We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Trip to Austin in August”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #58 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short Trip to Austin in August”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We loved this hotel. This hotel isn't a average hotel. The staff is very nice, the rooms are great and the quiet hours are WONDERFUL. My husband and I enjoyed the swimming pool at night. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning and it was very good and quiet. We decided to stay an extra night and our room had already been reserved so we moved to another room. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    205
    63
    35
    24
See reviews for
182
188
19
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Since our last stay in April things have improved greatly. There are now decent sized, functioning, flat panel TVs in both rooms and the bed and pillows were quite comfortable. We had a little problem with the shower not being clean the first day, but that was corrected immediately. The things we like about Habitat Suites remain the same; the lush grounds, the quiet location, the central A/C in the units, the full sized fridge and kitchenette, the daily breakfast and happy hours. It was a good stay and we'll definitely be back again while our daughter attends UT.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest the clubhouse and pool have the best WiFi connection.
See more room tips
Green Features: While I respect their policies, I wonder if they could find environmentally friendly 2-ply toilet paper.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcdermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This little delightful gem tucked away from the everyday noise of downtown Austin has lot's to offer you. Swimming pool and one of the best southern breakfast you can find in Texas. Be sure to say Hello to Mama she and her boys run the Kitchen and if your nice you may get to taste that homemade lemonade she has tucked away. The rooms are like apartments so you get that home away from home feeling at a very affordable price you can"t beat that. Rooms are clean beds are comfortable and the staff is always friendly.Things were always nice and kept around the property. Very family safe. Parking is great. If you like peace and quiet this place is for you. It's an awesome place that won't break the bank.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room you choose. However, I preferred the corner room because I had...
See more room tips
Green Features: ENERGY STAR guest room appliances kept things cleaned and quiet.
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This delightful little micro-resort is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Austin. If you're looking to be within walking distance of 6th street or the UT campus or some other venue... you're out of luck! But, if you prefer to have a quiet getaway from what regular hotel/motel stays are like, with the added benefit of a pool & hot-tub, the wholesome goodness of being able to pick from the many fresh fruits, herbs and more growing for the residents' pleasure, enjoy organic and local produce & foods, and all that while reducing your carbon footprint through their green programs (like reducing waste water & conserving fuel) then this is your place to rest and rejuvenate while in Austin. Plus, there is a nice Italian Restaurant - Verona Ristorante Italiano - within walking distance if you enjoy a brisk 5-10 min walk. That place is yet another hidden gem of Austin that many people just don't know about. So would I stay at Habitat Suites again? Yes! In fact, I'm looking forward to it soon & you should too!

Room Tip: I can't think of any poor rooms at this place - every room has access from the outside and a dif...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do a fine job of keeping our planet clean & green! You can learn more at their website, but like I mentioned in my review they have done much to reduce water consumption & fuel usage (via energy savings). They also compost, use solar panels & train staff on green practices.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice, friendly hotel in Austin with lots of little perks like a full breakfast, free happy hour and parking. Fairly central in location, the suites are roomy apartment style rooms. The breakfast was awesome and the happy hour was a nice extra. Staff were super friendly. Hotel was quiet. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Pool is small but lovely. Definitely rocks a family vibe. It was reasonably priced; a short drive to the university area and downtown.

A couple of small details which prevents me from a five star rating.... First, the rooms, while extremely clean, are dated. Very dated. The carpet is worn, the shower and toilets are old (ours kept running) and the cabinets in the kitchenette were starting to delaminate. The bed is hard. (This didn't really bother me..I like a very firm mattress but I can see it being an issue for others.) The location is weird and it almost necessitates a car. There is nothing in the immediate vicinity to walk to for food/drinks. In fact the only thing close by is Sugars, which we found out was a strip club. :) it is located across from a deserted mall, which kind of gives the location an eerie feeling. There is a train station near by but the metro hours are weird (full service on fri/sat, service until 6 pm on weekdays, no service on Sundays). The bus stops nearby are fine during the day, but in the evening strike me as a little dodgy.

All in all, however, an excellent stay. Would stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTicklefeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Lots of greenery, quiet surroundings, great southern hospitality, and a comfortable room. I will stay here any time I'm in Austin. Great job guys & gals!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland TX
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

quiet place, relaxing,great hotel. We have been to this hotel a few times now. The rooms are very clean, bed sheets are very clean, good value. They have a very nice breakfast and also a happy hour. The pool is small but nice. Overall I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is not the best but it is safe. Friendly staff also. This is my family's first choice of hotel when we go to Austin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann00134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#29 of 202 in Austin
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing