We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help anyone that needed it. Marianna helped me out of a bind so we were able to take our trip as planned. Breakfast was good with a good variety. Just a very enjoyable stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank EmilyP475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to know that Mariana went above and beyond your expectations.

Your comments will be shared with Mariana and her Co-Workers as well.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback.

We hope to have you as our guest again the next time you visit Athens, Texas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Score another good stay for a Best Western. Location was a good 'staging area' for Canton weekend. Clean & comfortable roms, & breakfast was as promised.

If I had to put anything negative about the location, it would be the driveway ingress/egress. Very rough with a hard V-shape to get on & off the road. With my small car, we had to time traffic just right & use a slow take-off & sharp angle to avoid scraping the bottom of the car. You could see lots of deep scrapes where others hadn't noticed or taken care with that driveway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience here at Best Western Plus. We value our Guests feedback.

I will be sure to share your comments regarding the approach of the driveway. I regret that it was not up to standard. We will see what we can do in the near future.

I hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I thought the place was a little over priced for the location but the place was very clean, the staff was all friendly and helpful. A 9:30 cut-off time I think is silly for a weekend. Room was large, bed comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your stay.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean and comfy bed. Breakfast was adequate. Room was a little larger than a regular hotel room. Everything was great except for the broadband. It was a little slow. Hard to find a good restaurant in Athens. Had to drive to Tyler. Not Best Westerns fault...good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank michelej205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear that the Broadband did not exceed your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our IT Team as we work to improve the Broadband,

I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Athens, Texas.

See you Soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Liked this hotel! It's newer, the beds are comfortable, breakfast was decent, and the price was fair. Would definitely stay there again! The service was a little slow at the front desk when we arrived, but once we got helped she was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Virgina/ginny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I apologize that you experienced a delay during check-in. We understand that our Guests time is very valuable. We continue to look at new ways to speed the check-in/check-out process up. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am pleased that once you were checked-in you did receive great Customer Service.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nice accomodations. Nice employees. Everything was great. Clean rooms. Accomodating staff. Very safe enviroment. Good breakfast. Beds were very comfortable. The larger room was very nice. Plan to stay there again later this summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again this Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent Hotel. Quiet and peaceful, very clean and much cheaper than Canton for "Monday Trade Day's excersion. Glad I found this particular location only a few miles away. I WILL be staying here again. I've always loved Best Westerns.

Room Tip: Stay in Athens instead of Canton for better prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bondo521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you enjoyed Canton as well.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
22.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Van
19.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Cedar Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Best Western Canton Inn
20.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gun Barrel City
3 mi away
Super 8 Athens TX
Super 8 Athens TX
#3 of 7 in Athens
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites

Address: 1814 State Highway 31 E, Athens, TX 75751-5403 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing