We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
“Worked for our needs”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple nights towards the end of June. I had flown to Texas to visit my son who is stationed at Ft Hood and we headed out to see some sights of TX over the weekend. Being the hotel offered basically a small 2 bedroom apartment, it worked well for our needs. Definately needed updating - the microwave was an original...just like one I had purchased 34 years ago. Originally I had planned to cook dinner for us - and luckily I was too tired at night from sightseeing all day - the first night we brought in takeout only to find there weren't any dinner sized plates.

I really enjoyed the grounds and we were on the back side of the property and it was very quiet. The cocktail hour they offer is nice. People were enjoying the pool, although we never made it out there. The area that it is located in isn't the greatest. Not far from the Greyhound station, across the street from a shopping mall that appears to have failed, and next door to a strip club (glad I looked up their menu online before my son and I walked in there).

I would stay there again, especially if the rooms were updated - even at a higher price. The only big complaint I had was one of the staff members. Reading another review here from April, the reviewer mentions breakfast and something to the effect of someone telling you what to do. In our case, we were enjoying breakfast and a gentleman went to refill his plate at the buffet (there were no large plates out). A woman who works there started yelling at him and saying he needed to use a fresh plate. She was loud and unprofessional. She finally opens a cupboard door and hands the man a fresh plate - but still didn't put any out for other guests. A couple of minutes later, another man goes to the buffet and he opens the cupboard to get a clean plate and the same woman yells at him because he's not suppose to be in there. It really ruined the atmosphere in the nice little area they have for breakfast and you couldn't help but feel bad for the two men that were yelled at.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ArmyMom950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    205
    63
    35
    24
See reviews for
182
188
19
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I love the idea of this place. More "suite" hotels should be available. This hotel is all suites, which is super cool. Basically, private beds and baths with a shared living room and kitchen area. In the case of this hotel, the suites are all unique units accessed from outside entrances. There is a main building on the site that has the lobby, front desk, dining room area and is adjacent to the outdoor pool. Again, fabulous set up. However, I would agree with many of the other reviews that the property is in need of some updating. The furniture was older and was a little rough around the edges, especially in the living room area. The kitchen appliances were all older. However, everything was clean and operational in our unit. The philosophy of the hotel, which I respect greatly, is to be "green", energy efficient, to recycle and eat natural foods. You get that kind of "hippie" feel throughout...from the furniture to the food. Not a problem; just an observation. In fact, my only real complaint was the temperature. In an effort to conserve energy, they keep the thermostat set at 75 and you can adjust it when you get into the room. However, with temps in the upper 90s, the upstairs of our 2 story unit didn't cool off to an acceptable temperature until a full 24 hours after being there. It was at least 85 upstairs in the unit (75 on the lower level where the thermostat is) when we checked in. By the next day, it was 75 upstairs and a pretty cool 65 on the main level. That may be a problem with the insulation of the older building, but that needs to be taken into consideration when setting the thermostats. Overall, it was a good experience and we certainly got more for our money at this hotel when we would have otherwise. The food, happy hours and access to a fridge/microwave make up for the rough edges.

Room Tip: All of the single bedroom suites are on the ground level whereas all of the double bedroom suites ar...
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate this approach and I would like to see more of it. I liked the salt-water pool.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I don't think this hotel has been updated for 30 years. The 70's is calling and wants its furniture back. Wallpaper peeling off walls, stains on rugs, drapes, walls, etc. I am 52 and microwave was so outdated, I didn't even know how to operate. There is a sitting area in the two bedroom suite, but if you have more than two in your party, bring a folding chair. There is one very uncomfortable chair and the smallest love seat I have ever seen. There are two stools (no backs) at the kitchen counter, but the stains made them too gross to use. Also, if you are elderly, not in good shape or have any ambulatory issues, do not get a two story or second floor room, the steps are steep and precarious. BTW, there is a strip club "Sugars" a few doors down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi G, Front Office Manager at Habitat Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We care deeply when we fail to please our guests. We stand ready to make amends.

After listening intently to valuable guest feedback, we have heard you, and our renovations in 2014 are in progress with only a handful of suites to go.

Habitat Suites is proud to have served guests for over 35 years as an independent, environmentally responsible hotel. Unlike larger chains who conduct large-scale renovations every 5-10 years, we are in a constant stream of improvements and renovations. Our standards for cleanliness, however, are never compromised. Our team members in all departments are committed to this promise. Some things being dated will happen time and again, but we wish to help our guests feel right at home - and that is why we are dedicated to the exciting projects this year which are sure to provide an even more spacious, beautiful and harmonious environment for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The shower was a little hard to operate, confusing knobs, but the room was nice and you do get a full kitchen. I was not happy that they suspended happy hour for the entire 4th of July weekend due to the holiday. The hotel should be run for the pleasure of the guests not the convenience of the staff. If anything, more effort should have gone into the happy hour for a holiday weekend rather than not having it at all. The ambiance of the hotel is cool and the maid service was good. The staff was polite.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet. I did read a complaint from someone that had a room toward the end near the adj...
See more room tips
Green Features: I think that the salt water pool is supposed to the more environmentally friendly than the normal chlorinated type. The system should generate its own chlorine and the salt water is supposed to be more gentle on the skin.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kliffnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Location Was Good, Room Was Actually A One Bedroom Apartment With A Full Kitchen Which Was Great. They Have A Quiet Policy After Ten PM Which Is Great In Theory But There Is A Restaurant/Bar Next Door From Which I Could Hear Loud Music, Shouting And A DJ Until The Wee Hours Every Night. I Didn't Get Decent Night's Sleep The Entire Time I Was There. And My Apartment Was On The Second Floor Even Though I Had Requested Handicap Accommodations(No Elevator) And They Wouldn't Chance It.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This suite seems to be a renovated old apartment complex.
The floor plan was nice to my family. We stayed in 2 bedroom suite and it has a king bed downstairs and a queen bed upstairs.
It has fully equipped kitchen along with some utensils and pots you could use, and full sized refrigerator (it was a bit old and made loud noise though).

The staff were nice and friendly, and there was daily evening reception and breakfast. The food didn't have much choice but decent enough considering its price.

It is closed located to the freeway but not too close to have much noise. Though there were some crazy people on Friday night who made noise at night, but I am not sure whether it was inside the suite or from nearby place. There are some crazy folks on friday night anywhere anyway..

The price was reasonable thanks to priceline, and we would love to stay again if we need to stay more than 2 nights in austin.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_hmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My sister and I had a great stay at the Habitat Suites. The grounds were lovely; the staff couldn't have been more professional, and the rooms served our purpose--a good night's sleep. Breakfast was surprisingly good.

Green Features: This fact weighed in our decision to stay. Always glad to support businesses who are environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Metta Maidie Ra... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Property: Habitat Suites Hotel
Address: 500 E Highland Mall Blvd, Austin, TX 78752-3722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin
Habitat Suites Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing