We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that's gone to the dogs, literally!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have stayed at this location many times and each time a 5 star experience, until tonight. We checked in, dropped our luggage, and went out for dinner. Returning to the hotel around 8:30pm we noticed a pit bull and blue healer in the lobby. No big deal, right? Wrong. There were so many dogs in the hotel it was unreal. The barking up and down the hall on our floor made it impossible for us to stay. We have been traveling all day and have another 6-7 hour drive tomorrow. We're exhausted. The clerk at the front desk was understanding and polite but the situation was out if her hands. We loaded back up and headed to a nearby hotel with a no pet policy.
P.S. We have 3 dogs or our own. We love dogs but this is out is control.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juju4RmTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. All of our Drury Hotels are pet friendly. We may experience more pets at times, as Amarillo is on the way to many destination cities. We have special procedures in place so that our rooms and grounds remain clean and well maintained.

I apologize that our hotel did not meet your needs. I hope you will give us another chance to serve your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Maggie V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were traveling from Arizona, called ahead to make a reservation and things went seamlessly! We were traveling with our dog, so we didn't know how well that would all work, but it was great. The room was clean with a very large bathroom and comfy beds. Breakfast was great! Think it might be time to replace the waffle makers though! The staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a great Motel clean, very nice rooms check in went well, parking adequate, good breakfast, room was the nicest we have stayed at for the money, this was a good value we will stay again next time thru and they had Fox news always a must.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Chose to stay at the Drury Inn during our recent trip to Amarillo for Valentine's Day. We have stayed at this Drury many times in the past and have been impressed. But it seems this hotel's pet friendly reputation (which it certainly is) has turned it into a virtual zoo. I have never stayed in any hotel, Drury or other, that had as many pets staying with their owners. I must admit that the majority of the animals were very well behaved, but it just takes one irresponsible pet owner to make an otherwise enjoyable stay less than satisfactory. I will definitely stay elsewhere in Amarillo next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback... I love to hear from our guests! All of our Drury Hotels are pet friendly. We may experience more pets at times, as Amarillo is on the way to many destination cities. I am glad that the majority of the pets you encountered were well behaved. All of our guests who travel with pets sign an agreement that they will not let their pets disrupt other guests.

We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs!

Sincerely,
Maggie V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We love staying here when visiting Amarillo, they have a great Mexican food restaurant in the parking lot, just across the street from the mall, it is a bit of a drive to the airport. Everynight there is a food and snack and drinks that is included with your stay, Comfortable beds and clean hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

we stayed just one night,the hotel was very busy. They had a high school volley team staying which was loud. The elevator was very slow and having teenagers there holding up the elevator did not help. The evening reception could have been nice if there was not so many teenagers.The girl pouring drinks was very slow very long line. She left to take drinks to tables where it seemed she knew people. The teenagers were loud,some wearing pjs,sitting on the floor. Same thing the next morning for breakfast,more kids. While I enjoy children I wonder where was the adults who was travling with this group ? It is not the hotels job to baby sit but it is their job to have some rules in place for groups of teenagers. The Drury Hotels seem to be the same all over,we saw this same problem in Ohio,kids running wild. I am guessing this chain prefers groups over people traveling.

Breakfast coffee was awful nothing more than hot water.

Our room was clean but the hair dryer did not work and either did the air.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Breakfast is good. Heater was acting up and a pillow that should have been thrown away. It was disgusting. The staff is always friendly, but if your going to comp a room don't ask the guest just do it. It puts you on the spot so needless to say my husband said no.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I love to hear from our guests, as we use your comments to help improve our product and services. I sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced. This is not Drury standard. I would love to speak with you about your stay if you wish to contact me at the hotel at your convenience. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

Thank you for choosing Drury!
Maggie V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo

Address: 8540 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#5 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £86 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo is 10 minutes west of downtown Amarillo off I-40. This area is known as the medical district, but there’s plenty of shopping, dining, golfing and entertainment nearby! Relax in our clean, comfortable rooms and enjoy free hot breakfast every morning and free hot food and cold beverages every evening at our 5:30 Kickback®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Drury Inn And Suites Amarillo
Drury Inn Amarillo
Drury Inn Hotel Amarillo
Drury Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing