We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with easy access to downtown and UT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #50 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
The Hill Country, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value with easy access to downtown and UT”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I was looking for a place to stay that would allow me to get to the Capitol at 8:00 a.m. without fighting traffic. All of the downtown places are expensive and have exorbitant parking fees. I noticed Habitat and was suspicious because of the price. The area doesn't look great, a mostly boarded up shopping mall, vacant office buildings, and a strip club-- but the Habitat complex is like a little bit of heaven tucked into all that. It is a former apartment complex, so you don't get a room, you get an apartment. The grounds are lushly landscaped and the parking areas are well-lit. Our apartment was very clean, aside from some peeling wallpaper and stains on the sofa. There was a full sized coffee pot in the kitchen along with enough locally roasted coffee to make a full pot! A full, hot breakfast is served in a lovely dining room and is attended by two very pleasant gentlemen. The person at the front desk recommended a route to the Capitol that avoided the interstate. We drove to the Capitol in about 15 minutes! If you don't have a car, there is a bus stop across the street and a Metro rail stop about a half-mile down the street. I will definitely be back to the Habitat Suites!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    203
    62
    35
    24
See reviews for
179
187
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the Habitat in April while attending a hot rod show. The place is beautiful, and advertises itself as a 'green' hotel. It has a very nice complimentary breakfast buffet and also free happy hour in the evenings, serving wine and beer. It's not as pricey as the
Embassy Suites, but is very comparible. The outside patio/pool area was gorgeous! Everyone on the staff was exceptionally friendly, especially the dining staff. We were informed that the dining staff were mostly related, which made it even more special. They went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and well served. I have never felt more welcome in any hotel, and I travel a lot. The rooms were clean, and yes, the hotel was green, including the toilet paper!! lol Love this place and will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beckytexasusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

If this had been our first stay at Habitat Suites we would probably NOT be back. The first room they put us in was supposed to have wireless and despite the woman at the desk claiming all the routers were up and even "resetting" the wireless, none of our wireless devices could get any signal. Mind you, not a weak signal -- no signal. The Habitat network never even showed up as an option. The woman at the desk politely offered the suggestion that I could bring my laptop to the lobby. Instead we requested a different room. Fortunately, they were able to move us to a room with a wifi signal. Minus points for advertising wifi throughout the hotel when that's clearly not the case. Plus points for moving us.

Unfortunately, the TVs have not been upgraded, despite the promise from management after my first review nearly a year ago. Granted, this isn't the kind of place where you hole up an watch TV, but the little 12" CRT TVs they have are ridiculous by today's standards.

More unfortunate was the quality of the bed in the room we were moved to. It was horrible, as firm as a piece of plywood. Both my wife and I would wake up in the middle of the night due to parts arms, hips, shoulders being numb from lack of circulation. It was like sleeping on the floor without padding. This was our third stay here and this was by far the worst bed, ever! When I commented on the poor mattress when checking out the woman at the desk mentioned that they just got approval from corporate to replace the mattresses and finally upgrade the TVs. Maybe next time.

Despite all the negatives on this trip, Habitat suites retained much of it's charm. The grounds are as lush and green as ever and the breakfast and complimentary happy hour were much appreciated. The different breads for toast in the morning are more than you usually get in this price range and the biscuits seem better than most. The scrambled eggs are real -- not powdered and the pancakes are good even after being stored in a steam tray.

What keeps us coming back is the suite design of the rooms. There's a door that can be closed to the bedroom so I can stay up and catch up on email or watch TV long after my wife goes to bed without disturbing her. Each unit also has central A/C, not the window or wall mounted fan coil units blowing right on the bed that most hotels have, but real A/C like in a house or condo. It's much quieter and more comfortable.

All that said, one added plus for us is the location. Our daughter is attending Law School at UT and lives in an apartment north of campus. Habitat Suites is a short 10 minute drive down Airport road to her place. We will, no doubt be coming back several times over the next couple of years. Let's hop the by the next trip the mattresses and TVs will be upgraded/replaced.

Room Tip: The wifi works in the rooms closest to the pool and clubhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcdermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just stayed one night at this hotel. The price was reasonable considering it included a suite, a happy hour and a buffet breakfast with organic and fair trade coffee. Like other reviewers have mentioned, this is not a state of the art glitzy hotel. But, it is well maintained, clean and Eco- conscientious which is a very nice change. Yes the rooms are a bit dated. The bed was not wonderful and the TVs and kitchen appliances were older but still a great value. The location is a bit out of the way too but with a GPS -- easy to find. The hotel was quiet, and being surrounded by nature was relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvsun28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree Corners, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I don't know why it is so hard to find this place, but again, I was coming in at night and it took three of us to figure out the directions. Part of it is that the instructions on the website could be improved. But once here, it makes up for any difficulty. The man at the counter was the same man that was there 2-3 years ago, who stayed on the phone with me until I got there. He even offered to walk us to our room since it was dark. The room was very nice as usual, and I love the plants around the building. The breakfast is so nice, especially after some of the other hotels I have stayed in. I am gluten free, and many places leave me with no options other than yoguart and fruit. The breakfast here had real eggs, turkey sausage, veggie sausage, and even fresh salsa. Everything was excellent. I really love this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santafake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The guy at the car rental got us going in the right direction, the lady at the gas station got us into the right neighborhood, another guy at a motel got us onto the right street, and another lady a block away got us into the right driveway. Phew, we made it to Habitat Suites! A bit hard to find but we mostly blame ourselves for venturing out without a proper map. Despite the initial challenges, we knew we had made a good choice from the moment we walked into the lobby! The extra nice staff made us feel right and home and generously served us complimentary beer and wine with delicious homemade salsa. We especially liked the many sustainable features of Habitat Suites, including the abundant indoor plants to purify the air and edible outdoor plants growing all over. How often will you hear the management encourage you to pick and eat whatever you find growing on the grounds? The room was very cozy, quiet, and well-equipped. Another way for them to conserve energy would be to dispense with the full-size refrigerator, which I doubt gets used much by most short-term guests. The sounds of the birds in the trees in the morning were delightful and the complimentary breakfast with healthy, local, organic choices was fabulous! When we were there, the groundbreaking was going on nearby to convert to old Highland Mall into the new Austin Community College. Revitalization of this area is underway and the forward-looking Habitat Suites will be well-situated to take full advantage of it. The next time we're in Austin to visit my niece, we'll be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtimothyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verdi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

First, the bad things: the toilet was not stable; the carpet was not clean (white socks confirmed that); the ice box took 24 hours to make ice; the people upstairs from us must have been having a party every night as it sounded like they were moving furniture and when they went up or downstairs, they sounded like elephants; the breakfast was too close to drive to and really far in the rain; the hot tub was always warm (good) but also always dirty from all the plats around the pool; the televisions were antique; office staff was NOT good at giving directions.
Next: good things: breakfast was really good and the lady who oversaw it all was charming! Because of the layout of the "condos" there was plenty of room inside the unit.

they need to have preprinted maps of the location and directions on how to get there from N or S!

Room Tip: Not sure if any are any better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkh315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing