We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
COLLEGE STATION
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

the general manager, Rick, greeted me upon arrival. I questioned the rate he gave me, believing I had booked online for less. I had forgotten to bring my confirmation sheet. He tried to check with the national office, but they showed the same rate. even though I could not prove I had booked for a lower rate, he trusted that I was being honest and gave me the lower rate I remembered. I am not used to that kind of service! the room was very nice, and the scrambled eggs and crisp bacon were a real treat for breakfast. the dining area is very spacious. I recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor to avoid the typical "floor stomping".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHUCK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Good afternoon Chuck. Thank you for the fantastic review! We always strive to make every guest happy and it sounds like that's exactly what Rick did. He's a great member of our team and will appreciate the positive feedback.

We always strive to be the best so we'd love to know what we can do to get the higher score in Value and Sleep Quality.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express Athens!

Thank you,

Danny Simpson
Hotel Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    29
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
25
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Athens over Easter weekend to visit family nearby. The hotel is fairly new and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is free but just the usual standard hotel breakfast. (Some hot food). The hallways weren't the cleanest and I saw a laundry room near the elevator that was really dirty. Other than those two complaints, the hotel served its purpose: a safe, clean place to stay while visiting family. Not many options in Athens, this may be the best choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hello and thank you for the great review!

We always want our guests to have an amazing experience. We had a meeting with our executive housekeeper this week and have a better plan to keep our hallways and laundry area clean.

We look forward to seeing you and your family at the Holiday Inn Express Athens in the future!

Thank you,

Danny Simpson
Hotel Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had a 2 night stay here as I'm a PC Platinum member with points to burn and the inlaws we were visiting had a full house. Overall I liked the place but there were some small issues. Greeting was great, they upgraded me to an expanded room/suite which was nice. They had a food reception the night I arrived which was a nice touch. Room was clean and with the upgrade spacious. However the caulk on the bathtub was fraying. Pool was out of service - I gather from the other reviews this has been a chronic issue for the property. Breakfast was standard HI Express fare - filled you up nicely although I really wish the chain could throw in a gluten free cereal option as I was with my GF sensitive kid this time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
I do apologize for the pool area being closed due to refurbish, but the pool area is now open. In addition to this we have also received new fitness equipment! I will make the suggestion for the gluten-free cereal during our next meeting. Thank you so much for your suggestion. We always appreciate your feedback, and look forward to serving you once again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The rooms were clean,BUT, the pool and hot tub weren't working and one of the dryers wasn't working.

Housekeeping didn't leave toilet tissue in our room one night, so I ask the front desk to bring some to us. She said she would right away, but never did. I went to the front desk to ask for it, and she said (while she was texting on her phone) that she was just swamped! PLEASE!

Location is good, near restaurants and shopping center, but wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Mrs. P I do apologize immensely for your inconvenience during your recent stay. I will address this issue immediately. As always we strive to offer our guests the best service possible. I assure you this will not happen again. I thank you for your feedback. It is only through your comments and suggestions that we can better serve you and improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The room was clean and roomy and updated. My husband and I were passing through for one evening. Althought the hotel is located practically in a shopping center, it was quiet. I would not want to spend a lot of time here but for a place for the night, it was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We really appreciate any and all feedback from our guests so that we may improve upon our service. We love our guests and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I have been staying here for the pass 2 months. The swimming pool and gym hasn't work since i got here. The employees that this hotel have are great Veronica, Danielle, Desteny and Rick. I think that this is a really bad problem because there is nothing else to do here at Athens.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcreed87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always try to better ourselves and our service to our guests. We are currently in the middle of renovating/updating several areas of the hotel. As always we are committed to providing the best possible guest service and hope you have a great stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
610 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After a day of shopping at Canton FIRST MONDAY MARKET DAYS, we were happy to spend a night here.
Large room. Very quite on a Sunday night of Labor Day weekend.
The in-wall AC unit was very LOUD, loud enough to distrub our sleep and the ice machine on the third floor was not producing any ice!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napunani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I apologize for your recent accomodation at our hotel. We are always committed to providing the best guest service and providing a warm and comfortable stay for everyone. We have taken steps to ensure that you enjoy your next stay with us even more than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Cedar Creek Lake
20.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gun Barrel City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Athens TX
Super 8 Athens TX
#3 of 7 in Athens
247 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 5 in Athens
1 reviews
23.4 mi away
Canton Motel
Canton Motel
#4 of 6 in Canton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
Address: 1119 E Tyler St, Athens, TX 75751-2145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at our hotel and see what East Texas hospitality is all about. It is our goal to provide you with comfortable, welcoming surroundings and exemplary service to ensure a stress-free stay. Visitors appreciate our convenient location on TX-31 in Athens's newest business district, which is just one mile from downtown. With Lake Athens, Cedar Creek Lake just a short drive away, our property provides easy access to a wealth of outdoor activities. (Currently our pool is under renovation. In order to provide a better experience for our guests we are updating several areas of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience, and will have the pool area available as soon as possible.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing