We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #65 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice, friendly hotel in Austin with lots of little perks like a full breakfast, free happy hour and parking. Fairly central in location, the suites are roomy apartment style rooms. The breakfast was awesome and the happy hour was a nice extra. Staff were super friendly. Hotel was quiet. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Pool is small but lovely. Definitely rocks a family vibe. It was reasonably priced; a short drive to the university area and downtown.

A couple of small details which prevents me from a five star rating.... First, the rooms, while extremely clean, are dated. Very dated. The carpet is worn, the shower and toilets are old (ours kept running) and the cabinets in the kitchenette were starting to delaminate. The bed is hard. (This didn't really bother me..I like a very firm mattress but I can see it being an issue for others.) The location is weird and it almost necessitates a car. There is nothing in the immediate vicinity to walk to for food/drinks. In fact the only thing close by is Sugars, which we found out was a strip club. :) it is located across from a deserted mall, which kind of gives the location an eerie feeling. There is a train station near by but the metro hours are weird (full service on fri/sat, service until 6 pm on weekdays, no service on Sundays). The bus stops nearby are fine during the day, but in the evening strike me as a little dodgy.

All in all, however, an excellent stay. Would stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTicklefeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Lots of greenery, quiet surroundings, great southern hospitality, and a comfortable room. I will stay here any time I'm in Austin. Great job guys & gals!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

quiet place, relaxing,great hotel. We have been to this hotel a few times now. The rooms are very clean, bed sheets are very clean, good value. They have a very nice breakfast and also a happy hour. The pool is small but nice. Overall I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is not the best but it is safe. Friendly staff also. This is my family's first choice of hotel when we go to Austin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann00134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

In the middle of Austin, the Habitat Suites Hotel is a peaceful, green oasis. The hotel is actually an old apartment complex that has been transformed into a budget friendly alternative to a traditional hotel. The grounds are beautiful, and walking through the complex, you will see a variety of herb gardens and trees bearing fruit that you are encouraged to eat. The management and staff are friendly and helpful and will strive to make your stay a pleasant one. I had a great experience here and plan to go back every time I'm in Austin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank peaker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel has great staff and amazing breakfast, loved the biscuits and gravy, many options to choose from hot or cold. They also do a complimentary drink and appetizer between 5-7 i believe. The only compliant i had were the creatures in the room but they are living in a Garden made for them so they are bound to be around. The couches and bed were stiff and kitchen is a little outdated but they did a great job of cleaning up the rooms each day. The bathroom was a bit dark as well. Overall i do reccomend this place for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My family and I had an extended stay here for most of the month. My daughter was a patient at dell children's hospital. The staff here was very accommodating. It was a great atmosphere for her to recuperate after surgery. It was like a little resort in the middle of the city. Not a great neighborhood but never felt unsafe. Great breakfast and complimentary drink and snacks every evening! I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cwells92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This appears to be a renovated apartment complex so the rooms are spacious with a full kitchen. It has a nice pool area and the staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful. The breakfast spread was awesome!! While I am not a "greenie" and don't normally require "organic" food, I do appreciate that this facility is environment friendly and serves fresh and tasty food for breakfast!! I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#46 of 205 in Austin
1,622 reviews
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Austin
#17 of 205 in Austin
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £92 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing