We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Room in Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Ranked #159 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I tend to stay at La Quintas when I am in the south where they are plentiful because of the general quality of service and the cleanliness of the room. This was no exception! The front desk clerks were helpful, and the valet parker even more so. I was having issues with my car, and this worker actually called a mechanic friend of his so that I would be able to get my car looked at.

The cost was a little higher than I was used to, as was the having to pay for parking. The location was great, though. I was very near the capital, 6th street was a short walk away. I would not have minded staying even longer if I wasn't so concerned about cost.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 543 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
Naples, Florida, USA
13
Reviewed 9 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Benbrook, Texas, USA
13
Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel that is walking distance to pretty much everything in downtown Austin, then La Quinta Capitol is the right place. My husband and I have been staying there for ACL weekend for the last three years, and we plan to use this hotel in the future when we visit Austin. It's an old hotel, and it isn't pretty to look at. Don't expect the guest rooms to be any different. The beds, HVAC, and the TV are upgraded, but that's about it......there aren't any plugs on the nightstand for charging cell phones.....these rooms are almost solidly stuck in 1985. But we don't care. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the AC works like a charm, and we didn't have to use our car for four days.....everything is a comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked this hotel as we wanted to be able to walk to 6th street. On arrival we used the valet (extra charge) but it was easy. We had a room on the third floor, nice and large and clean. Service was good no complaints would stay there again

Room Tip: You can ask for a ground room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Easy checkin, mandatory Valet parking but price is right at 12. 99 a night and given that it's right on E. 11th Street with no real parking, Valet is a good thing. For the money and location, the room wasn't too bad. The bed was very comfortable, the AC worked Great (albeit noisy), and it's within walking distance of many attractions downtown. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: remember, parking is Mandatory Valet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of times whilst visiting Austin from Australia. Never had any issues until I stayed again very recently. The fellow who checked us in was rude, obviously having a bad day , the room - well not even sure where to start. I was a solo traveller this time and was dissappinted to find that my room was directly next to the main entrance door, no door jam and i felt extremely unsafe( the door shook every time someone slammed the glass doors), The noise was terrible , hearing every other visitor coming in and out just wasn't pleasant at all. I asked to be moved and was advised that this option couldn't be offered...I accepted this as i was already frustrated and feeling like I was putting the grumpy desk clerk out.Despite cocroaches crawling up the walls and not so clean room and filthy desk chair, decided I would just stay put and complain upon checkout when he wasn't there however I vow never to stay here again which is disspointing given we have had such good experiences previously, Upon checkout I advised the lady clerk who apologised , however still insisted I pay for a nights valet parking for my friend who stayed due to me being so uncomfortable even thought the boys in the carparking who were awesome by the way insisted that I didn't have to pay. Not happy at all.....and wont be going back nor recommending to my fellow travelling friends.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not accept the room directly next to the glass entrance doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andipopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed overnight there befor going back to san antinio the hotel was very clean and the
staff were very friendly and helpful also had continental breakfast bagels coffee muffins
toast and more. there is not a thing I did not like about it would stay again when I go back
to austin

Room Tip: ask to see the room if they are not busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Address: 300 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £87 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol / Downtown is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck", a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge". Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol / Downtown with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swim ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing