We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Ranked #158 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Perfect location. A little "old school" designwise, but clean and functional. Good value.

Room Tip: Bottom floor a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhoward48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

The location is pretty good being just a few blocks walk from most of the attractions, however, this place is a bit dumpy. Not a lot of choices with moderate prices in downtown Austin so for a single night it will do. There is required valet parking so keep that in mind. My room had an exterior entry (almost always a bad sign) but it seemed like the rooms to the East may have been newer and nicer with inside hallway entries...you may want to ask for one of those. Pretty much a motel not a hotel.

Room Tip: Try asking for a new room in the East wing that has an inside hallway entry?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RastamanInKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQSALES, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Rastamaninkansas,

We apologize that your experience wasnot what you expected from La Quinta. It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations in service and accomodations, so it is with disappointment that I hear how we've fallen short of that goal. Your comments have been shared with my team so that appropriate changes can be made for the comfort of our future guests.

Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Dennis Lancette
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Staying a couple of nights for a business trip and hoping to save the state money, I booked here because of the great rate. The room was pretty clean, though the furniture was a bit tatty. The front desk staff was nice but the wakeup call failed twice and several times I called down and nobody picked up. As far as a place to lay down for a few nights while doing work, it was fine.

To get to restaurants and entertainment you needed to walk 4 blocks. I didn't park, but SuperShuttle form the airport was $13.

Room Tip: The rear building that was away from the street and the pool was pretty queit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgkChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This was a day trip for my husband and I only staying one evening in Austin. This hotel is by far one of the least expensive in the d/t area. Upon arrival, you are allowed to leave your vehicle in the mandatory valet area ($12 a day) long enough to check-in before they park you. Valet staff was personable and friendly. Check-in was met with a smiling face and quick processing. Our room was on the 4th floor just beyond the elevator overlooking the portico and valet area. Not the best view but we were only there one night. Room had a king bed and all areas were clean. Only noise we experienced were the other patrons passing by our door, some with rolling luggage, and other "people noise" on and off throughout the evening.

Check-out was smooth. We didn't partake in the complimentary breakfast but it was bustling at 10am. Husband ran in for a cup of coffee before leaving.

This hotel is the closets to the State Capitol, which was our main point of interest while in Austin. We were about six blocks from 6th street which is in walking distance, but the weather was a bit damp so we drove there. I would recommend La Quinta for the value and convenience!

Room Tip: If I were to stay here again for a longer stay, I'd ask for a room not along the path towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQSALES, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear travelbug7733,

I wanted to personally thank you for your time to comment and review our La Quinta Austin Capitol Hotel. We really appreciate your words and compliments about our employees and the quality of the hotel. Thank you for your business and we do look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dennis Lancette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I had a great stay at the La Quinta Inn near the capitol. I was pleasantly surprised to have valet service for my vehicle and the gentlemen were great. They helped me get my luggage out and loaded onto a cart when I got there and helped me load it all back in when I was ready to leave. The room was very comfortable. I had three wonderful nights there.

They also gave me a good tip on a good restaurant nearby - Serranos. Awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Pros: convenient location, nice staff, okay breakfast included in the price.
Cons: old, thin walls, can hear outside noise.

I think the management and staff are really trying to keep this LaQuinta in decent shape -they are nice, the room was clean, and breakfast was basic, but it did the job. However, the building is old (not in a good way) and I could noise from the street/ surrounding rooms/ a loud guest talking outside woke me up several times during the 2 nights I spent there. At around $100/ night, I did not expect anything fancy, but uninterrupted sleep was one expectation that was not met.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likesT0Travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I picked this hotel as we were driving into Austin. I scoffed at the $100 room price, hoping I could get a better deal but after I called around and found that the other hotels were booked or more expensive, I settled with this one. When we walked in, we were greeted with a strong musk. There was no standing water (like I read in another review) so because I couldn't figure out where the odor came from and figured it was just because it was old, I didn't say anything. The bathroom was tiny, but honestly, that's not that big of a deal to me. How much room do you need in there anyway? The vanity area was big, which was the only perk to this room. Back to the bathroom.. I know the toilets are old, but when its running off and on and you can't even flush it properly because the inner workings in the tank need to be adjusted, there is a problem. I opened the tank up and messed with it enough to satisfy myself. So again, I didn't see the need to say anything. I saw a bug. That would normally be it for me. But after the boyfriend killed it and assured me that it was the waterbug type but there shouldn't be anymore, I stayed quiet. We stayed on the second floor on the outside part of the hotel nearest the door with the stairs. I didn't realize that every morning, I would hear the travelers with their wheelie bags outside as much as we did. We must have been woken up half a dozen times each morning! At this point, I'm not saying anything just because I don't want to go through the hassle of repacking just to move 15 feet and then unpacking. What else? Room service walked in on us! Yes, we were decent, but if you're going to walk into people's rooms, wait a few seconds after you knock! You don't knock as you're walking in! Some TV channels did not come in at all. I'm not talking about the PPV channels or anything fancy... I'm talking FOX. Lame. Parking was way too expensive, but it seems inevitable in the downtown area. The valet guys where probably the friendliest out of the whole staff. I probably would have tipped them if I didn't already have to pay 13 bucks a day for something they only did maybe 4 times total. At the time when all of these little things were happening, I didn't want to say anything. Partially because I don't want to be "that" person and partially because I didn't want to deal with the hassle. But now that I'm thinking about it, I definitely should have. The accumulation of all these things most definitely warrants a trip to the front desk. Since I couldn't do it, I'm just going to let you guys know so that you don't waste well earned dollars on something that very well might lead to disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQSALES, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear Jenny L:

I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us.

I was very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations in so many aspects of your stay.

We welcome all guest's feedback and encourage it to continually imprive our facilities and services.

I can assure you that we have addressed the physical issues you had with the room and have used this as a continuing trainging tool with our housekeeping staff to further avoid such problems.

I would like to be able to get in contact with you as we would like ot be able to make this up to you and your boyfriend.

We strive to ensure that our guests are 100% satisfied and I do hope to have a chance to speak with you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dennis Lancette
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Address: 300 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £87 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol / Downtown is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck", a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge". Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol / Downtown with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swim ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing