We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cringeable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn West Medical Center
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We chose this because of it's 8.1 rating in Booking.com and a rating of 5 would have been more like it. Towels, sheets and blanket were all very thin and worn out. Walls very very thin and neighbour noise was a problem. The room was very cold overnight and we had to put on the very loud heating. The bathroom was drab, dingy, grubby and cold with no heating. Swimming pool had scum floating on top of the water, nobody could possibly think about using the area.
Breakfast was the finisher, after having to walk outside to get there the room was overcrowded and needed a good clean. Staff couldn't keep up with demand. Choice of food was poor and not not appealing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Quality Inn West Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear war boys,

Thank you for submitting a review of our property and our sorry of the issues you incurred during your stay. We will certainly take all the issues into account, as we are always trying to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn West Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our room was just ok and there was something splattered on the back of our bathroom door. The lock didn't work between the ad-jointing rooms. The walls are thin as we could hear what was going on in the next room. The breakfast was average. But the service there was great. The place could use some updating and TLC. One good thing is you can't hear the FWY from there.

Room Tip: Inside the complex and I would choose upstairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Going4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Quality Inn West Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Going4fun,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Sorry about the different issues you incurred during your stay. We will certainly get those issues addressed and do hope you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Avoid go else were!! Bad location, dated hotel, pool isn't inviting at all! Staff were helpful, but put me in a disabled room to start with for some reason! Moved us with no fuss but just hassle you don't need after a long drive!! Bed uncomfortable!! Stayed in a lot of best westerns over the 8 days this by far the worst!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Quality Inn West Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Rick S,

Sorry for the pool not looking very inviting, we were definitely having some issues that day. We had major parts go down during the day and it being late Saturday evening, we had nowhere to get the parts. We got everything working that Monday evening. We do hope you consider giving us another try on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The staff was very nice and tried very hard but the facilities were beyond horrible. Fairly clean, the walls were paper thin and the water went from luke warm to hot sans help from the showerer. The bikers and muscle cars that parked in the hotel parking lot for the taco place next doors were disturbing until the restaurant closed.. I had a meeting the next morning and the bed was so uncomfortable that I laid my body ontop of the two so-so pillows in order to get enough sleep to function and was miserable in the process.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Quality Inn West Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Amanda D,

First, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. There are special events that the restaurant hosts on occasion. We do have accommodations on the North side of our property that might have better suited your needs. We do appreciate the feedback on the beds and will certainly look into that. Hope you consider giving us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Though I arrived lated it seemed that Jady (front desk) was waiting for me. It felt very much like home and everything was orderly and the rooms very clean. Great place to stay. Breakfast was really good and in a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonioni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Quality Inn West Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear antonioni g,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We try to make our property a home away from home and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here last weekend and found it to be nice rest. Nice indoor pool. The rooms are large with good internet connection, mini fridge, microwave. The rooms were very clean. The beds and pillows were not the best. I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BigTex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Quality Inn West Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear BigTex62,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're glad everything was exceptional and look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Amarillo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We came in at 10 pm from Dodge City Kansas. I booked 2 rooms, one for me and the wife and the other for my wife's friend. Jared was the front counter person who greeted us. He was very nice and did a great job with the problems he soon encountered when we came back after being in our rooms not more than 30 minutes. In my room, the toilet was stopped up. We just finish unpacking so I went downstairs to the front counter to see if Jared could find a plunger. He couldn't find one after looking a few minutes and gave us another room. While going downstairs, I ran into our friend who was coming back upstairs. She told me that she found hair in the bed and got another room. Well we packed up and moved to our new room and pulled the covers back on the bed to see if it was dirty. It wasn't. Our friend's room was OK with her. Our bed was old and I felt like I was on a ship because the springs were sprung on the bed. We woke up and left early without eating the breakfast. When we checked out the front desk clerk asked us for the room. I gave her all 4 of the rooms and she asked if I had stayed in all of the rooms. I explained what happened. This is a old property. The owners at least need to watch the house keeping staff to make sure they are cleaning the rooms. The owners need to replace the worn out beds and upgrade the air condition because they are very noisy. I stay in Best Western a lot. If the owner would fix the small stuff like what I complained about, this hotel will be a good place to stay. The front and the pool area like very nice.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget and don't mine staying at places like Motel 8, this is a place for you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMCI_GM, Manager at Quality Inn West Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Bill L,

First off, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences that you and your friends experienced during your stay. We do appreciate the feedback and I can assure you we will get the issues fixed. We are always trying to improve and certainly thrive for perfection. We hope you will consider giving us another chance on your next trip to Amarillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#42 of 72 in Amarillo
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Amarillo - West
6.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 72 in Amarillo
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
178 reviews
6.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn West Medical Center

Address: 1610 S Coulter St, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771 (Formerly Medical Center Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: £36 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn West Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the friendliest service in Amarillo! We are conveniently located 1/2 mile North of Interstate 40 and in the Heart of the Harrington Regional Medical District. We offer a full range of amenities from our Indoor pool/hot tub, HOT breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medical Hotel Amarillo
Best Western Amarillo Hotel
Amarillo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing