We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special - But friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin South
Ranked #90 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing special - But friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Arrived as it was the closest hotel to Downtown Austin that I could get for 3 weeks. Its in a "Marriott Village" (5 different Marriotts here) with really nothing around in walking distance. Must have a car or rely on the shared shuttle service, which I find only goes downtown on certain times/days, and not much else. Avoid I35 if you have to get into the City, instead use South Congress. As for the hotel, not well maintained. Rooms are your standard Residence Inn; nothing special. Elevator lobby has an unusual odor about it. They re-did the floors of the elevator while I was staying; cheap imitation wood. Only 1 laundry for the whole place, and found got busy on Sunday evenings. There is no hottub, even though say there is. They have replaced it appears with a built in grill, which I used regularly. The noise poolside is too loud.(Pool is on highway side of hotel with no buffer really), and very small in size. Enough to put toes in, but that's about all. Nightly Manager social is only held 3 nights (Mon-Wed) with basics, but always had a salad and some wine. Ernesto at the front desk, and Heather in the Officer are both very welcoming. Parking free was a plus (in Downtown, you must pay), and room maid service was above standard. Oh, and they are pet friendly (although I only saw two rats called dogs that weren't too friendly themselves)

Room Tip: If you can get towards the back of the building you will hear less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are located in what you would call a ‘Marriott’ village with us being one of five different brands to choose from in the area. We are designed for long term stay offering a family ‘home away from home’ experience. We are one of the few Marriott’s in Austin offering a shuttle service and this is typically a big hit with our guests looking for convenient and complimentary travel in and out of Austin city center. As you mentioned, we did very recently re-model the hotel and a lot of our regular guests absolutely love the new ‘updated’ feeling we have to our property. Our evening social does rotate on a 28 day calendar so whether you are here one night or 28 you are likely to have a different taste each evening. For future reference, our guests can always use the facilities at our sister properties if preferred (Laundry, Pool) as we always welcome guests from our hotel next door (Courtyard) wanting to use our outdoor facilties vs indoor. In regards to the hot tub, we did recently change this facility and removed the hot tub . Just like many hotels in Texas, with changes in governmental regulation and customer preference declining our owners thought it would be in both the hotel and guests best interests to remvoe the hot tub. Thank you for the feedback too with Heather and Ernesto, I will be sure to share this with them.

We hope to see you again whenever you are next in Austin!

Kindest Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    60
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
22
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Neches, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was my first time to stay at this facility and I found it to be exceptional. Ernesto helped me with directions to the facility and greeted me warmly when I arrived. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. They accept pets as well, which is nice to know. I highly recommend this facility for price, location, and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! A ‘spacious, clean and comfortable’ room is something we ensure to deliver to each and every guest whenever they stay. We will definitely be sharing your feedback with Ernesto, he is a true guest pleaser. A lot of our ‘first time’ guests do return more than once and we truly hope to see you back again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It's on the freeway and the traffic noise is loud, at least on the freeway side. And the location, while not horrible, isn't great given Austin's terrible traffic problems. So, they do everything possible to make up for these deficits. On my particular nights, the price was $200 a night cheaper than the same hotel downtown, plus parking was free. (an added cost downtown) Our room was more like a 1 bedroom suite with separate televisions in the bedroom and living room. My husband watched TV in the living room while I read in the bedroom. Downtown,1 TV swivels between the bed and the sofa in one big room. Every employee treated us like favorite cousins coming to visit. Linens, beds, bathrooms, rooms, all clean. Even the scrambled eggs at breakfast were fluffier than downtown. Despite the longer morning commute, this may be my new Austin go-to Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us! In regards to our location, we are in close proximity to I 35 highway which allows for great access and convenience to or around Austin. It is rare that we get feedback regarding traffic in our rooms however we are sorry read that this was the case on this occasion. We do have many benefits VS a downtown hotel and price is definitely one of them. In addition to a complimentary breakfast, ALL of our in house guests are welcome to join us for our weekday evening ‘social’ experience which includes complimentary food and beverage.We are priced competitively however fluctuating with market demand and time of year. For our best rates call the hotel and ask for reservations. It is a true pleasure reading that our staff took care of you as we strive to ensure a ‘Home away from home’ experience on each and every stay.

We hope to see you again whenever you are next in Austin!

Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Pros:very clean-rooms, halls, front desk and dining area.
Friendly front desk staff
Kitchen clean and modern-big fridge
Bedrooms are of good size-mine even had its own small fridge and microwave
quiet-we had an inside room
Breakfast was better than I thought it would be-basics but good and they restocked it frequently

Cons: zero

Room Tip: Go for the inwards facing rooms for low noise..seems like rooms facing the hwy would be louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heinertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Greetings!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is real pleasing to see you had a clean and friendly experience with us as these are two aspects that we definitely pride ourselves on. All our bedrooms do include a refrigerator and microwave as well as full kitchen facilities. We like to make EVERY guest experience a home away from home whether it be one night or one hundred.

Please let us know when you are next planning a trip!

Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dundee, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Our Chicago based Company had to send three employees to Texas for 7 weeks to do a job. These guys had to leave behind families and the comforts of home. Midway through the seven weeks we went and stayed to check on the job and found that the hotel was doing everthing they could and beyond to make our guys comfortable and well taken care of. It was so well kept, the rooms were up to date, comfortable and cozy. The staff was outstanding in their care, the location was great and the provided meals so good. Thanks for a great stay, we would come back and stay if we are ever in the area and we highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Greetings!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with our location and your employees. The team will much appreciate the feedback and I will ensure this gets shared with them. We strive to ensure we deliver a ‘Home away from Home’ experience for each and every guest and it is a true pleasure to read that we delivered this for you! We do pride ourselves on clean and friendly and it is evident to see we delivered for your colleagues on their travels. We do provide an evening ‘hospitality’ experience during the week which allows us to not only provide an evening snack and beverage, but also the chance to spend a social experience with our guests too and find out more in order to better serve you.

Please let us know when your company is next planning a trip to Austin!

Kindest Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We came for the Texas relays and there were several schools staying. The rooms were nice, but the one bathroom freaked me out a little as there is just a shower curtain and shower in the bathroom. It does work just fine. The staff was very polite and took care of us and all of our needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fratwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us! The Texas Relays are a real pleasure each year and those who stay with us annually know how popular it can be in regards to room availability. In regards to your bathroom, several of our rooms are required to be ADA compliant to suit all guests requirements and due to availability some of these rooms do get used on sell out nights, like the Texas Relays. If for whatever reason you aren’t quite fully satisfied with your room you can always allow us to accommodate this by pressing ‘0’ from your in room phone to contact the Front desk.

See you next year!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our daughter got married in Austin and we and most of our wedding guest live outside of Austin. So needed a place to stay. Most of our guests stayed at this property, over 20 families. Service was wonderful and staff was very courteous and accommodating. They made us feel welcome and made our stay comfortable. Thanks guys

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us. Congratulations on your daughters marriage and we wish them all the best. Our staff truly enjoyed hosting your family and we hope to see you all again soon. We definitely enjoy going the extra mile for groups and other special hosts at the hotel. For any potential Wedding/Group enquiries please contact the hotel directly at 512-318-1100 and ask for our Sales manager. We can definitely work to accommodate groups of all kinds and will do whatever it takes to ensure all group members leave with a truly service so memorable experience.

Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#93 of 203 in Austin
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin Marriott South
#41 of 203 in Austin
406 reviews
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin South

Property: Residence Inn Austin South
Address: 4537 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Austin South is within driving distance to many of the area's attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, the excitement of the University of Texas and Longhorn football, and Austin's Town Lake with miles of hiking and biking trails. All pet-friendly suites have fully-equipped kitchens, flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and separate living and sleeping areas. The property also features complimentary breakfast and weekday evening reception, outdoor pool, fitness room, and outdoor multi-purpose Sport Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Residence Inn Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing