We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Ranked #73 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great place for a family”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

When we travel with our daughter we try to choose Homewood Suites. While not in the middle of the action, this hotel met all of our needs. The extra bedroom has become a must when we travel as a family. If you are in Austin with your family, consider staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houston1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to see you daughter.

Kindest Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    131
    61
    49
    25
See reviews for
148
55
23
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in Homewood Suites for a weekend in May to attend a wedding. There was my husband and I and our two small children. We stayed in the king suite.

Pros:
*Suite - So many proclamined "suites" these days don't actually have a separate,private room, but this one did.
*Location - This hotel was right on the freeway, so easy to travel around Austin and get back to it. No restaurants within walking distance, but that didn't matter to us b/c we are used to driving wherever we go.
*Room features - The rooms were well-appointed. Enough space for us to get around in (unless the sofa bed was pulled out). The hallways were quiet at night, which we appreciate. There was a DVD player, which is good for those of us with children who travel with movies. I also enjoyed having Neutrogena bath products. That was a nice touch. The king-size bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Also, the A/C worked great.

Cons:
*Room features - There were stains on the comforter on our bed. That's something a person just doesn't want to see in a hotel. Also, there were no sheets in the room for the pull-out bed and the blanket provided for it looked dirty. The fridge and A/C were loud when they kicked on, so light sleepers might not want to sleep in the living room area since that's where the most noise is. There was a mix of worn-looking and more updated furniture in the room.

Neutral:
*Breakfast - Though breakfast was free, we were on the run while in Austin and did not have time to try it.
*Pool - Again, didn't have time to try it.
*Front desk service - We didn't have too much interaction with the workers. They pretty much were just doing their jobs.

Overall, we would stay in this hotel again... for a night or two. It is good quality for the price.

Room Tip: Third floor was very quiet, though the elevator is somewhat slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see that overall your were satisfied with your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance departments. We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Austin.

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Despite bump on first night, enjoyed hotel overall.

First time traveling with our one year old child and first time staying in a suite room. It's great with a fridge and microwave which is great for those huge Texas portion leftovers you get in every restaurant. No need for it to go to waste. Plus, anytime you want free fruit or coffee, they're always available in the lobby.

Austin is not a walking city, so being in a central area is not important as it would be in New Orleans for example. Glad we chose this one over the north location too since it seems to be better for getting around quicker due to being near freeways.

Now to my bump- the first night we were there we were exhausted after all the flying we did to get there since we are coming from far away. At 1:30am on May 4th, the fire alarm went off in the whole hotel. Not wanting to take chances, we quickly got out fast and went to the parking lot as most guests did. It took 20 minutes for the hotel people to figure out it was a false alarm.

I'm not blaming the staff for this, but I has hoping aside from saying 'sorry' they would throw in a tad of a discount or something to compensate for getting us out of bed at that ungodly hour!!

Overall, I would return to this chain though with family in tow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurora90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. Congratulations on your first trip with the new family! I apologize for the fire alarm disturbance during your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you have been converted to "suite" living during your travels. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
742 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great place for a 3-night stay. Our king room overlooked the pool and was very quiet. But we sure did not need the bed's heavy comforter in the Texas heat. Fortunately, there was a light blanket in the closet.

Service could not have been better. Staff members were amazingly helpful, friendly, and knowledgable about the area. I made an online reservation the day before I wanted to arrive, and I requested a room without scenting cleaning products and away from the elevator. Staff made sure BOTH requests were fulfilled! Later when the in-room telephone misbehaved, a hotel employee was promptly there to fix it. A front desk clerk knew just where to find a nearby self-serve carwash. When the TV was blaring in the breakfast room, we were able to get the sound turned down. During our visit, we bought a new camera and accidentally trashed the camera box with the strap inside. Our garbage had just been taken out, so we asked if we could check the trash. A staff member volunteered to check the garbage, and he found the box, retrieved the strap, and had it delivered to our room in very little time!

Bonuses included the freshly baked cookies at the front desk and DVDs to check out for free (the rooms have DVD players).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay an outstanding one during your visit to Austin. The team is our asset and they enjoy making our guests happy. We appreciate your recognition of their hard work and dedication. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

There were several conventions in Austin 3rd weekend in April which meant we stayed in this property that was unfamiliar to us. It is very convenient because of its location near Ben White Blvd, which also meant that road noise was a bit of a problem in our 2nd floor room.

The room itself was spotless and comfortable. Towels were rather thin, but plenty available. Bath and Body lotion was a nice surprise. All staff members were pleasant and helpful. The buffet breakfast was better than the usual at similar properties. I would stay here again but on a higher floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janefromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. I am happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with our hotel. As a new fan of our hotel, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A group of 5 women stayed here for 5 nights. The location is fairly close to the airport, but there are no restaurants in the area. Took us a few days to figure out the area and where things were located. The hotel is nice. Excellent breakfast. We didn't get to enjoy any of the dinners that they offer during the week. The 2 bedroom suite was perfect for 5 people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. Travelling with a group of five can be quite the adventure! I am happy we were able to accommodate you during your visit to Austin and we hope to see you next time.

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My mother, sister and I recently stayed here while visiting my son. The rooms were spacious, clean, and reasonably quiet. The housekeeping staff did a great job right down to the towel art. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices and there were enough tables. Check-in and Check-out were easy and getting to the hotel was convenient. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff to let them know their towel art is appreciated by our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin Marriott South
#53 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Address: 4143 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744-1048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-South/Airport is a an upscale, residential-style, all-suite hotel located in Austin, Texas, that provides corporate housing, temporary housing and luxurious accommodations for anyone traveling to Austin for business or for pleasure. We are conveniently situated at the southeast corner of IH-35 and Highway 71/Ben White Boulevard, five miles from downtown Austin and six miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. All guests can enjoy free internet WiFi, the daily complimentary Suite Start Hot Breakfast and the Welcome Home evening reception, featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (subject to state and local laws). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin South / Airport Hotel Austin
Homewood Austin
Hilton Austin
Homewood Suites Austin South
Austin Homewood Suites
Austin Hilton
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing