We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spring Break!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Spring Break with the grand kids, and the grand kids loved the hotel's indoor pool. After attending the Fly Fish Texas 2014, we were very happy that we were able to spend Saturday night at the Holiday Inn Express in Athens, TX. From the moment we checked in, the hotel staff made us feel right at home.
We were pleased to find a lovely room, comfortable beds, free internet, large breakfast area to start the morning right with a nice selection to choose from and, of course, the indoor pool, The next time we are in Athens, TX we will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atttx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Spring Break is a fun time of the year and we glad you were able to spend it with your Grand Kids! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while you were in town for the Fly Fish Texas event. Your kind words mean so much to our entire team. We strive to provide 10 plus service and we are glad we were able to do so for you. We look forward to seeing you again next year for spring break if not sooner. Spoil those Grand Kids for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    29
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
25
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

After spending the weekend in Canton for First Monday Trade Days, we started home Sunday and experienced a winter storm with heavy sleet and temp around 27 degrees. We stopped in Athens to try to knock some of the ice from the windshield, and I inquired about places to stay. We were so lucky to find the Holiday Inn Express. We got to our room but didn't unpack right away, and that was a good thing because we realized the heater wasn't working. The young lady at the desk moved us to another room (upgraded), and we were very comfortable. The room was large with a microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The bathroom was also very large and very clean. There were grab bars near the tub, but not much counter space for makeup articles, etc. It appears to be an almost new property.
The breakfast room is large and well designed. They had the usual offerings for HIE, but the quality was very good----sausage with biscuits and gravy and eggs with cheese in addition to the cinnamon rolls. The coffee was excellent. The young man in charge kept everything replenished. They have a new feature---a pancake maker. You push a button, and out pops a perfect small pancake. We didn't try them, but a lady nearby said they were very good.
I can't say enough about the staff. They were so helpful, even offering us a later check out because of the weather. We usually stay in Tyler when we go to Canton, but I think Athens will be our choice in the future. Thanks Holiday Inn Express!.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atttx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Txtravelgal- Thank you for the positive feedback in regards to your stay. Although we dropped the ball on your first room in regards to the heater I am glad we were able to provide you with our outstanding 10 plus service for the rest of your stay. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in town for the Canton Trade Days. We have recently re-freshed our breakfast bar and I think you will find the new additions very yummy. If you can please check out the Trade Days in October/November. Those are both great weekends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great Staff. They accommodated our every need. Clean rooms and grounds. Great breakfast.
Will stay here again. Close to all restaurants and Wally World. We were in town to go to Trade Days in Canton, It was just a short drive and getting around Athens was much easier than Canton.

Room Tip: Inn is 3 storys. I advise staying on top floor as noise from the floor above carries downward and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atttx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
RFlurry- We are glad to hear you enjoyed your staying at our hotel. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room with Outstanding Customer Service! I hope you found some good deal at the Trade Days. We look forward to seeing you for the next weekend of fun in Canton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deridder
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was first class from the welcome at the door to the farewell. Rooms are very nice a spacious. I had no problem at all with my bed and my pillows were as soft as you might expect from a quality Holiday Inn. This hotel will restore your faith in the Holiday Inn name brand. A great stay and a must if you are close to Athens.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hupago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atttx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hupago - Thank you for being being a valued IHG Rewards Member. We were honored to host you while you were visiting Athens. Thank you for the positive feedback about our hotel. I know you loved our pillows but we recently placed the NEW Holiday Inn Pillows in our rooms and if you like our previous pillows you are going to LOVE these. Until your next visit with us, please travel safely and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The beds were slanted and all springs. Two in a bed was impossible. I stayed two nights in different rooms but beds were equally bad. The staff was very nice, however, and breakfast was good. This is probably the best place in Athens so I will continue to stay here but plan on a restless night.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelorBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear TravelorBecky,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the comfort of the beds prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We truly appreciate the positive comments for the staff and breakfast. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let a member of our staff know.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just recently stayed for our 2nd Annual October First Monday Girls trip. The staff was quick to greet us and make us feel welcomed. Everything was clean and the goodies at the end of a long day was quite a nice surprise. Already booked for next year!

Room Tip: I personally thought the pillows were not to my liking but the beds were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJWTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atttx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
TJWTexas- Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 1st Annual Girl's Weekend of fun at the Canton Trade Days. We are glad you, and all of your girlfriends enjoyed our hotel and Southern Hospitality. We are looking forward to seeing you and your group again this October for Trade Days. We have new Pillows in our rooms and I think you will find them very comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great hospitality The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. We felt right at home. The breakfast was one of the best we have been served. The room was nice, clean, and spacious. Great place to stay for Canton Market Days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atttx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Pat S- We are glad you enjoyed your clean room, yummy breakfast and our Outstanding Customer Service. We recently re-freshed our breakfast and I can not wait for you to try it the next time you are in town for Canton Trade Days. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for our hotel and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Cedar Creek Lake
20.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gun Barrel City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Days Inn Gun Barrel City
Days Inn Gun Barrel City
#2 of 2 in Gun Barrel City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Athens TX
Super 8 Athens TX
#3 of 7 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 5 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
Address: 1119 E Tyler St, Athens, TX 75751-2145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at our hotel and see what East Texas hospitality is all about. It is our goal to provide you with comfortable, welcoming surroundings and exemplary service to ensure a stress-free stay. Visitors appreciate our convenient location on TX-31 in Athens's newest business district, which is just one mile from downtown. With Lake Athens, Cedar Creek Lake just a short drive away, our property provides easy access to a wealth of outdoor activities. (Currently our pool is under renovation. In order to provide a better experience for our guests we are updating several areas of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience, and will have the pool area available as soon as possible.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing