We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin South
Ranked #85 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very friendly, helpful staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The room and hotel were consistent for a typical Marriott Residence. I had no complaints. However, the staff was very friendly. It has been a long time since I have encountered an entire staff that was warm, friendly, and helpful. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the breakfast staff were friendly and attentive. Marriott should learn lessons from this location. The location is good as it is very easy to get to all the major roads in Austin quickly if light traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrambo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your kind words, we aim to ensure every guest leaves here happy and remembering our great staff! We pride ourselves on being one of the cleanest and friendliest hotels in Austin and I am pleased to know we met your expectations. As you mentioned we are conveniently located near IH-35 which gives our guests easy access to downtown, Southpark Meadows, or the surrounding area. We hope to see you next time you are in Austin!
Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    59
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
22
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This appears to be one of the older Residence Inns. To get to our room we had to drag everything through the lobby, which is difficult. The pool is right out front by a very busy freeway so it wasn't very relaxing. The décor in the rooms is a bit dated (I would love to know who picked that striped carpet). Bathrooms are very small, especially the tub/shower area. And no vent fan so it turned in to a sauna. Breakfast was good.

What makes Marriot properties to me is the people. The front desk people were very pleasant and the lady that worked breakfast (which was very good) was nice as well. All very helpful.

We had our teen daughter traveling with us so a one bedroom suite for $106 was a great value and gave us all some privacy. Would be nice if they could figure out how to get in to the bathroom without having to go through the bedroom, but a small inconvenience.

I would stay here again given the chance.

Room Tip: There aren't any better than any others. It's right on a freeway and it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your post and comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind message regarding the exemplary service you received while staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Austin South and the time you set aside to share your experience. Exceptional associates who exceed guest expectations are a source of pride at Marriott. I am glad the staff was able to provide a memorable service for you and your family. As you mentioned in your comments, we are an older building, but we recently went through a complete renovation in March of 2012. We are also in close proximity of IH-35 which allows for easy access to downtown or many of the other local area attractions.

We hope to see you again when you are in Austin!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I recently visited the Residence Inn by Marriott in South Austin while visiting Austin. I like staying at a Residence Inn when possible because of their room set up and continental breakfast. Their rooms are very spacious and offer a full sized frig, stove top, microwave and kitchen supplies. It's basically like staying in a condo. The RI South is very close to Barton Springs and downtown, you can even use the hotel shuttle service to get to and from downtown. My room was clean, the lobby was nice and the staff is very friendly and enjoyable. I will stay here again when in Austin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Greetings!
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am very happy to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations, as our goal is deliver superior service with a clean, comfortable room for our guests to enjoy. As you mentioned in your review, we are conveniently located near many of Austin’s attractions and night life and having the use of the Marriott South shuttle is a definite benefit. All of our rooms are 50% larger than most standard hotel rooms and we also include kitchenettes in each room. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you chose us again on your next trip to Austin!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Residence Inn Austin South was a great hotel. They had clean rooms, friendly service, and great location. We especially enjoyed the luxury of having our own kitchen, living room, and living room after a long day of site seeing in Austin.

I was very pleased with the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It was a pleasure having you here and I am very delighted that we could meet all of your expectations. We are always striving for our guests to be comfortable and feel like part of our family. I am happy we succeeded that with your stay. Take care and I look forward to seeing in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very nice lobby with a welcoming and accomodating staff. Great location that is very close to downtown just a few miles down the road on I-35. Room was well cleaned and great design. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it worked perfect for us with a 1 year, he was able to take naps in the other room while we were in the living area. Love the full kitchen with everything you need to make a quick lunch or dinner. The complimentary breakfast was wondeful both mornings, the cooks in the kitchen are very diligent of restocking food. All staff was very nice and made our family feel welcomed. Would definitely return to this location again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Greetings!
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. Your home away from home is our overall goal for our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed while they are traveling. We are larger than an average hotel room and do have 3 different room type options to choose from ranging from our open air floor plan studio, to a one bedroom that provides a dividing door and wall for a little more privacy, up to our two bedroom suite that includes two separate bedrooms and bathrooms and all of our rooms have a kitchenette. We are conveniently located off of South IH-35 via exit 229 Stassney Lane. We are approx. 4.5 miles from downtown, 6 miles from the airport and approx. 7 miles from the University of Texas. We also do offer complimentary breakfast each morning and a M-W hospitality hour that includes a light dinner and well as complimentary beer, wine, and soda.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Tx
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was our third time at this property in the last 5 years and each time has been enjoyable. This time I was a little high maintenance and really appreciated the extra help from Fiona and Julian at the front desk. First challenge was when I realized I left my iPhone charging 'cube' at home and my phone AND iPad were dying. No problem...Fiona graciously loaned me the manager's personal cube long enough to get everything recharged. Next problem, I stupidly purchased pizzas that had to be baked instead of microwaved. We were on the verge of ordering pizza to be delivered and wasting what I had just purchased when once again they came to my rescue and opened the kitchen to me so I could bake the pizzas! As I profusely declared my appreciation, they graciously said they were glad to help...and meant it! The breakfast area has been recently updated and is very comfortable and inviting. Yes, the property is on the highway but I was never bothered by road noise in the rooms and was only slightly aware of it even at the pool. Our room was clean and comfortable and seemed recently updated. My only issue was the tv service which is a corporate decision, no doubt. The choices were very limited in free channels appropriate for our 7 year old grandson and movies for him were $14.99 on the average, and 'kid's cartoon packages' were $9.99 for less than 30 minutes of viewing! More, cheaper options would have been appreciated for the younger kids. Having said that, though, I will definitely be back for the sevice alone!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so much for your kind and positive words about the hotel staff. I am very lucky to have such a great team at the Residence Inn that cares about our guests as much as they do. Fiona, Julian, and the team truly make my job easier.

In March of 2012 we did compIete a renovation of our hotel that did include expanding our breakfast area. With the renovation we were able to expand the breakfast seating as well as include more items on our complimentary breakfast buffet. I know how important it is to start the day with a good meal so we have included scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, Texas shaped waffles, a daily “made for you” item, as well as all of the Residence Inn favorites you might be accustomed too.

As you mentioned we are ideally located off of IH-35 with easy via exit 229. We are approx. 4.5 miles from downtown, 6 miles from Barton Springs, and 7 miles from the University of Texas.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Warm Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nice lobby hotel, bad location in general. Near I 35 lot of sound pollution and as a result do not breath too deep. Garbage near property, it smells bad and at night roaches roaming sidewalks. Inside dark and dreary, hard to get to, stayed there for 4 nights, will never go there again, service OK, could be better. Appliances old and loud.

Room Tip: none, sorry
See more room tips
Green Features: old plumbing, uses ton a water for one flush of toilet
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. Our location does allow very close access to I35 for those travelling to, from or around Austin and a lot of our guests choose us based on this factor alone. We are truly sorry as a team that we let you down in regards to your recent experience with us and would love for you to give us another chance. We have VERY recently had a new management change and we will definitely taking your feedback on board to better serve you.

Please could you contact me personally whenever you are next planning a trip to Austin!

Chris Hammons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#98 of 199 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Austin Marriott South
#51 of 199 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin South

Property: Residence Inn Austin South
Address: 4537 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Austin South is within driving distance to many of the area's attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, the excitement of the University of Texas and Longhorn football, and Austin's Town Lake with miles of hiking and biking trails. All pet-friendly suites have fully-equipped kitchens, flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and separate living and sleeping areas. The property also features complimentary breakfast and weekday evening reception, outdoor pool, fitness room, and outdoor multi-purpose Sport Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Residence Inn Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing