We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Secret in Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #51 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Secret in Austin”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this unexpected jewel by a mall in Austin. Upon arrival, we where greeted by a dapper gentleman who expertly checked us in, offered us their Happy Hour, which was FREE, not discounted. You can't imagine my surprise at being allowed a more than generous 3 free beers or glasses of wine, chips, salsa, cheeses, fruits ... Our room was immaculate and much like my first efficiency apartment. For breakfast there was a full buffet with turkey sausage, veggie sausage, local scrambled eggs, whole wheat (delicious) pancakes, a wide variety of breads, coffee, juice, sweet fruits. The building was well maintained and landscaped. Additionally, the hotel utilizes many "green" practices. We originally booked for location, but will now add this place as a destination in itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    201
    62
    35
    24
See reviews for
177
186
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This unique hotel is off the beaten path, but very nice. The property used to be an apartment complex, so our suite was basically a one room apartment with very nice kitchen area and living room. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were planning on doing activities in the downtown area and the hotel has easy access to downtown and is priced much better than any of the downtown hotels. The complimentary Happy Hour was nicely done with a wonderful assortment of appetizers as well as beer or wine. The breakfast was one of the best we've had at any establishment; a wide variety of hot food. The people on the staff were very friendly and helpful. The TV's in the room were small and out of date, but that was not a big issue as we did not watch that much TV while there. We would definitely return if we are back in Austin.

Room Tip: We were on the east side of the complex and could hear noise from Int. 35 when outside the room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjltulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is great! They have worked to create a clean and comfortable stay for their guests and deliver great service. Breakfast and Happy Hour snacks are included. They also have a nice meeting room. Every table in the cafe has a plant on it. It is not your newest hotel but it is well maintained. It also has a beautiful salt water pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceTeaAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The price sells this place. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 5 adults snd used the coach bed for one person. I liked that there were 2 bathrooms and 3 tvs. The carpet and fixtures were a little run down and the matress was very hard. Overall the room was older but not bad. Location is central to town and in a quiet area with lots of trees. It is close to a strip bar but it is safe. The happy hour and snacks in the evening as well as the breakfast were very nice and filling.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband found this hotel on bookingbuddy.com for a pretty good price, so we booked despite being 10 miles north of the airport. We arrived after 11 pm to a warm welcome. Finding the hotel was a challenge but I'll blame the gps.

The hotel is in the middle of a business park, but is very pretty. Lots of greenery. The one bedroom suite had a furnished kitchen and a fireplace. The hotel's selling point to those who care is the "green" choices they made in water and energy. See their web site for details.

Bed was not top quality but not uncomfortable. TVs not high quality (old box style in both rooms) and only one remote.

In the morning we discovered our shower didn't work. We went to the on site breakfast, and reported the problem. They gave us keys to another suite to shower while they repaired ours.

The breakfast was great. Lots of organic and healthy choices. Didn't use pool but it is smallish.

Would stay again, especially for multiple nights.

Room Tip: I would request an upper room next time. The shower from upstairs wad very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volleymom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Wow!!! What a fantastic place. I don't believe we will ever be able to find a place this good at this price ever again. We had an apartment with a fireplace, kitchen, and large bedroom. People are encouraged to harvest the organic foods that are grown throughout the property. In addition, the hotel offers a happy hour in the evening that contains free drinks and food! The complimentary breakfast is wonderful, and the staff is very nice. The hotel enforces quiet hours from 9pm - 9am, so this place is not for a loud partying group.
I honestly considered not reviewing this place because I don't want the prices to go up once it is more well known, but I just have to let others know what a great place this is.

Room Tip: The place is a little confusing to find. Make sure to study your map well, or bring the GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justrenren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at Habitat Suites for 5 nights. Our suite was lovely; very clean, thanks to the staff that makes sure everything is in order. All the front desk people were extraordinary, courteous & patient. Breakfast was a cornucopia of fresh foods from local farmers (when possible) & the breakfast staff made sure that pancakes & other breakfast items were replenished regularly. the few times that we were able to take advantage of the "happy hour" proved to also be a wonderful treat, with Veronica making sure that all was going well. Although there is no gym here, one can certainly walk around the property a few times for exercise. A suggestion to the management is that they provide a mat in the shower, so that guests don't go slipping & sliding. Despite those two negatives, an excellent rating is still warranted. This hotel is well-run & beautifully maintained. Also, kudos to Jessica for her recommendation of an eating establishment!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilote612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Crowne Plaza Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing