We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Concept, Outdated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Concept, Outdated Hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I don't think this hotel has been updated for 30 years. The 70's is calling and wants its furniture back. Wallpaper peeling off walls, stains on rugs, drapes, walls, etc. I am 52 and microwave was so outdated, I didn't even know how to operate. There is a sitting area in the two bedroom suite, but if you have more than two in your party, bring a folding chair. There is one very uncomfortable chair and the smallest love seat I have ever seen. There are two stools (no backs) at the kitchen counter, but the stains made them too gross to use. Also, if you are elderly, not in good shape or have any ambulatory issues, do not get a two story or second floor room, the steps are steep and precarious. BTW, there is a strip club "Sugars" a few doors down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi G, Front Office Manager at Habitat Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We care deeply when we fail to please our guests. We stand ready to make amends.

After listening intently to valuable guest feedback, we have heard you, and our renovations in 2014 are in progress with only a handful of suites to go.

Habitat Suites is proud to have served guests for over 35 years as an independent, environmentally responsible hotel. Unlike larger chains who conduct large-scale renovations every 5-10 years, we are in a constant stream of improvements and renovations. Our standards for cleanliness, however, are never compromised. Our team members in all departments are committed to this promise. Some things being dated will happen time and again, but we wish to help our guests feel right at home - and that is why we are dedicated to the exciting projects this year which are sure to provide an even more spacious, beautiful and harmonious environment for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    205
    63
    35
    24
See reviews for
182
188
19
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The shower was a little hard to operate, confusing knobs, but the room was nice and you do get a full kitchen. I was not happy that they suspended happy hour for the entire 4th of July weekend due to the holiday. The hotel should be run for the pleasure of the guests not the convenience of the staff. If anything, more effort should have gone into the happy hour for a holiday weekend rather than not having it at all. The ambiance of the hotel is cool and the maid service was good. The staff was polite.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet. I did read a complaint from someone that had a room toward the end near the adj...
See more room tips
Green Features: I think that the salt water pool is supposed to the more environmentally friendly than the normal chlorinated type. The system should generate its own chlorine and the salt water is supposed to be more gentle on the skin.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kliffnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Location Was Good, Room Was Actually A One Bedroom Apartment With A Full Kitchen Which Was Great. They Have A Quiet Policy After Ten PM Which Is Great In Theory But There Is A Restaurant/Bar Next Door From Which I Could Hear Loud Music, Shouting And A DJ Until The Wee Hours Every Night. I Didn't Get Decent Night's Sleep The Entire Time I Was There. And My Apartment Was On The Second Floor Even Though I Had Requested Handicap Accommodations(No Elevator) And They Wouldn't Chance It.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This suite seems to be a renovated old apartment complex.
The floor plan was nice to my family. We stayed in 2 bedroom suite and it has a king bed downstairs and a queen bed upstairs.
It has fully equipped kitchen along with some utensils and pots you could use, and full sized refrigerator (it was a bit old and made loud noise though).

The staff were nice and friendly, and there was daily evening reception and breakfast. The food didn't have much choice but decent enough considering its price.

It is closed located to the freeway but not too close to have much noise. Though there were some crazy people on Friday night who made noise at night, but I am not sure whether it was inside the suite or from nearby place. There are some crazy folks on friday night anywhere anyway..

The price was reasonable thanks to priceline, and we would love to stay again if we need to stay more than 2 nights in austin.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_hmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My sister and I had a great stay at the Habitat Suites. The grounds were lovely; the staff couldn't have been more professional, and the rooms served our purpose--a good night's sleep. Breakfast was surprisingly good.

Green Features: This fact weighed in our decision to stay. Always glad to support businesses who are environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Metta Maidie Ra... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Finally, a hotel that tries to protect the environment through their practices. Habitat Suites has a salt water pool (small but refreshing), organic edible landscaping (fruit trees), uses biodegradable personal care products, collects rainwater in rain barrels and rain gardens, recycled paper products, solar panels, and composting.

The breakfast is very good, the room was nice with a full kitchen but it could have been kept a little bit cleaner for my taste. Nothing gross or disgusting, just could have used some vacuuming.

It is unfortunately adjacent to an almost defunct shopping mall that appears to be in the conversion stages to a community college satellite campus. So yes, there isn't much to look at getting there or leaving there but I loved their sustainability and protection of the environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Bad service all together. The toilet overflow in the middle of the night and they took not action to correct the problem. They overcharge my credit card. This hotel is charging like a 3 or 4 star hotel when in reality is worst than Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xena_OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi G, Front Office Manager at Habitat Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am sorry you felt so strongly disappointed. We have been in business almost 30 years striving to provide the best possible guest experience for all, 24 hours a day. Even after midnight hours, we try hard to ensure satisfaction and convenience for our guests while also upholding our commitment to the safety of our staff under very carefully considered circumstances.

We also take incorrect billing very seriously and all errors are rectified immediately. More importantly, we learn from our mistakes so that similar situations are avoided in the future. Again, I am sorry we fell short of your expectations and I thank you for your candidness as we continue to work to serve you better.

Sincerely,

Heidi Garcia
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing