We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“potential problems with this one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“potential problems with this one”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2006

We have stayed at this LQ before a few times in the past enroute to Colorado. On one other occasion, the bathroom floor was sticky and there was hair in the sink, but it was an "okay" stay other than that. During Thanksgiving week though we encountered problems with our reservation at Days Inn (non-smoking room was smoke filled); so we left and tried this LQ again. The LQ clerk guaranteed us a non-smoking room and gave us our key. When we tried to open the door (the green light came on as it should to unlock the door) and we were able to turn the door handle; but we couldn't get the door open. We tried 3 or 4 times and it appeared that the door was locked from the inside (which could only mean there were already guests inside.) We took the key back to the clerk who maintained there wasn't anyone in there and instead of just giving us another room, she said she would call up to the room just to be sure it wasn't occupied. Irregardless we couldn't get the door opened, it was late and we were very tired. My husband was not thrilled with the idea that they would give us a key to an occupied room, so we left for Hampton Inn. We will most likely not be trying this LQ again.

  • Liked — location away from the interstate
  • Disliked — being given a key to a possibly occupied room
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you lock all inside locks
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    121
    137
    149
    130
See reviews for
280
145
57
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2005

Got a room at hotels.com for $51. This is certainly not an upscale hotel, but the staff is friendly and the rooms are decent. HBO on TV and PPV at 3.95/movie. Beds are not bad. For that rate, I was pleased.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank halhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2005

The room were mediocre. The door didn't shut properly. I would have to slam it shut or kick it open. I complained to the front desk and they said they were aware of the problem and suggested the kicking the door open. Room was not cleaned. Breakfast was sparse by 9am. Continental breakfast area was messy while 3 staff workers stood behind the counter talking amongst themselves. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grin213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2005

Nice continental breakfast. Kettle restaurant in the parking lot. Easy access to medical center area.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2005

This La Quinta was about like they all are. It's a little off the beaten track, so the rates are better - $51/night w/ Price Line. It was clean and the service was fine. Would stay there again if I have to be in Amarillo overnight.

Helpful?
6 Thank kinneyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2004

We were en-route to Santa Fe, NM and in advance booked the La Quinta via Priceline. The price for over night stay was a mere $33. Having heard not too favourable reports from friends about the La Quintas' I was concerned at what we would find on our arrival. However, we arrived and were extremely relieved that the room with 2 dble beds, coffee maker etc was very clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very quiet during the night. The comp breakfast was all we needed for the onward journey. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed there with our two small kids and were very happy at what we found!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
0.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#41 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Amarillo - West
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 2108 South Coulter Street, Amarillo, TX 79106-2514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Motor Inn Medical Hotel Amarillo
La Quinta Medical Center
Amarillo La Quinta
La Quinta Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing