We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid Back Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Laid Back Hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for one night whilst travelling route 66. The location of the Hotel was good and we walked to the Texas firehouse sports bar and grill for dinner. Check in was straightforward and they offered free wifi and parking by the room. The room was not the cleanest we had been in and a few of the tiles in the bathroom were chipped. We did not find any bugs and we slept well. I think the hotel was full during our stay, we saw numerous other guests sitting out on the patios till well in to the evening and guests a couple of rooms along from us were having a bbq in the parking lot. None of this was an issue for us, we even had nice chats with some of them but some guests might be bothered by it. Breakfast was free and good but the kitchen/ serving area was too small and cramped for the purpose it served. It was very busy and lots of children running around I was bumped into whilst carrying tea and coffee a couple of times. one personal and much welcomed positive was Tetley Teabags :-). Overall we had a good stay in Amarillo and met some lovely people however the hotel and room could have been better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    125
    139
    150
    131
See reviews for
284
149
57
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Tried two higher-rated pet friendly hotels in Amarillo prior to booking this one (still don't know why two hotels were sold out in Amarillo). Anyways, I really had low expectations, and the hotel did nothing to surprise me. The pictures are a little deceptive--the hotel is more motel--all the doors open to the outside exterior. The elevator/stairs kind of seemed like a fire hazard. The room was clean, but it was pretty noisy given all the people. Checked out the breakfast bar in the morning and it had nothing appetizing. Internet was free, no pet deposit. Seeing as how it was about $100 for the room, a 10pm-7am stay was about all I could tolerate. Good location off the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is an absolutely nasty place. Horrible customer service. We entered the room early afternoon and left some of our belongings. Then, left for dinner & the Texas Play at the Palo Duro Canyon St. Park (highly recommend). When we returned at midnight, our key wouldn't work. Total nightmare!!!! The key access pad had dead batteries. Back and forth, back and forth to the office with the manager trying to "find the right screwdriver" in order to open the locking mechanism and install OUR OWN BATTERIES (The management didn't even have replacement batteries). They never found the proper tools. Every room was booked, so they were going to have to find a room for us in a hotel across town. 1:00 a.m. & our children were asleep on the nasty floor in front of our room's door. Finally, when the manager left to call other hotels, my husband was the one to get us into the room via the window which had one lock unsecured and the other lock missing proper screws so we were able to jiggle and get into the room. No refund...no reduced rate. Also, when we were traipsing back & forth, we got onto one of the elevators & it made a terrifying noise. We jumped off before the doors closed. The manager (who was with us at the time) commented that guests were trapped on that particular elevator a week earlier. The fire department had to come at 3:00 a.m. to help free them from the defective machine. When my husband finally got us into our room, the bathroom commode started backing up (3rd floor, so no excuse). When we were leaving the next morning, the elevator was still malfunctioning, but no sign was placed on it warning guests that it was out-of-order. Seriously?
My parents' were staying in another room down the hall & their AC went out (August...high 103 & lows in the 90's)
Do yourself a favor, stay ANYWHERE ELSE BUT HERE!!!!!
I'll be calling corporate Monday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This place is very run down! This bed seems comfortable, but bathroom is disgusting. There are no signs to help you find the elevators or your room. We had to kick our door open every time we left the room! Pass on this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank KatMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Found a coupon for $51 a night, when we checked in they stated they were to "busy & full" to accept and honor the coupons. I talked to GM, she stated there was a softball tourneyment in town so that is a spiecel event. Room was clean, but not worth the $95 a night they charged. I'm sure you can find a nicer room for that kind of money in Amarillo. Not real customer orented there

Room Tip: Look else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We just checked into this place and it is not up to La Quinta standards. Our room keys didn't work and then we had to kick the door in. The surrounding property is dirty and unkempt. The walls are dirty and rusty, where there is metal. The rugs are dirty and stained. When the manager was talked to, her answer was that she is only given so much money to make repairs. If we hadn't been so tired from driving all day we would have moved. I had specifically asked for a first floor room and we had to go all the way to the back, take a dirty elevator to the second floor and then had to try to find the room. The last time we stayed here the toilet plugged up and my husband had to get a plunger to try to fix it himself. They did credit us some of our room fee. We should have never given them a second chance!! My husband called corporate to report this and they were closed. A call will be made tomorrow to them but, in the meantime DON'T BOTHER TO STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSGaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

For the rate, this room was okay. The hotel is old and a little run down. Our room was clean and comfortable. The toilet ran most of the night. Staff was friendly and the front desk did call to check on us not long after we checked in. The shower head was very low, even shorter than me.. It was difficult for my 6'4" sons to take a shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneH448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
0.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#43 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Amarillo - West
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 2108 S Coulter St, Amarillo, TX 79106-2514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Motor Inn Medical Hotel Amarillo
La Quinta Medical Center
Amarillo La Quinta
La Quinta Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing