We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Part of our 'route 66' experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Amarillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Part of our 'route 66' experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

The staff were very friendly and helpful but the hotel does seem a little tired. Our room was an internal room so we had no natural light which obviously made it dark. The inside pool was freezing cold and the spa was chlorine with a splash of water!

  • Liked — Friendly,helpful staff
  • Disliked — Room had no natural light
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pool_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    106
    136
    145
    170
See reviews for
199
110
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

Not samazing, but not terrible either. This is a decent hotel, with friendly staff. The location is so-so, but having a TGI Friday next door helps with the food decisions. The rooms are also well presented.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank cowboyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

I was bitten by bed bugs at The Amabassador Hotel on June 26/27 on the seventh floor. I wrote the hotel a letter and cced the health department.

To my dismay, the manager called me and told me that the inspection did not indicate any beds bugs and insinuated I did not get bite at her hotel. I told her they must have done a good job cleaning it up and she insisted it did not happen at her hotel. I was bite over 40 times - per leg! I was awoken at 4AM and 5AM by itching sensations and photographed the bed bugs. I am appalled that the manager denied the incident thus I am compelled to warn others to stay at their own risk!

  • Liked — TGI Fridays
  • Disliked — Bed bugs
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarillo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

"Guaranteed, confirmed" rooms mean nothing!!. While trying to attend a meeting, with advance reservations and "guaranteed" room, I arrived to find no room in the Inn, at least, not for me!! Although they were checking in flight crews while I was standing there telling them I had guaranteed reservations, they advised me that they gave my room away and the people they were checking in had priorty because they had guraranteed confirmed rooms. Not a very good Ambassador for the City of Amarillo in my opinion. If I should ever be in Amarillo again, I will start out with a hotel that I feel I can trust when they say my reservation is confirmed. It will certainly not be at the Ambassador where even when you are told by the General Manager, Ms Paynes, that your room is guaranteed, it means nothing. You can count me out for ever staying, excuse me, trying to stay at the Ambassador.

Sue C in Austin

  • Disliked — There were no accommodations because they didn't really guarantee you a room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SueC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
292 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

This is not a five star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. I waited an hour for the hotel shuttle to transport me to the hotel from the airport. I kept calling and was told the shuttle was coming but the driver told me that he was never informed. Clearly airline crews are top priority for this service. The check in process was so cumbersome because they used stacks of paper to sort through. They assigned me a room which was already occupied. (Amazingly my colleague had the same experience and she checked in 2 hours after me). The front desk didn't even apologize after I had to return twice. I received one bottle of shampoo for amenities. I had a coffee pot in the room, but no coffee so I had to call the desk again. I received someone else's wake up call at 4:30am. The room was tired and the bathtub needed regrouting. The TGIF restaurant on site was fine. I would equate my experience to that of a motel 6 or comfort inn.

  • Liked — The lady in the gift shop was nice
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

My friends and I stayed here for a girls night in Amarillo. We booked a room on the concierge floor and the room was very small, very dark and the bathroom was smaller than most Holiday Inn's I've stayed at. I expected more. The ladies working in the concierge room were very nice and free drinks and breakfast gave it the two stars, but I can't really recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — concierge floor was nice
  • Disliked — room needed more lighting, bathrooms were very small
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

We booked this room through Hotwire. Unfortunately, we had to give the Ambassador Hotel our credit card for incidentals. The less than English speaking employee behind the counter then charged our credit card a second time. So we paid for the one terrible room twice. After trying for a month straight to get our credit card credited I am still battling it out with Ambassador Hotel in Amarillo. Hotwire has been wonderful through this process, but the managers at The Ambassador are very incompetent - especially the overall manager Phyllis. The room was not very clean. The lobby gives the impression it might be a nice stay, but don't be fooled. If this is the best hotel in Amarillo my suggestion it to stay in Dallas !!!!!!

  • Liked — The departure
  • Disliked — The arrival
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank opheliarocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.1 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#29 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#28 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Amarillo

Property: Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Address: 3100 I-40 W, Amarillo, TX 79102-2201 (Formerly Magnuson Grand Hotel Amarillo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing