We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but beds are well past sell by date”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Ranked #106 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value but beds are well past sell by date”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed here as a family of 5 for one night. Rooms are spacious with little road noise however the noise from the AC more than made up for this. Admittedly we were a little spoilt having stayed at two brand new spring hills suites in Arlington VA and Orlando FL.
The beds were of good quality when they were bougjt but age and use has caught up and we found ourselves (both less than 150 pounds) gravitating towards the middle- so not good if you have back problems

Service- friendly and overall very good although the receptionist couldnt understand what a duvet or comforter was. The hotel is off a major highway so quite easy to get to.

Breakfast was the usual fare- again not as good as the newer Spring Hills but definitely a bit healthier then the Hampton Inns- where we saw people gorging themselves on multiples tubs of cream cheese, waffles, fruit loops, non-diet jelly etc. Skimmed milk aide- Surely in this day and age hotels should get with the trend and try and offer their patrons more responsible, health conscious fare?

Overall the good service and value made up for the old and worn feel of the hotel

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuddlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    58
    25
    2
    7
See reviews for
51
19
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty,Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We loved this hotel. About 7 min. to downtown Austin. Great spacious room with super-comfortable beds and fluffy pillows !
The continental breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. This will be "Our" hotel if we should visit Austin, TX again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

The hotel itself is fine. The security of the hotel isn't.
We had our car broken into and probably $2K worth of property stolen. Some of it was subsequently recovered. The lighting in the parking lots is bad. There is a bad element cruising this parking lot looking for a mark. The hotel does not provide security. They put signs saying its a problem and denying any responsibility.
My recommendation: Don't stay here unless you want to run the risk of a break in to your automobile.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tribefan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

I was a little worried about this hotel based on the mixed reviews, but we had a great stay there. The rooms and pool area were very clean. The front desk was friendly. The breakfast was great - it was very crowded, especially on weekends, so be prepared for that. If the breakfast area was a little bigger, it would be perfect. The hotel is a little hard to find but we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dziolecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2007

We stayed here for three nights. On our last night our car was broken in to and $2K worth of our stuff was stolen. We were parked close to the front door of the hotel (leading in to the lobby) and our car has an alarm which went off. We scared the thieves away but not before they had already stolen things. Front desk staff told us that there was nothing they could do. This hotel obviously has problems with security, and we will not be staying here again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Lousy security - car robbed in parking lot
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mckwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

Despite the fact that this is a smoke-free hotel, our room stunk of smoke. This was because the person in the room below us was smoking out their window. The front desk refused to do anything to stop this person from smoking (they were highly skeptical it was even happening), and wouldn't move us to another room.

Definitely one of the worst nights I've spent in a hotel (or not spent, since we checked out very early).

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — smoke
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank imperfec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed at the Springhill Suites Arboretum this month while in Austin for a wedding. We had 4 rooms booked; we checked for 3 of them at once and they actually put us all together on one floor, which right there is nothing short of amazing.

We had one bedroom suites with sofa beds in the living area so we could accomodate 3 or 4 people to a room, and this worked out nicely.

The hotel served a buffet breakfast in the morning, which was nice - we could all meet for breakfast without having to coordinate a drive to a restaurant somewhere... we did enough logistical maneuvering the rest of the time!

The rooms were clean and well appointed with a full kitchen, living room with a sofa and several chairs, desk, TV in the living area as well as the bedroom. The beds were comfortable enough - not over the top but fine for a couple of nights. Plenty of storage space. Service was minimal - they don't clean the rooms on a daily basis on the weekends, but they did come around and offer clean towels.

All in all, it was a good spot for what we needed at the time. I'd recommend it to families, small groups.

  • Liked — Roomy accomodations
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dottxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Northwest Austin
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest
Northwest Austin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin NW - Arboretum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Property: SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Address: 10936 Stonelake Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-5748
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing