We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff/no breakfast/overcharged on bill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Arlington
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We were excited to stay at this hotel since we received a decent rate (held with cc over the phone) and a deluxe continental breakfast (waffles, eggs, muffins, bagels, english muffins, fruit, cereal, juices, etc) and right in front of Six Flags.

To start, we arrived and were told the desk clerk was not "ready" to check us in because he was counting his money, which was laid across counter. We waited 25 minutes and decided to come back. Upon arrival, we were not even greeted by any of the 3 clerks, only one of which was checking guests in. Room was small (stand up shower/toilet in tiny room with pocket door) but clean, so no problems there. As we were leaving, we stopped by front desk to ask when shuttle runs and clerk just 1/2 points towards wall and said it's over there. Again, no customer friendliness, but okay.

Next morning went down around 830 for breakfast (served 6-945)--and there were maybe 5 muffins and cereal out. No juice, no anything else but a room full of guests looking for food. Upon asking the front desk clerk (Chris)-he said, "we are out". After being told that is unacceptable, he said "we'll check". We waited for an hour and nothing. Most guests went to McDonald's and brought food back. When confronted with the question, where is the breakfast this hotel advertises, Chris replies, "we don't promise you breakfast" and walks off.

Lastly, upon checkout--he rufuses a discount AND overcharges me and will not credit my card and said, "call the manager on Monday if you want" and again, walks off.

Horrible, horrible guest service. Would not stay here nor recommend anyone stay here unless they get a cheap, cheap rate! (under $70) I would absolutely stay at the La Quinta; Hilton; Sheraton or even a Motel Six before I would stay at this location again ALL because of the negative and careless attitude staff has. It doesn't take much to say "welcome, thank you, have a nice day"...after all--you are in Texas!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bfgf555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754gm_arlington, Manager at Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sleep Inn Maingate-Six Flags. We take pride in offering the highest level of service and the highest quality of breakfast. We are unaware of any issues with the breakfast not being replenished or the staff not offering the service we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Please contact the hotel directly if you have any issues reagrding your stay and we assure you they will be corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2009

I took our youth group there for a trip to Six Flags and the Texas Rangers game. You are right across the street from Six Flags with easy walk. The rooms were nice, bathroom a little small, nice showers with LOTS of hot water. Beds were comfortable. Management was very good, the night manager was very nice and did a great job. She even let us swim after hours in the pool when we got back from the Rangers game. Breakfast is so so, nothing to get excited about, very basic with cereals, bagels, muffins and waffles that you can warm up in toaster. Would stay here again when back in this area. I also liked that they tried to keep the groups away from other people. You do have to pay to access the internet on the computer that is in the lobby. The rate was.25 a min.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pianoman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754gm_arlington, Manager at Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from when you brought your youth group to Six Flags. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Arlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We checked in on Saturday 05/23/09. They allowed us to check in around 11:00 which was great. We get two rooms and usually have to fight the front desk to get them adjoining or close, with Sleep Inn we had NO PROBLEM, our rooms were right next to each other. The rooms are very small but nice and clean. The showers were awesome. While 6-Flags is right across the street it is a pretty long walk, although saving on parking is worth it.
The only complaint I would make is not really a complaint more a warning....the breakfast is really skimpy with hardly ANY choices. But, overall, I would recommend this hotel to any family looking for an inexpensive hotel close to the fun! There are also two restraunts within easy walking distance and that made it nice!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okfarmfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754gm_arlington, Manager at Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We do offer free trolley service to Six Flags(as well as other area attractions), so please inquire at our front desk on your next visit to Arlington so that you will not have to walk to the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

The facility was so nice and clean and the staff went out of their way to make you feel at home. I most certainly stay here my next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coindog80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754gm_arlington, manager at Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

We are pleased to offer a quality customer service so that you feel at home while staying with us at the Sleep Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

You can't get any closer to Six Flags, and you can see the Ballpark from the hotel. High speed internet in the rooms was a big plus for me! Comfortable beds, and room had a microwave and refrigerator, which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TahoeQueen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754gm_arlington, Manager at Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Sleep Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. Please visit us on your next trip to Arlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We stayed in this motel in January 2008. We paid $49.95 + safe per night $1 + state tax $3.06 + city/county tax $4.59 + entertainment district $0.90. Total for 2 nights: $119. We used a discount coupon from a booklet the type you find in gas stations and tourist offices.

The motel is opposite Six Flags. This was not the reason for our visit but I mention it because you only need to cross the road to get there. I wouldn't wait for any bus to take me to the park, just walk, in 5 minutes you are there.

For us, it was a convenient place to stay, between Dallas and Fort Worth. I guess as soon as the new Cowboys stadium is built, prices will raise in most motels in the area. Our room was clean, with comfortable double beds, heating/air con worked all right. The bathroom has a shower instead of a bath. We actually like the shower better! Less splashing, no mess with musty plastic curtains : This shower has a door instead. There was free wi-fi and free breakfast in the morning (which we didn't take). The reception desk clerk was efficient and friendly. We also saw a small gym with three exercise machines.

Overall, a nice stay for a good price. Only rant, and I still recommend the hotel, is charging for the safe $1 per night. We didn't need it and we didnt' use it. I wish the clerk had told us about the option of a safe and let us decide whether we wanted to use it or not. In any case, it seems a bit petty complaining for a couple of dollars but hey, if we had stayed there say, 15 days, that would have been a bit of a surprise when seeing the bill. This will not stop us from coming back to this hotel, of course.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_Horror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754gm_arlington, General Manager at Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2009

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. The $1 safe charge is optional if you need to use the safe. If you do not have the need to use it to secure your valuables, please inform the front desk and they will be happy to remove the charge. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Arlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

This hotel was great, We were given a room on the 3rd floor and never saw ANYONE ELSE! It was extra quiet and it was a weekend. We stayed to visit Six Flags the next day and there were other families there for the same thing. The breakfast was plentiful no issues or problems. There was even a guard outside at night. Only issues was the yelling from six flags(according to my wife who went back to the room later in the day.) The nights rest was great(better than many other hotels. One other issue was the shower, While i am not overweight by any means a bigger person might have a hard time in the odd shaped shower. We decided to stay another night at 11a and it was not a problem. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fmulder21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
754gm_arlington, General Manager at Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2009

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are proud to offer the Sleep Inn Signature showers, as well as bathtubs in our handicapped rooms. Our pool is opened during season daily from 10am-10pm. We are so close to the theme park that you can hear the sounds of the park during the day on one side of the hotel. However, if you are not interested in the park view or if you are just needing that afternoon nap, please inform the front desk and we will be happy to place you in a room facing away from the park. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Six Flags Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Arlington
Days Inn Arlington
#31 of 63 in Arlington
203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Arlington
Comfort Suites Arlington
#9 of 63 in Arlington
263 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn at Arlington Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags

Address: 750 Six Flags Dr, Arlington, TX 76011-6327 (Formerly Sleep Inn Maingate Six Flags)
Region: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range: £46 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Distance to Six Flags Over Texas. We are also right around the corner from Dallas Cowboy Stadium & Texas Ranger Stadium. Humperdinks Resturant right next door & on Dallas Cowboy & Texas Rangers Games they provide shuttle services to & from the game for a charge of $10 per person.Near Arlington Convention Center,We are also located 15min from the Six Flags Mall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Maingate 6 Flags
Sleep Inn Maingate Six Flags Hotel Arlington
Sleep Inn Arlington
Arlington Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing