We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Cooking Really Down Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of World Famous MOMS

World Famous MOMS
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Aubrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh "from scratch" Home Cooking in the Heart of Horse Country! Serving award winning Chicken Fried Steak and Coconut Cream Pie! Bakery on site serving fresh baked pies. Friendly staff, and can accommodate large groups!
Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Home Cooking Really Down Home”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Found ourselves on Main Street Aubrey while cutting back to the Interstate cross-country. Entrees were good, including my husband's catfish. The sides were even better, especially the okra which did not seem pre-packaged at all. The hot rolls were extraordinary. Wish I knew how they did those.

Portions were very large and you could split. If we have a regret it's that we didn't bring half home and try dessert. Based on the way they baked bread it might have real possibilities. Maybe not the dining experience of my life, but it was good and authentic and if for some unexpected reason I'm in Aubrey, Texas, again I'd stop back past.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jettybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rising Star, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Say no to catfish.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have eaten here many times, and most often the food is very good. I recommend the chicken fried steak, meatloaf, chicken fingers and hamburgers. On July 12 stopped in for the catfish and my wife got the chicken strips. Fish rated poor. It was thin cuts (more batter than fish), greasy and cooked a little long. The fries with it must be fried twice, no potato left, just crust. The chicken must have been cooked at too high of a temp, or too long. Really brown and had a faint burned smell.
I have had the fish twice before and rated it good, not great. Get much better fish at Babe's in Sanger, TX. Again, the food has been quite good in the past, perhaps I came on a bad day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atnip2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MommaKrys, Owner at World Famous MOMS, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
atnip2007, please accept our apologies for a meal you did not like. We try every day to get it right, and we did not meet your expectations. Please, the next time you come in, ask to speak to a manager, so you can be our guests for your meal, and we can refund your money for the meal you didn't care for! MommaKrys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
2 reviews
“Never again”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I had heard from friends that this was a good place to eat, so I decided to give it a try! I ordered catfish with a baby lucy. The catfish wasn't cooked all the way and the baby lucy had rotten brown lettuce all in it! I can't believe I drove all the way out there for that! I will not be returning or telling my friends to take the 30 minute trip for that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MommaKrys, Owner at World Famous MOMS, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Kelli, There is so excuse for the experience you had at MOMS, and we are deeply sorry. We visited your profile and saw that you visit other restaurants in the area, so we would like to invite you to come back, so we can refund your money, or contact us so we can send it to you, and offer you another free meal on us, so you can experience MOMS the way it should always be! Ask for Krys or Steve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place for a Great Big Lunch!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My work cohorts and I went there recently for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. The food is very nicely prepared and the servings are pretty large! Go hungry! All the folks we dealt with were very courteous and helpful (we were first-timers!). Burgers were excellent, meatloaf is moist and meaty, and the catfish was fresh and not greasy. Great green beans, too! Service is a bit slow, so make sure you have plenty of time for lunch, and prices are a bit high, too, but hey, you can easily split a plate and have a good meal! Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home style at it's finest. Now with beer and wine!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Mom's has been a staple for us since the family moved to Aubrey. Always good, always consistently good. Recently, they began serving beer and wine, further adding to the dining experience. Come out to Aubrey, give Mom's a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World Famous MOMS also viewed

 

Been to World Famous MOMS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing