We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated this hotel and the employees are less then capable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hated this hotel and the employees are less then capable”
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We booked this room through Hotwire. Unfortunately, we had to give the Ambassador Hotel our credit card for incidentals. The less than English speaking employee behind the counter then charged our credit card a second time. So we paid for the one terrible room twice. After trying for a month straight to get our credit card credited I am still battling it out with Ambassador Hotel in Amarillo. Hotwire has been wonderful through this process, but the managers at The Ambassador are very incompetent - especially the overall manager Phyllis. The room was not very clean. The lobby gives the impression it might be a nice stay, but don't be fooled. If this is the best hotel in Amarillo my suggestion it to stay in Dallas !!!!!!

  • Liked — The departure
  • Disliked — The arrival
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank opheliarocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    106
    136
    145
    170
See reviews for
199
110
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Fairly Nice Hotel. Rooms were big. Good TV. Iron and ironing board. Luggage rack. Very comfortable bed. Desk and lounge chair. Lighting fairly good. Bathroom on the small side. A bit stingy with the bathmats. Heat and A/C worked well. There is a hotel shuttle to the airport, but it gets booked up early so reserve a spot asap. Gift shop was never open when we were there. There is a coffee pot in the room, but breakfast is a bit pricey. Overall a good place to stay if you can get a deal by going through one of the on line sites. Otherwise can be a bit steep.

  • Liked — Nice big quiet room with very comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet was a bit pricey for what was there. Swimming pool is in the rear of the lobby. Too exposed
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tym2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

I booked this hotel because of a coupon that was in this hotel coupon book that I picked up at a rest stop in Oklahoma. The hotel itself was really nice. The rooms....okay I guess. The bathroom was SO SMALL though. For a pricey hotel, I would have thought the bathrooms would have been bigger. The bathroom door BARELY made it past the toliet. It was probably one of the smallest bathrooms I've ever seen. The wireless internet signal was not that strong either. Plus there is no "free" continental breakfast...it's $9 a plate buffet. We just stopped at McDonald's on our way out! If you do stay, make sure to find a coupon book at one of the rest stops along your way. I think we paid like $75 for the room.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyMom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2007

I was looking for that ahhh moment with a hotel and after speaking to the reservation desk was convinced I had choosen a wonderful place to stay. We arrived after a 6 hr drive from Tao's NM. The front desk was less than friendly but we took the key and headed up to the 5th floor. The room was large but a bit dated. The bathroom included a toilet that would not stop running until you jiggled the handle, one wash cloth, three towels and no mat for the bathroom floor. I had to put a towel down to step out of the shower. There was the bonus of a lighted makeup mirror in the bathroom but the hair dryer was one I haven't seen since the 70's. The noise in the bathroom when the air kicked on was annoying and the sink would not drain which is another pet peeve of mine. We had asked on the phone about a hot tub and was told that they did have one. To our dismay the pool and hot tube were both located in the center of the main floor of the hotel next to a restuarant dining area. The small hot tube looked like it might seat two people and was attached to the pool. Very poor placement and we didn't even go.
for the price of the room I really had high expectations for this stay.
On the positive side the bed was very comfy and the room was large.

  • Liked — bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — slow draining sink and running toilet
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deb2boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Austin, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

It was a little bit kiddy city at the pool, but the pool was in the lobby with great little streams and landscaping. We had custom omelettes for breakfast at a reasonable price. Easy internet access. We would definately stay here again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank bedandbrkfastfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Stayed 3 nights for a convention. Just got back on Monday. The staff were very friendly. Nice to have a restaurant on site (TGIFridays). Room was nice. There was some drywall coming apart way in the corner of where the drapes were. Invisible unless you happen to be over there. The workout room was nice, but one of the TV's wasn't working. The pool looked small, but all the kids seemed to enjoy it regardless. Nice lobby and atrium area; well stocked gift shop. I usually stay at a Marriott. This wasn't up to Marriot level, and the breakfast buffet was just so-so. Amazing how the smaller motels/hotels in the area offer amazing complimentary breakfasts (biscuits and gravy, omelettes, waffles, etc). It would've been nice if the Ambassador could've followed suite. Days Inn, Microtel Inn & Suites all offered more than continental breakfasts and are much less expensive. We enjoyed our stay and will probably stay there again. It was very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We stayed here because Frommers listed it as the best hotel in Amarillo. I booked our room directly with the hotel and was GUARANTEED connecting King rooms (we were traveling with our 3 small children, ages 6 and 3 yr old twins) and the reservations person even gave me the room numbers. I told her we would be checking in after 6 since we were driving from Denver. She assured me this would be no problem since we guaranteed our reservation with our credit card. Upon checkin, the RUDE desk clerk informed me that we would not have connecting rooms and, in fact, the rooms were on DIFFERENT FLOORS! As we were politely protesting and showing him our reservation and confirmation, he kept insisting that I provide him with the name of the reservations agent! I asked to speak to the Manager, who had been standing behind the counter the entire time, listening to the conversation and not at all intervening! We ended up with 1 room with double beds and they provided two extremely uncomfortable and unsafe folding beds. I assume they gave our rooms away to others who arrived before we did. I talked to another person at the pool who had the exact same thing happen to them when they checked in and she was extremely unhappy with her room. Our room was marginal, the bathroom was a skank hole, the pool and hot tub are old and in need of repairs. If we had not been so exhausted from our drive we would have looked for another hotel. Needless to say, we were not happy with this experience. Go to Holiday Inn Express! We travel all the time and this is not the norm when we are traveling with our kids. Usually, hotel staff goes out of their way to see that we have what we need. Not this time and not at the Ambassador.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — They did not give us our confirmed connecting rooms.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinabace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.1 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#30 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#24 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#21 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Amarillo

Property: Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Address: 3100 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79102-2201 (Formerly Magnuson Grand Hotel Amarillo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing