We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great first experience with Hyatt Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum
Ranked #79 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great first experience with Hyatt Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

First visit and I'm sold.

Love the layout of the room.

The 42 inch plasma was awesome.

Look forward to trying other Hyatt Place's.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelPineiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    131
    58
    26
    16
See reviews for
110
55
18
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stay at this hotel for 2 nights. We checked in at the lobby and got our pass without any difficulty. However, there were neither eye contact nor greeting from the hotel staffs. They acted like nobodies were there except themselves. We could see they were having their own interaction. There were a guy and a lady working that day on 12/26 and 27. The unwelcoming feeling has last for 2 days. We had used hotel's computer at the lobby but have left a couple of papers there. We came and check with them within a couple of minutes but the staff said there were nothing left there. Believe it or not, we were sure the papers were there. There need more customer training.

  • Liked — fast check in.
  • Disliked — Staff Attitude
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whitesandbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

The hotel was great - easy to find, clean, new, fair price. We were in Austin to attend graduation at the university. We had family that stayed at a hotel nearby and they had nothing but problems. And their hotel was old. The Hyatt Place was great. We would definitely stay there again and would consider staying at a Hyatt Place in another city.

  • Liked — New, clean, good price.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkleecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

For the most part I enjoyed the Hyatt Place. It was clean and comfortable. The room was spacious though the bathroom is small and dark. Free internet access and being near the Whole Foods were a big plus.
My problems were minor: you can hear the noise from a nearby restaurant/club if you are at the back of the hotel but running the a/c solved that problem.
Breakfast is not great and was not always out on time, but for free it was fine.
The pool was nice and the gym adequate, though no weights of any sort.

  • Liked — Nice room, free internet, easy highway access
  • Disliked — Dark cramped bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

In town for business, I stayed 5 nights at this property. This was my second stay at a Hyatt Place and I love their concept. The hotel is in NW Austin and very close to my company. You can walk to Dave & Busters, Baby A's Mexican Rest (Excellent) and a movie theatre. I really like this part of Austin, the mall is down the street. Check-in went smoothly and the staff was nice. The room was great, big tv, comfy bed, free wireless. The contiental breakfast was ok, a hot breakfast cost extra. They have a nice fitness center open 24-7 and the pool was ok but no hottub. They have beer and wine in the lobby so that was nice. Place was clean and housekeeping was good. I will always stay here when in Austin for business!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jkuba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

In theory, this is a great idea -- a self-serve hotel for a lower price. However, there are some serious problems with staffing and stocking. The decor is great, and if I were rating the hotel on decor alone I would give it 5 stars. Beautiful lobby, huge plasma screen tvs, decent-but-smallish pool. However, despite the remodel there are already signs of deterioration and the breakfast experience is a nightmare.

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night, for $119 plus tax per night. The room was very comfortable, if a bit tight. The sink faucet was tilted at a funny angle and was loose, and there was only a shower (no tub). But overall, the room was acceptable.

However, the "free continental breakfast" is inadequate on every front. On Saturday morning, we went downstairs to discover sour milk, only one toaster with 4 slots, chemically tasting fruit, and an inadequately stocked tea display. Another gentleman pointed out the problem with the milk and placed it at the bakery window, where it sat for the next 40 minutes while we ate. I pointed out the problem with the tea. I used the kiosk to order the breakfast burrito, and I can't recommend ordering any hot breakfast. My $7 burrito arrived at the window 25 minutes (!!!) later, and was announced with a bark, "Burrito!" It had a raw-tasting tortilla, lukewarm eggs, unmelted cheese and canned salsa. The "hashbrowns" that came with it were a lukewarm glop of herbed mashed potatoes that had been barely cooked on one side to maintain integrity. Come on, I could have microwaved this myself and it would have tasted better.

Fast forward to right now, Sunday morning: no caffeinated tea, no decaffeinated coffee, no spoons, no juice, almost no cereal (healthier choices gone, froot loops and frosted flakes left), no bagels, no cream cheese, no half&half, no glasses (just mugs). I walked behind the "bar" to grab a packet of tea. Instead of continuing to stock his breakfast area, the gallery host came out to shake his finger at me. I told him he had absolutely no tea and that I had pointed this out to him 24 hours earlier. I'm amazed that he was policing the tea bag "theft," rather than taking care of his customers. Also, they are the same tea bags that are theoretically available in the continental breakfast area. To his credit, as I am typing this, I just saw him go behind the bar and grab the entire tea display and move it to the continental breakfast area. So maybe I'll give them 2.5 stars instead of 2.

The 2 desk hostesses have been incredibly nice to us and to our children. They are helpful and polite, but apparently they are not allowed to leave the desk area? It seems to me that on busy mornings, there needs to be one more person in the breakfast area to keep up with the larger groups of people. And a little respect from the manager/kitchen dude wouldn't hurt.

The next time we come to Austin and want the low-price, self-serve experience, we'll go to the La Quinta on South MoPac at Southwest Parkway: bigger rooms, better breakfast, nicer staff. Decor isn't as nice, but the total experience is better.

  • Liked — Decor. Desk hostesses.
  • Disliked — Poor service, terrible food, rude manager
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jolie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMorgan21, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum, responded to this review, 3 September 2008
Please give us another chance! We are under new management and our hotel is anxious to make every traveler feel special. We love our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis since it became a Hyatt Place. Other than the name Hyatt, it has nothing in common with Hyatt, especially the service. THE BAD: I just use the kiosk to check-in and hope that I have no need to interact with the hotel staff, because they are very close to useless. I estimate that the check-in procedure via the staff takes at least 10 minutes. The ‘Gallery Hosts’ have difficulties using a mouse and a computer. Another reviewer mentioned that they do not inform you if your bed preference on the reservation cannot be met. Very true. No one there has any experience in running a hotel. THE GOOD: Since it was recently converted, the rooms are in decent shape. The sofas are good and the mattress are comfortable. I even like the in-room coffee. However, the biggest perk is the 42” HDTV. It is in the center of the room on a swivel, so one can see it from the bed or the sofa. I am anxious for Marriott to rehab their rooms. Or, I suppose Hyatt could get their staff trained by Mariott.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KC_Donkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Courtyard Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin NW - Arboretum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum

Property: Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum
Address: 3612 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Austin
#47 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the intersection of State Hwy Loop 1 and US Highway 183, and just ten miles northwest of downtown Austin, Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum offers visitors access to some of the area’s greatest attractions including the Arboretum at Great Hills, the Domain, Gateway Shopping Center, University of Texas, and the Highland Lakes. We're also minutes from numerous corporate offices, such as IBM, Apple, Oracle, Dell, 3M, Charles Schwab, Microsoft, AT&T, eBay, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum Hotel Austin
Hyatt Austin
Austin Hyatt
Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing