We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unclean, poor maintenance, but great food and large suites” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habitat Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #53 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unclean, poor maintenance, but great food and large suites”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel desperately needs and update. I'm writing this review because for the first time in my life, I've been "flea bitten" from staying in a hotel (with dozens of welts to prove it)!

I stayed there for a weekend with my 3 tween-age children. The suites are enormous and do have a kitchen. The beds are FIRM, the pillows are very, very firm, and the interiors are quite campy.

The breakfast was a very nice surprise with organic food and fresh, hot meals better than most 2-3 star major chains. I just hope they come around to revamping their interiors and CLEANING THE BEDS.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrNIceSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    196
    62
    35
    23
See reviews for
174
179
19
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This has got to be one of the best hotels I have ever been to. The missus and I went here on a random whim for our anniversary. It was as best as expected from a green hotel from the edible gardens, swirls, plants, composts, and yes even the green appearance of the hotel. They even a great food service. It is now our goto hotel in Austin.

Helpful?
Thank SimbaMaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed there with my hubby, mother and baby for 6 nights for a business trip. Yes, it is very eco-friendly...but it doesn't mean it has to be dirty, old and abandoned... This hotel could be nice of the owners puts a minimum of efforts...
The neighbourhood is SCARRY...not safe.
Really, it's dirty ans old...for a few bucks, you can have MUCH more!
On the other hand, free happy hour....
If you are a bunch of young guys...it's ok...you will have fun. Not good for a couple or family!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi G, Front Office Manager at Habitat Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Elsa,

If a valued guest such as yourself and your family visit our suites and do not feel at home, then we are not doing something right! Our suites are unique in a sense that they are not furnished in a contemporary modern fashion as you would find at other chain hotels. Habitat Suites is an Austin original in her independence and character. Our surrounding neighborhood is certainly safe and soon Austin will complete its construction of the new and beautiful state-of-the-art Community College that has been keeping the lot across from us vacant!

I would very simply like to ask you to give us another chance, as since your most recent stay we have made exciting improvements here at Habitat Suites, and we are continuing these improvements through the New Year! Thank you for your feedback Elsa as we continue to dedicate ourselves to an excellent guest experience and thus take all feedback to heart!

At your service,

Heidi Garcia - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three days and were very impressed. I gather the hotel has been renovated within the last year. Our spacious suite consisted of a fair sized living area, full kitchenette, bedroom with a king-size bed and two flat-screen TV's. The free breakfast was very good, and a fine way to start the day. Free beer and wine, along with cheese and crackers, are available on the weekends. The staff could not have been more helpful. We especially enjoyed talking to Jesus, the groundskeeper, and helping to feed his herd of outdoor cats. The hotel is set back from Highland Mall Blvd., which makes it a little bit hard to find although there is a big sign near the entrance. This hotel is conveniently located near I-35 but far away enough to be very quiet. We will certainly stay here next time we visit Austin.

Green Features: This hotel is what it says it is. We noticed solar cells on the roof, a recycle bin in the kitchenette, drought tolerant shrubbery, etc..
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Thought I would start off with the complementary beer they give in the late afternoon to people staying in the hotel :) The hotel was a nice one bedroom suite, kitchen items available also. There was also complimentary Breakfast that was very good, steel oatmeal, raw sugar, fruit, greek yogurt, etc.
The only complaint I had was that some tv channels would come and go due to bad signal and if you are in the room when the cleaning crew comes by, don't expect them to return to clean the room. Other than that WiFi in the room, breakfast, short driving distance to downtown and close to fwy makes it an great place to stay. There is also a computer and printer in the lobby for guests to use, that's a plus if you need to print out your tickets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkalbitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We definitely liked the location of the hotel, a little outside of Austin's hustle and bustle. We got a 1 bedroom with a kitchen, as well as a living room with a fire place ! That was probably my favorite part about the stay, was being able to have a cozy fire. Good breakfast in the morning, and friendly staff. Would recommend it !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed at Habitat Suites again this past October. I was given a quiet room in the back of the complex. I was pleased to see that the cable television had been upgraded and new, larger flat screen TVs had been installed. It rained heavily my 3rd night and it was nice to be able to sit on the porch and enjoy the peacefulness! The room was very clean. The only issue I had was from a leak that was discovered on my last morning there, possibly from the coffee maker. All in all a good stay.

Green Features: I would like to see more edible plants. The landscaping around the complex is amazing, with lots of greenery and beautiful flowering plants.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryBMesquite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Crowne Plaza Austin
#29 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Highlander Austin
#124 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing