We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pet friendly find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We travel to Texas several times a year with our golden. This place is a great find. They are pet friendly ($10 room cleaning fee) and have a little walking area on property and some open space nearby (along the road so no off leash activities). The rooms are nice and are quiet even though the hotel is at an intersection. They have daily breakfast and light dinner. Both are also kid friendly with pancakes (b) or pasta (d). Happy hour has a three drink limit. There are numerous restaurants within a very short walk if you want to eat elsewhere, but since the room rate includes the meals...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who have stayed here. It was excellent---very clean and comfortable with many extra amenities. The public areas are spacious and beautifully decorated, with plenty of areas to sit and visit with friends and family.
We also enjoyed the breakfasts and dinner buffets with wine or mixed drinks offered in the evenings. Food selections were adequate, though not of restaurant quality. There were enough choices for most guests to find something tasty to eat.
It is a pet-friendly hotel and that seems to be a big attraction. We did hear barking a few times on our floor, but not enough to keep us awake or be terribly disturbing. However, we are very tolerant even though we do not bring our dogs.
This is a hotel we will visit again and really appreciated the recommendation.

Room Tip: A room away from I-40 might be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We got in late and had to leave right away the next morning... This hotel was so NICE! The suite we booked was spacious and had plenty of room for 5 and 2 pugs.The staff was very friendly and the grounds were per friendly. The pet fee was only $10, a surprise for such a nice hotel. You gotta stay here, so worth every penny paid.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Blucru5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way back from New Mexico. Even though we found the pool to be dirty, the room was quiet and clean. The bathroom was quite big. We had to return to the front desk when we couldn't find the remote to the television. They apologized and gave us another one. We enjoyed staying at Drury Inns because of the 5:30 Kickback. There is no reason to go to a restaurant for dinner because the hotel offers free hot food in the evening. We will probably stay here again if we pass through this area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saturndriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We watched this hotel being built on our bi-annual trips and looked forward to a new pet friendly property after a negative experience at Residence Inn. Lost track of how many times we've stayed there. Always run the A/C fan at night for white noise to mask the hallway noises. Really enjoyed the plentiful evening reception although my husband was turned away for his last free drink at a few minutes before 7PM in a very rude manner. About 12:30 we were awakened by loud voices in the hallway and multiple door slams, both continuing long enough that we got dressed to see what was going on. We got the room number and called the front desk to complain (100% satisfaction
guarantee, remember?) Was told it was a late check-in like that would explain everything. Persisted in saying it was making sleep impossible and finally told they would check it out. Noises continued for awhile and finally quit. Left the next morning thinking we may need to find another hotel. New ones have been built the last few years so may be time to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingerbear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed here over 20 times. I always get good rates going directly to their website. Drury is known for not charging pet fees, but now they are. Didn't have to pay it this time because of early reservations. When we come back through, that room better be spotless and sanitized to the max!!! And let's be real--kiddos with their wet bathing suits and spilling food about, do a lot more damage than a 4 lb well traveled service dog.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaimietoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback regarding our new pet fee. Drury is testing the pet fee at a few of our locations; however, the fee does not apply to service animals, so you will not be charged when you bring your service dog back with you. We believe our family extends to our furry friends, and that is why Drury is a pet friendly hotel. Unfortunately, some guests are allergic to animals, and that is why deep cleaning is needed after a pet has occupied one of our guest rooms. The pet fee covers that deep cleaning. We hope this extra care results in a clean fresh room, great amenities and a comfortable stay for all our guests.

Thanks again! We always appreciate hearing from our guests, and I look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Maggie Vaughan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It's too bad this place is $135 a night. We would stay here more often if it was under $100.

The accommodations are quite nice. Very clean. Service is great. Breakfast was pretty good - not as great as advertised, but good. We didn't get to take advantage of the nightly dinner. Arrived a few minutes after it closed for the night. Would like to see the hours extended for that just a bit. But it is a great concept.

Great location. Close to lots of stuff. Easy on and off the highway.

Indoor pool looked good, but we didn't swim.

Bring the price down a little and my family and I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpugh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Amarillo I-40 West, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 72 in Amarillo
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo

Address: 8540 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#5 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo is 10 minutes west of downtown Amarillo off I-40. This area is known as the medical district, but there’s plenty of shopping, dining, golfing and entertainment nearby! Relax in our clean, comfortable rooms and enjoy free hot breakfast every morning and free hot food and cold beverages every evening at our 5:30 Kickback®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Drury Inn And Suites Amarillo
Drury Inn Amarillo
Drury Inn Hotel Amarillo
Drury Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing