We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habitat Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #47 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We bid for a room, so we were unfamiliar with what we'd find. The hotel is located near a seemingly abandoned mall and state office buildings . Yet, it's so lovely. There are abundant fruit trees on the property (figs, bananas, lemons) and vegetable plants. The property resembles well-tended condominiums. The dining room is a lively, welcoming place - the server and the cook, like magicians moving swiftly about making sure everyone is taken care of. The suites are clean and well-equipped, and comfortable. There were two TV's, so my niece, who accompanied us and slept in the sofa-bed was free to watch what she liked. At night, it was dead quiet, so we slept very well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Despite our room being across from the pool, it was very quiet, so I imagine the other rooms are as...
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm very conscientious about water conservation, so I was pleased with the other practices they have to conserve water, attract wildlife (birds, for example).
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolitaCardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    196
    62
    35
    23
See reviews for
174
179
19
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

What can I add to the other reviews? Not much but the atmosphere is worth the stay. You get quiet rooms with serene surroundings. The place really gives you the feeling of a place to yourself. The hotel is a converted apartment complex so all of the rooms are a full suite. The hotel makes a great effort to be as earth conservative as possible from their solar panels to their organic soaps and sugars.You feel like your in a spa without the prices! They provide a complimentary breakfast and a light dinner course. It's great when you arrive after an afternoon of traveling to have a nice variety of snacks,drinks, and a quiet atmosphere. Even though it's so convenient to get to it feels like a world away from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occidental, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Tried this hotel as the price was right and the "green" description was attractive. Don't you just love it when things exceed your expectations!?! Reading some of the reviews made me nervous but husband and I have a deal when traveling that if a hotel is too funky we won't stay. When we walked in we knew we were staying. And we did for 4 days.

From Cameron at the front desk to Maudie in the breakfast room every employee we encountered was friendly, professional and extremely helpful. The common areas were clean, attractive and inviting. Our suite was lovely. The thing that really struck me was there were no smells. No chemical cleaning smells, no masking odors. Nothing. Just a fresh clean living room, bedroom with kitchenette and bathroom.

My husband and I were very busy while in Austin and loved coming back to Habitat Suites, sitting in the living room and chatting and unwinding from the day. A couple of times we joked (sort of) how we could just live here. It was truly a home away from home for us. Appreciated the unique aspects and enjoyed the refreshing "unchain" feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank where2now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Habitat Suites is an oasis of hospitality, convenience and charm in Austin, Texas. This is a former apartment building now a comfortable suite hotel with wonderful (as well as edible) landscaping. Don't let the now-empty mall across the way deter you from this location. Our suite (king-bed) consisted of living area, kitchenette, separate bedroom/bath and was very clean. The bed was just a bit hard but our room was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was very complete and tasty. The complimentary happy hour was a great alternative to supper if you prefer to have your main meal earlier in the day. This hotel has all the amenities of the larger chain suite-type hotels without the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Made a two day weekend trip to Austin, Texas. The location was excellent: easy to get to from the interstate, a short walk from the Metro Line: easy way to get to downtown and Sixth Street. The landscaping is beautiful. The rooms were very clean. The front desk was staffed by friendly and helpful employees.The Happy Hour and complimentary breakfast were excellent. The pool area is lush with landscaping, including a lime tree. I would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azle tx
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My daughter has attended UT for 4 years and we have stayed in about 12 different hotels in Austin. Yes this place is a little hard to find even though it is 2 blocks off 35.. yes the kitchenettes are dated, yes the beds are a little hard....but the negatives stop there. The place is like a jungle oasis. There are lime trees, fig trees, blackberry bushes, a tree shaded pool/patio area and so many flowering plants. When we checked in I misread the breakfast times and showed up at 9:10 and breakfast was gone (sniff)..but Maudie and her sons took care of my husband and I, by bringing the eggs, sausage and biscuits back out so we didn't have to go out for breakfast- now that is IMPRESSIVE service! The next morning we made it to breakfast on time and had our choice of organic fruits and organic yogurt, vegetarian sausage, turkey sausage, organic eggs, filtered water and lots of other choices. There is also an afternoon happy hour with hummus, dolmas, crackers and cheese, wine and beer. The place adhered to quiet, non smoking non pets- which is great for allergy sufferers. There were even real ivy plants in the room. We will overlook the hard beds and stay there again, because it truly is an oasis in the big city!

Room Tip: It is a 3 story complex with exterior room entrances so if you don't want to climb the stairs wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redAzleTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Driving up is a little confusing. You go off the high behind an abandoned mall to find this weird little oasis. Checking in was great. The gentleman was well dressed, super friendly and helpful. He informed us of our complimentary breakfast, which was all locally sourced and delicious. They also have complimentary happy hour but we weren't able to attend. It's only like 10 mins from downtown so not too bad. Every room was a suite and we were able to chose a downstairs room, which was quite clean and spacious. It's all very ecofriendly and environmentally conscious, which was appreciated. Helpful staff, comfy rooms and breakfast not to be missed. Not to mention the rate was super inexpensive. Great find and good people.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Highlander Austin
#123 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing