually temperature controlled, the system runs quietly in the background and you can't hear any other rooms, the hallway, parking lot, etc. We got a great nights sleep.
The breakfast was good with hot scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy and, of course, the standard bagels, sweet rolls, cereals, yogurts, etc. Only suggestion I have is start the breakfast at 6AM. The breakfast didn't start until 6:30AM. We wanted to get on the road earlier but waited for breakfast. Really is a minor point since if we were not on a schedule this trip, we wouldn't eat breakfast until 8 or 9AM.
I definitely recommend this HIE and would happily return!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandFan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Gorgeous hotel, great Holiday Inn service but the bed was so tall you needed a ladder to get into it! Once you got in it was very luxurious and gave me a great night's sleep! One other thing to be wary of...the staff told us that breakfast closed at 9:30 on Sunday morning. Other than that...great hotel...great staff!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a1paigep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
3.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
3.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 72 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Address: 2806 Wolflin Ave, Amarillo, TX 79109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#10 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo, Texas, home of the American Quarter Horse headquarters and Museum. Our Amarillo hotel is centrally located just 3 miles from downtown, the medical center and Westgate Mall. We feature stylish executive suites and spacious standard rooms. All rooms come fully equipped with a microwave, wet bar and refrigerator. This Amarillo hotel features a spectacular indoor heated pool with hot tub, and a fitness center with a flat panel TV. And yes, we are that hotel with the waterfall, located directly behind the Texas Roadhouse. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel invites you to enjoy the 100% smoke free and pet free environment, together with the free, hot Express Start breakfast (mmm cinnamon rolls). Local attractions: Amarillo Civic Center, Tri State Fairgrounds, Amarillo Globe News Center for the Performing Arts, American Quarter Horse Headquarters & Museum, Heritage museum, Wolflin Village, Historic Route 66, Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon featuring the official play of the State of Texas, La Paloma golf course, Amarillo Country Club, West Texas A&M, Amarillo Community College Local businesses: Rick Husband Amarillo International Airport, Tradewinds Airport, Bell Helicopter, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Pantex, Tyson Foods, Owens Corning, BSA Hospital, North West Hospital, and The Laser Center for Vision. We look forward to seeing you in Amarillo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing