We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Decided to stay here instead of being in town. Room was spaceous, large flat-screened TV, great wireless, and the bed was wonderful.

One recommendation for their breakfast lounge; provide some fresh fruit (apples, bananas) along with the hot/cold foods.

Shout-out to Denise who worked the desk on Sunday November 17. Wonderful staff member making me feel welcomed after 5.5 hour drive.

Room Tip: The back rooms are away from the interstate but near a RR track. Not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nohemi_Castillo01, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hello George B.

Thank You for the great review, I will definitely pass that "Shout-out" to our front desk clerk "Denise" it makes us happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel! Hope to see You again on your next stop in Amarillo, Best Wishes Nohemi Castillo, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stopped here on our way to New Mexico and to meet a friend. The hotel was very nice, clean, and the beds were soft. We ate at Big Texan, just down the road, and it was within 1 mile of the hotel. They also had a beautiful pool area that we enjoyed after a long day on the road. Would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We had a suite, which was very comfortable and had great for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NavigatorOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

No booking, just passing though, but we were glad we stayed. Although its not in town, it is not too far from anything. The beds were equal to the beds at Caesars Palace, where we stayed the week before - cloud soft!! So comfy it was like being at home. The staff were so friendly but really undersold how cool their town was! Big legs, combine harvesters, Cadillac ranch, canyon..

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Maxine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We chose this new Holiday Inn Express specifically for its location close to our Amarillo activities, but primarily for its indoor pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub were great -- ample and well designed (the hot tub alone was the size of some swimming pools) with the feel of a resort area and not a chain hotel, but the floor tiles were slippery enough to be dangerous (especially on one side, where the floor slopes). And the hours were too restrictive. C'mon, folks, you know your travelers want to take advantage of the pool before 10 am! The breakfast was about average. But the room itself was spacious, clean, and comfy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTrailBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It was a new HIE, but a few quirks. The pool and hot tub didn't open until 10 a.m.
As a HIE platinum member, I often want a dip and a soak to start the day. Most are usually open at 7 a.m. Some even at 6 a.m. Not here. And the tile by the pool was very slippery. All of us fell down there.

Other things: The breakfast was dry --even the cinnamon rolls--at 7 a.m., not very fresh.
The shower curtain did a pretty bad job at keeping the water in.

Last, but not least, and this is a real nitpick. All of the lobby art was Gondolas and water taxis in Europe. Why in Amarillo? On I-40, the heart of the West, gondolas?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear wtxtraveler,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and providing feedback. It is a great pleasure to read you found our hotel clean. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the hotel amenities, quality of breakfast and hotel decor which was less than satisfactory. We will use the valuable feedback you’ve provided to further improve our products and service. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is one of the nicest HIE's we've ever stayed in. Felt like a luxurious top of the line hotel. Can't say enough nice things about this place. Our room was stunning. Two nice comfortable queen beds, desk, alcove with sofa, coffee table, round eating table with two chairs, fridge, microwave & sink, plus a nice large bathroom. Had a really great night's sleep, too! Staff was great. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This Holiday Inn Express ranks #2 of the MANY Holiday Inns I've stayed in throughout the world....With #1 being in Spokane Valley, Washington and the WORST being a toss-up between the "arm-pit of the Bay of Campeche" in Ciudad Del Carmen, Mexico AND the war-torn Sarajevo, Bosnia

It's proximity to the Amarillo Airport makes it convenient. The employees were pleasant when I checked in and the room was already nice and cool when I opened the door. The bed was as comfortable as any I'd fine in a 5 star hotel but it would be nice if they would change out the softened worn pillows labeled "firm" with pillows that are truly firm...BUT if that is the biggest gripe, they're doing a great job here! Everything else about this hotel is "typical" and not above nor below what one expects in a Holiday Inn Express. I would definitely stay here again when passing through Amarillo, Texas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Amarillo Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
8.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 9401 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: £83 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel! If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing