We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Awesome Jacuzzi Suite, if a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Awesome Jacuzzi Suite, if a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

This is a great hotel overall. My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The Jacuzzi suite was great and far exceeds the website photos which had me a bit nervous. Would definitely recommend all around. It is a bit more pricey than other hotels, but its not too bad.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joelamosobadiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    45
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
70
38
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

From the moment we checked in, the staff at the HI Express was wonderful. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The hotel manager gave us great directions to a local attraction - he even gave us his number in case we got lost! The amenities at the hotel were exactly what we had come to expect from this hotel chain - clean, fun, and perfect for our family. We don't travel much, and we certainly don't have many opportunities to stay in a hotel. We don't ask for much in a hotel - a safe place to sleep comfortably and indoor plumbing is plenty. So when we found the HI Express hotels had the sort of things that I had always associated with upscale hotels, I was - and still am - convinced that I would forever look for these hotels in the future. Comfortable beds, a full breakfast, internet access, workout facility, pool, wonderful staff....what more could a person want?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We were on our last night of a 10 day motorcycle trip and we got in a little late. First place out of 6 HIE's that did not upgrade us for being "Gold" Priority Club Members. Room was a nice "Executive King" and we had plenty of room and it was a good price.
Nothing to do with the hotel, but at 8:30 we did not want to go out and we could not find any place that would deliver besides the old stand by "Pizza".
They do allow pets and we are animal lovers, but in a hotel do not want to hear them, since ours was in a kennel. A lady walked by with a yepping little dog and the desk clerk, very politely, told her to put a "zipper on him" I was impressed by this for she was showing concern for the other people near by.
This was not the first time we have used this HIE when passing through Amarillo and will continue to stay here.
The lady that served the breakfast bar was so friendly and efficient. She wished us a safe journey home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed here for one night passing through on our way to Santa Fe. It was new, clean, comfortable, ample and safe parking all that. I booked the room the day before online and the guy who checked us in commented that "we got a really good rate" whatever that meant. I think he was trying to schmooze us or something. Then when we plopped down our stuff, we asked him where something easy to eat was, and he said "go back out on I40 just a bit, you'll see Chilis, etc. and just pull off." Well that wasn't very helpful, because "just a bit" turned out to be a few miles before we landed at a TGIFs. A specific exit would've been much more informative, adding to the fact that I was tired and cranky from being in the car for so long and was starving.

Beds comfy (they were out of kings so we did the queen thing, not great). Bathroom very clean and nice, granite, nice towels, etc. There was a mini fridge, micro, and coffee maker. I blasted the AC because of noisy folks above us. I hate staying in a hotel because of that, you are never guaranteed to have nice quiet neighbors (on all four sides!).

The breakfast was way more than a continental...lots of hot things to offer (some delicious cinammon rolls), excellent coffee, yogurts, cereals, biscuits, gravy, sausage, all really good. It was constantly stocked with ample room to sit and watch the morning news on the big TV. Don't skip breakfast, and you can take your coffee to go.

All in all a fine stay, except please note that it is listed as being on I40East and it is really on the Westbound side!! What is up with that, we drove right by it thinking that was the other Holiday Inn Express and Suites listed for Amarillo. Should've fired up the GPS I suppose but it was still in my husband's briefcase....whoops....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We frequent Holiday Inn Express hotels and the Amarillo East location was very clean. Beds were comfortable, and rooms were very clean. Check in was a snap, and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was free of charge in the morning and lasted from 530am until 10am. Parking was a little tough with our big truck, but we managed. We highly recommend this HIE!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurOwnAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Plush bedding, very comfortable, pleasant, helpful staff, fast check-in/check-out. Free breakfast. All the Holiday Inn Express motels we stayed in in North Dakota, Montana, Wyoming and Amarillo, TX, seemed to be new or newly refurbished. Larger than normal rooms, dark woods, extra pillows, roomy showers, and free breakfast were the standard. Most had mini frig and microwave. Very large pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Stayed here on a stopover to Colorado. Nice place even though I try to stay away from Holiday Inn Express anymore due to problems with the Companys promotions which they do not honor. Only stayed here because could not find another closeby.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
Address: 9401 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). Our East Amarillo hotel's location off I-40 offers close proximity to businesses and medical centers as well as area attractions. You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel, or visit Splash Amarillo, a water park just three miles from our Amarillo accommodations. If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport, and also easy access to area businesses and medical centers such as Medical Center Coulter Street, Wells Fargo and Northwest Texas Hospital. Our hotel in Amarillo has a meeting room with 1,000 sq. ft. of space, offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience and provides a 24-hour Business Center. Stay Smart at our Amarillo Airport hotel and wake up to the complimentary, hot breakfast bar. You can relax in a triple-sheeted bed while you surf the web with free high-speed Internet access. Check out our East Amarillo airport hotel's deals and rates today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing