We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin South
Ranked #87 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
germantown, Tennessee
1 review
“Best Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is the best place to stay on business. They offer complimentary happy hour every evening Monday thru Thursday and most nights the food is enough for a meal. They also offer a free hot breakfast everyday. The staff is very friendy and accomodating and they remember your likes and dislikes. I stay here everytime I go to Austin.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizmccombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    59
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
22
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The Marriott Residence Inn provides good value for the money. You get a small kitchen suite, with full fridge, cooktop, sink, and basic cookware. There is a door separating the bedroom area from the livingroom area for more privacy.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmasDad34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Nothing to write home about. It's next to a whole row of Marriott hotels and pretty close to the airport.
They were having a problem with their wireless internet -- and couldn't resolve the problem before I left. When it was working, it was pretty slow.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Above average Residence Inn with unusually friendly staff. Some good things:

Free Shuttle to & from the airport
Free Wi Fi in the rooms
Free hot breakfast- Good quality
Free food & beer Monday thru Wednesday 6pm-730pm
Clean rooms- hotel is newer than most

The pool is puny and outdoors- you can use the slightly larger and better indoor pool at the Courtyard across the parking lot for free.

The only complaint I have is the location is absolutely boring- there is nothing, and I mean nothing to do within walking distance here- you must use a car to get anywhere.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Boring & Isolated location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Because I work in the customer service area, I am very picky (and vocal!) about service. Our family recently stayed in this hotel and we wanted to pass on our compliments for the service and the hospitality we experienced.

Although I used to stay in Marriott hotels frequently when I traveled for business, this was my first experience staying there for personal reasons.

I chose the hotel because the price was the most reasonable of the nicer chains in the section of town we wanted to stay (near St. Ed's and downtown) and because it accepted pets. I was a little worried because there were no reviews on the site, but took a chance because I have had good experiences with Marriott.

Previously I had stayed at the Holiday Inn Town Lake but it was never pleasant, the people were rude, and we didn't always get the room we were promised.

Before we arrived I realized too late that my daughter had developed an allergy to cats. The helpful young lady at the desk switched our suite for one in which we could close the doors and isolate Mr.. Minoux

The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful all three days.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable, had plenty of towels, etc. and the kitchen area and complimentary breakfast saved us money on eating out every meal.

The hotel was minutes away from St. Ed's and very convenient for our restaurant visits and sightseeing adventures

We loved the free internet (and the desk and lots of electrical outlets) since we were simultaneously working on a research paper, a school project, maintaining a business, and checking in on the election

The book with the restaurant info was helpful to confirm what we had already researched

The gentleman who worked in the breakfast area was wonderful to all of us, making us those incredible brownie pancakes and getting us whatever we needed to head out for the day of sightseeing.

We loved the complimentary meatball subs!

We didn't use the pool because it was too cool but I learned later that the Marriott Courtyard next door had an indoor one we could have used which is neat.


Katherine
San Antonio, TX

  • Liked — Clean, friendly staff, breakfast and afternoon snack, free internet, price and pet-friendly
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KatinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Very clean rooms with plenty of space. Pool leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Liked — Plenty of Room
  • Disliked — Pool area could be spruced up
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pboulanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingburg, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Not a newer RI, however it was clean and quiet for my one night stay in Austin.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#95 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Austin Marriott South
#53 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin South

Property: Residence Inn Austin South
Address: 4537 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Austin South is within driving distance to many of the area's attractions, including the unique ambiance of 6th Street, the excitement of the University of Texas and Longhorn football, and Austin's Town Lake with miles of hiking and biking trails. All pet-friendly suites have fully-equipped kitchens, flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and separate living and sleeping areas. The property also features complimentary breakfast and weekday evening reception, outdoor pool, fitness room, and outdoor multi-purpose Sport Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Residence Inn Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing