We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian Food”
Review of Macaroni Joes

Macaroni Joes
Ranked #15 of 518 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-40 and Georgia (NW corner)
Description: Macaroni Joe's is a locally owned and operated establishment and has been serving its customers since 1999. Come enjoy the finest dining that Amarillo has to offer. We specialize in world fusion with an emphasis on Italian Steaks and Seafood. We have a Wine Spectator award wining wine list, with over 400 selections from around the world. We are proud to offer the most well rounded wine program in all of West Texas. We are the only restaurant in the region to provide a House Sommelier to assist you with your wine selection. We are Amarillo's Premier Dining Destination.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The best Italian food west of the Mississippi.

Everything I have eaten at Joe's is authentically Italian, prepared very well and the portions are large.

The staff is excellent. The wine selection is very good.

Try it, you'll love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinAmarillo, General Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

we strive for consistency , freshness and quality , cant win everyone over 100 % of the time, but its great to hear when we do,. your comments are truly appreciated . Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recommend you have a reservation for your dinner as we have been here now three times and each time they were turning customers away. The atmosphere is very nice for a quiet dinner with tables divided up in small rooms for dining. I had the Steak Diane, topped with Mushrooms, Shallots and a Hennessy Reduction, served with Potatoes/Vegetables. $26 My spouse had the Grilled Salmon Seasoned with Lemon Pepper and served on a Cedar Plank with Asparagus/Potatoes. Service has been friendly on each occasion and we have enjoyed our nights out dining here. Plenty of free parking available on site.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinAmarillo, Public Relations Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

thank you for the kind feedback, and yes, reservations are truly recommended as this is not fast food and tables do not turn , in 30 min, one of the hardest things to get thru to people. constancy is what we aim for, hope to see you again soon, Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I have been coming to Mac Joes (as the locals call it) since its opening at least 12-14 years ago. It's been our 'go-to' place for celebratory dinners, casual lunches, and drop-in, middle-of-the-week meals ever since. Their wine list is the best in Amarillo. They have great specials during the week if there are oenophiles like us, as in 50% off wines under $100 on Wednesdays. Tonight, that is what brought us in. Chris, an AMAZING waiter, and Rich, the resident sommelier, made our night extra-special when we were expecting a normal Wednesday meal, which would be awesome anyway. Rich brought us samples of a new bar drink concoction, also a wine that he'd opened and had a few ounces left which is one of the top-rated Napa Valley wines ever. He just always makes us feel special and we loved the samplings! The food was amazing as always. The filet my husband ordered was tender and very flavorful, and one of the best he's had in Amarillo. I had a chicken dish which they were nice to substitute the mashed potatoes for angel hair with a light cream sauce instead. The dessert, a hazelnut creme brûlée capped off the evening perfectly. We ordered a Hall merlot, thanks to Rich, which was perfect with our food. I cannot say enough about Mac Joes. Come eat at the best restaurant in Amarillo, with romantic atmosphere and truly great service. They match any great establishment in Dallas or Houston, in our opinion! And we've lived both places so we know!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3700feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinAmarillo, Owner at Macaroni Joes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Sure makes me feel good that people know our staff names and they are interacting with people in this way, I have a Great staff here and we strive to make every dining experience a great one, thanks again. Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped by last night for a nice meal before heading to hotel. Since I was alone I sat in the bar area, which had full-service dinner at the bar, as well as full-sized tables.
The wine list is very good, had an Argentinian Malbec- very nice.
Ordered Caesar salad which was average but had wonderful crostini croutons. Bread with garlic butter was good as well. Main entree was pan-seared Sea Bass, atop Parmesan orzo. Substituted Brussels sprouts for the asparagus. Fish was succulent, cooked just right & the orzo rich & creamy. The servings were not huge, but certainly very filling and presented nicely.
The service was excellent- the bartender very attentive & friendly. When we joked about being too full for dessert, I said that I would love a little chocolate, but only had room for about 3 M&Ms. A few minutes later, he presented me with a small dish of M&Ms! Nice touch!
Would definitely recommend this restaurant & I will return on my next trip.

Thank kellithetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinAmarillo, Guest Relations Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Great to hear, Appreciate the feedback, glad to see them going the extra mile, I just cant believe there were any M & M's left in the office, they usually disappear fast. !!! M & M's forever on us Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just love this place, great food , great wine, every time myself and my BFF go out on a date this is where we go every time, I love it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinAmarillo, General Manager at Macaroni Joes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

thanks for the feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we are doing, and if ever there is even a slight issue please let us know, looking forward to many more great times together, Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macaroni Joes also viewed

 

Been to Macaroni Joes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing