We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rode hard and put away wet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North
Ranked #30 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Positive: responsive, hard-working evening desk agent
Negative: facility shows many signs of use

Located near major theme parks and athletic venues, and surrounded by a variety of restaurants, this hotel would seem to be an ideal place to stay. But the facility shows many signs of heavy use and multiple repairs. Overall, it suffers from outdated decor and design.

We reserved a room for three nights over the Memorial Day weekend, hoping for a restful and relaxing holiday in the D/FW area. Alas, that's not how things turned out.

Bumps, scrapes, dings, and more -

Before describing some of the problems we observed, it's obvious management has attempted to affect repairs. In fact, contractors were reroofing and repairing the exterior during our stay, and the outside was slated for painting the following week.

Despite their efforts, opportunities for improvement abound. We wondered if repairs were being made on a piecemeal basis. If so, perhaps it's time for a wholesale cleaning and renovation.

The room we were initially assigned contained a broken lamp and a grimy side chair marred by a large stain. The entire room smelled sweaty. During our brief time in that space we noticed occupants of the adjacent room weren't talking particularly loudly, but could heard plainly through the connecting door.

I reported problems to the evening desk agent, who quickly moved us to another floor. Our second room smelled clean and was in better condition, so we decided to stay there. But it still showed signs of heavy use. For example, one of the bathroom towel racks was bent, kitchen flooring had a gash, and one sofa cushion had a zipper that wouldn't close. The other cushion was so compressed it was uncomfortable to sit upon.

With exception of the lobby, which was bright and inviting, wear and tear was evident throughout public areas. Examples of hard use were everywhere. The frame around the elevator control panel was broken. Paint covered scars on some doors, but many were smudged. Door frames have been repainted, but several on the third floor weren't painted all the way to the floor. Ceiling tiles in the second floor hallway sagged.

During our stay we began to think of the elevator as our own little thrill ride, like those at amusement parks across the street. It creaked, bumped, and groaned between floors, a lot like a roller coaster.

We prefer a king-size bed, but this hotel only offers queen beds. Consequently, suites are smaller than those at other TownePlace Suites we regularly visit. Rooms also lack cabinets and dressers provided in newer hotels. We stored dirty clothes inside nightstands, and pushed bags and other incidentals against walls to get them out of the way.

While we consider quality of finishes a minor point, we did notice some materials used here were dated or were not the same as seen elsewhere. The bathroom was outfitted with oak veneer cabinets. The floor was covered with vinyl and the shower was sheathed with what appeared to be plastic slabs, not tile. However, we were surprised a separate exhaust fan was provided; it's amazing how many hotel bathrooms lack any kind of ventilation.

Despite it's utilitarian appearance, the bath area was cleaned regularly (kudos to housekeeping) and certainly provided all required functionality. Best of all, the toilet, faucets and drains worked without a hitch!

Our mattress was extremely hard and lumpy, and the wall-mounted air conditioning unit was difficult to control. Together, these two components made for unusually restless nights. During most trips we acclimate to surroundings the first night and sleep well the remainder of a stay. This time we didn't sleep well any evening. Each morning my wife and I both awoke stiff and tired, with headaches and backaches.

With two treadmills, an elliptical, and free weight bench, the exercise room was typical of other hotels we've visited. Televisions were attached to the treadmills, but the set on the treadmill I rode produced a static-filled picture on the few channels it received. I turned the set off after a few minutes.

The weekend we visited, several youth sports teams were also at the hotel. Everyone was well-behaved and really didn't make a lot of noise, but they tended to monopolize public areas including the lobby, outdoor pool, and already tight parking lot. They also kept the staff busy with requests.

Breakfast boondoggles -

We weren't able to try breakfast. The first two mornings, the small eating area was so crowded we had no place to sit. Our final morning, Memorial Day, we arrived just after 9:00 a.m. to find a housekeeper putting food away. She offered waffles and summarily dismissed us as she continued to move items off the breakfast bar.

We honestly had looked extensively for serving hours in the lobby and our room and found no mention anywhere. No signs were posted and nothing was listed in our room directory. In retrospect, we should have verified with the front desk. However, we really thought hours would be extended or shifted due to the holiday.

As we left the dining area on day three, a family with young children arrived looking for food. We felt sorry for them. Perhaps they were allowed to make waffles...we don't know.

A bit of good news -

The Marriott brand enjoys a good reputation because of their high-quality facilities and commitment to customer service. The evening desk agent was the saving grace of our visit. She was a rock star, responding to requests and trying hard to make up for situations we encountered. Friendly and professional, she resolved problems quickly in a satisfactory manner.

Back to less pleasant experiences -

Housekeepers were a different matter. We've always been impressed at the way staff members in other Marriott properties acknowledged us, often with a smile. Most housekeepers at this hotel were aloof. Many turned away when we approached.

In fairness, I must report the last two housekeepers we saw did acknowledge us by smiling and nodding their heads. I think it was a coincidence we were carrying luggage out of the building at the time. Perhaps they wanted to provide a pleasant memory of our visit.

In other hotels, employees that work the breakfast bar are often the most gregarious and attentive staff members. They often engage in conversation and are typically very responsive. Although we didn't eat breakfast during our stay, we did dodge crowds to pick up cartons of milk, and noticed the keeper of the breakfast bar lacked personality. The one time we spoke directly, we were dismissed with few words. Talking with patrons is probably not a requirement of that job, but it really enhances the customer experience.

The Bottom Line -

In many ways, our experience was a lot like a mound of pebbles. Individually, most problems we encountered were relatively insignificant. A scratch here, a wayward door there could easily be overlooked. Lumped together, these conditions became a significant pile that was difficult to deal with.

If you're unfamiliar with the title of this review, "rode hard and put away wet" refers to a horse that's given maximum effort but is not properly cared for at the end of the day. In our opinion, this phrase describes TownePlace Suites-Arlington quite well.

Across the years we've stayed at hotels with fewer amenities, but they were advertised as lower-level lodging. We expected less when reservations were made.

We've also stayed at hotels that were in worse condition, but of course we didn't return to them.

The past decade we've tried over a dozen Marriott properties in the Dallas area alone. A couple of months ago we visited the Fairfield Inn two miles east of this hotel, located at the opposite end of Lamar Boulevard. We found that hotel somewhat noisy due to it's proximity to I-20, but generally was a superior property.

We've also stayed at the nearby Arlington SpringHill Suites, but that was several years ago. Given our experience then, we'd also choose it over this hotel

Post-script -

The final morning of our stay, a housekeeper tried repeatedly to enter our room about 7:15 a.m. It was a holiday, for goodness sake! We were still sleeping, not comfortably, but sleeping nonetheless. In many ways, this experience was a fitting end to a rather uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Real_Birdcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Towneplace Suites in Arlington. I was dissapointed to hear that the level of service and facility did not live up to the expectations one would expect when staying at a Marriott property. I do apologize, we take great pride and work hard at providing world class service, but it seems as though we came up short with your stay. It is certainly never our intention for anyone to not have a great experience while staying with us in Arlington. Once again, I do apologize, but appreciate you bringing this to my attention. As you have mentioned, we are working to upgrade and update the property, at this time. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Arlington area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

This maybe a good place for families on a tight tight budget but everyone else should stay away. I needed a room for an overnight event and used an old rewards certificate. Even free, it's not worth it. The door to my closet fell off the hinges and if I were a smaller person, I would have been injured. The worst thing about this hotel is the thin walls. I could hear the family next door having a conversation in normal tones. I heard their plans for the next day and the uncooperative toddler who complained about bedtime. He also happened to be an early riser who made it clear that it was time for breakfast. In addition to keeping me awake, it afforded the family no privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We would like to apologize that your stay was not up to the Marriott Standards expected from our property. We would like to thank you for the feedback as it has allowed us to work on addressing the issues with the guestroom that you were in. We appreciate you providing the feedback so that we can work on providing a better property and stay experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel. Although we both smoke we know the rules and go outside to smoke. Its no bother to us because we do this at home. So to our surprise when we was hit will a 170.00 charge on our way home....We called the hotel and all they could say is that housekeeping said it smelt like smoke. ?????? Ok so your housekeepers say that we smoked in the room but no evidence just smell???? I'm sorry but if I smoked cigarettes in a hotel room your going to be able to tell their is no hiding it from the smell to ashes maybe even down to the cigg butt. So if your a smoker Beware you may be charged a smoking fee....even if you use their designated smoking area!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIOGM, Manager at TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We would like to apologize that your stay was not up to the Marriott Standards expected from our property. We would like to thank you for the feedback as it has allowed us to address your concerns with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel was fabulous! The rooms were large and very clean. The staff was courteous and always greeted us when we would cross paths. The location was easy to get to and close to places we were visiting. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Large room with sleeper sofa that was perfect for kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel could not be located better, Water Park across the road, literally. Six Flags over Texas, Dallas Cowbows arena and Texas Rangers ballpark all within a 15 mins drive.

The hotel is very well appointed, full kitchens, comfortable beds, although I think they do need new medium mattresses, the present ones are too soft.

The staff could not be more helpful, from reception to the cleaning staff all are friendly and look to be happy in their work.

There is a breakfast but as it finishes at 9am we didn't partake, but as we had a kitchen it wasn't an issue, prefer a relaxed start .to the day

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobeadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here last night to be close to AT&T Stadium for a Supercross event. It is updated, clean and safe. Also pet friendly. Not a five star property but a solid 3. This hotel is great for the money and very close to the football and baseball stadiums, as well as Six Flags and Hurricane Harbor. Nice pool area and breakfast is included. Would be great for families. Also, extended stay. Kitchenette in the room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank swwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My Wife and I chose this hotel because of its price and proximity to the Cowboys Stadium (about a 25-minute walk). Location was great for the game, and not having to worry about parking was a major plus. However, the hotel needs some work. We checked in after the game and were "upgraded" to a two bedroom suite. The room itself was fine, though pretty outdated. But we did have ants in one of the bedrooms (luckily we had another we could move to!) the TV in the living room didn't seem to work right, and the bathroom wasn't the cleanest (some hair on the ceiling, mold on the exhaust vent, etc.) Overall, didn't seem up to par of other Marriott properties. If you are only staying a night for the game, it probably works. It did for us.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank madoll80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltn76006, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We would like to apologize that your stay was not up to the Marriott Standards expected from our property. We would like to thank you for the feedback as it has allowed us to address the outstanding issues with not only your guestroom, but with our staff, as well. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to host you at our hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dallas Arlington North
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas-Arlington North-Entertainment District
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington
Holiday Inn Arlington
#7 of 62 in Arlington
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas-Arlington
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Arlington Near Six Flags
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North

Address: 1709 E Lamar Blvd, Arlington, TX 76006-7303 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Arlington Near Six Flags)
Region: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range: £82 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your TownePlace Suites Dallas Arlington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Arlington Hotel Arlington
Arlington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing