We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin South
Ranked #91 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, convenient location”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We got a great rate on a 2 bedroom suite for a 3 night visit. We loved the spacious living rooms and 2 bedrooms (with 2 bathrooms). Beds were comfortable. Hotel is a bit older and looks in need of refreshing in some places. Free hot breakfast buffet was good. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Right off IH-35 - very short drive to SoCo area and downtown. Hotel also has a free shuttlle van to downtown and the airport. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and the kind words about our staff. Our two bedrooms are very spacious as they are approx. 734 square feet. Our two bedroom suites sleep 1-6 ppl, have a spacious living room with a sofa bed, two separate bedrooms, in room work space, fully equipped kitchen, dining area, 2 bathrooms with separate vanity areas, and 3 televisions. We did complete a hotel renovation in 2012 that included our public areas and guest rooms. We also offer a complimentary daily hot breakfast with a variety of healthy and indulgent options. Our location is conveniently located off of IH-35 and Ben White which makes for an easy trip to the South Congress area and many of their fine restaurants and bars.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    61
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
23
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel had a great location just south of downtown Austin and right off the main interstate i35. The staff was very friendly and very responsive to our needs.Even though it was an older hotel it looks like the rooms were renovated and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coltnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. With easy access on an off IH-35 we are conveniently located approx. 4 miles from downtown which includes many restaurants, attractions, and a vibrant night life. We are also approx. 6 miles from Austin Bergstrom airport which makes for an easy commute for any of our travelers in town on business. As you mentioned in your review, we are an older property but did complete a major renovation in the first quarter of 2012 that included all public areas and guest rooms. Thank you again for the kind words regarding our staff. They make me happy every day with the service they provide not only to you, but to each and every guest.

Sincerely,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Short term stay but staff very courteous and attentive rooms in Hotel were super clean breakfast and evening social hour was great and accommodating. hotel is centrally located to the airport in major highways.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We pride ourselves on being one of the cleanest and friendliest hotels in Austin and it sounds like we met that goal with you. As you mentioned in your review, our hotel is located at I-35 just south of Ben White Boulevard– six miles from Bergstrom International Airport. We are also 4 miles from downtown Austin and within driving distance of many attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, Texas Longhorn football, and Town Lake Park’s hiking and biking trails.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Austin!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Help full staff, clean facility, Monday to Wednesday has free happy hour for all customers between 6-7.30pm. Free hot breakfast in the morning. Lot of healthy option for breakfast. hHas pool, BBQ grill, gym etc. has a full set of kitchen with all kitchen utensils if you decide to cook.

Room Tip: Has studio, single bed rooms, 2 bed room rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: They give the option of no room service needs tag so you can use towels linens
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tushartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so much for your kinds works regarding our staff and facility. As you mentioned in your review we do have a lot of amenities to offer our guests. Our apartment-style, renovated guest rooms feature fully equipped kitchens with stainless steel appliances, free Wi-Fi, workstations with natural light and separate living and sleeping areas. No matter the length of your stay, at the Residence Inn Austin South you'll enjoy a free downtown shuttle, free hot breakfast buffet & evening social hour (Mon-Wed), outdoor SportCourt, outdoor pool, and patio and BBQ area.

I know you have a lot of options to choose from in Austin and I thank you for making us your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The noise above us was undesirable to say the least. There was one night that the walking and stomping sound lasted until 2:30 a.m. The other items that made our stay unpleasant were the dog barking next to us and the smokers sitting in chairs outside of the entry on the side. The smoke smell lingered into our room. It would be helpful if they would smoke a safe distance from the hotel. Walking into our room and having to walk through the smoking area is not something I like doing. The rooms were very musty and smelled like animals. However, the staff was pleasant and polite. Cleaning crew was very prompt on making up the beds and accommodated any requests we had. Hope you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: Thought the price was high compared to other hotels I've stayed in. Asked to change to a less ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Greetings Stephanie,
Thank you for reaching out to tell me about your experience with us. I am pleased to hear the kind words regarding our staff; it is very important to us that our people make you feel welcome and assist you in being as comfortable as possible.
While I am very happy to hear that our staff was very accommodating to you, I deeply apologize for the inconveniences and the experience you had while on your trip with us. It is of our highest interest that our guests enjoy their vacations and please be sure that our staff does their utmost to fulfill the needs and expectations of all of our guests.
I appreciate you giving me the opportunity to address your concerns. As with all Residence Inns we are pet friendly. With that being said we sometimes experience an animal or “fur baby” that misses their family and will sometimes call out for them. If we hear of this happening we will try to calm the animal down ourselves or contact the owner and let them know of the situation. If any of our guests hear one of our guests’ pets making noise we ask that you please contact the front desk immediately as we will do our best to rectify the situation. In relation to the guest who was outside smoking, Marriott adopted a smoke free policy many years ago and in the policy it states that all Marriott hotels will be smoke free anyone wishing to smoke must do so at least 15 feet from an entrance. Unfortunately it sounds like this was not the case this past weekend. I apologize for us not catching this happening and making the needed changes immediately.
Once again, please accept my apology for the frustration and disappointment these experiences have caused. Our guests provide valuable feedback and are the key to our success.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The room and hotel were consistent for a typical Marriott Residence. I had no complaints. However, the staff was very friendly. It has been a long time since I have encountered an entire staff that was warm, friendly, and helpful. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the breakfast staff were friendly and attentive. Marriott should learn lessons from this location. The location is good as it is very easy to get to all the major roads in Austin quickly if light traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrambo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your kind words, we aim to ensure every guest leaves here happy and remembering our great staff! We pride ourselves on being one of the cleanest and friendliest hotels in Austin and I am pleased to know we met your expectations. As you mentioned we are conveniently located near IH-35 which gives our guests easy access to downtown, Southpark Meadows, or the surrounding area. We hope to see you next time you are in Austin!
Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This appears to be one of the older Residence Inns. To get to our room we had to drag everything through the lobby, which is difficult. The pool is right out front by a very busy freeway so it wasn't very relaxing. The décor in the rooms is a bit dated (I would love to know who picked that striped carpet). Bathrooms are very small, especially the tub/shower area. And no vent fan so it turned in to a sauna. Breakfast was good.

What makes Marriot properties to me is the people. The front desk people were very pleasant and the lady that worked breakfast (which was very good) was nice as well. All very helpful.

We had our teen daughter traveling with us so a one bedroom suite for $106 was a great value and gave us all some privacy. Would be nice if they could figure out how to get in to the bathroom without having to go through the bedroom, but a small inconvenience.

I would stay here again given the chance.

Room Tip: There aren't any better than any others. It's right on a freeway and it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin South, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your post and comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind message regarding the exemplary service you received while staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Austin South and the time you set aside to share your experience. Exceptional associates who exceed guest expectations are a source of pride at Marriott. I am glad the staff was able to provide a memorable service for you and your family. As you mentioned in your comments, we are an older building, but we recently went through a complete renovation in March of 2012. We are also in close proximity of IH-35 which allows for easy access to downtown or many of the other local area attractions.

We hope to see you again when you are in Austin!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin South
Courtyard Austin South
#76 of 203 in Austin
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Austin South
0.2 mi away
Austin Marriott South
Austin Marriott South
#34 of 203 in Austin
437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin South

Property: Residence Inn Austin South
Address: 4537 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Austin South is within driving distance to many of the area's attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, the excitement of the University of Texas and Longhorn football, and Austin's Town Lake with miles of hiking and biking trails. All pet-friendly suites have fully-equipped kitchens, flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and separate living and sleeping areas. The property also features complimentary breakfast and weekday evening reception, outdoor pool, fitness room, and outdoor multi-purpose Sport Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Residence Inn Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing