We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I ate here 20 years ago with my wife and enjoyed it.”

Sakura Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
Ranked #73 of 506 Restaurants in Amarillo
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
talihina
Level Contributor
336 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I ate here 20 years ago with my wife and enjoyed it.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

This time me and my Son ate Sushi and onion soup.
The service was good and food even better. Onion soup was delicious and as for for shrimp Tempura it too was good. This place is south of I-40 on Soncy rd about 1 to 2 miles. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 182p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We will travel out of our way to have a dinner at Sakura. We've come to know Nida and Bob, the owners. Now their daughter runs the restaurant, and the quality remains high . I especially love the egg rolls. My husband loves the fresh sushi, and then we share an entree--filet and scallops are some of our favorites! Prices are reasonable and the menu choices are plentiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wagon Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I wish they had a frequent customer program! They have great sushi and the atmosphere is that of a neighborhood restaurant, not a fancy, over-the-top Japanese steakhouse. Love it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Princessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bucket of Salt!”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I loved sitting at the table having my meal prepared in front of me, however, I can't get over the fact that the chef used industrial quantities of salt. My steak was just so over-powered by the taste of salt. Back in the UK we could have used this salt to overcome our gritting problems a couple of inters ago.

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food fantastic service”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

The waitress went out of her way to help us with the menu for a small child and even helped our kids look at the fish while we were deciding. Very friendly and everyone went well beyond typical service to help us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing