We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Ranked #81 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My sister and I spent a week at Homewood Suites South in December. We often stay at Homewood Suites and know pretty much what to expect. We were happy with our breakfasts and actually ate at the Manager's Reception three times during our stay. All of the food was very good and the dining area was kept in good condition. Our suite was clean and comfortable.

We had two issues during our stay. There is only one restaurant within walking distance of this hotel per the front desk, however, the hotel did have a menu in the room for a meal delivery service with a good selection of food at reasonable prices. We did not use this service. Our second issue was that on two occasions we were stopped on our way to the elevator by cleaning personnel and asked if our room needed any attention. We didn't appreciate having to say that our trash needed to be emptied and our beds needed to be made. We didn't feel that we should have been asked this question at all and since the question came from two different people on two different days, we think it's fairly common. We've never encountered this in our past stays at any hotel. All the people had to do was open the door and they would have seen what needed to be done.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet which we appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dweezle4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you and your sister had an enjoyable visit. I regret that you were concerned by the housekeeper asking if you personally if you needed service. The nature of our extended stay hotel is guests that stay for longer periods of time. These long term guests also often utilize their do not disturb signs. I am certain the housekeepers earnest questions were only to ensure that their services met your needs. I hope we will see you on your next trip to Austin.

Happy New Year,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    119
    59
    47
    24
See reviews for
139
52
21
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Upon check-in had to wait for receptionist to finish personal call. When finally got keys for a suite, found it not even made up from last guest. Was given another suite and found the floors dirty and a soiled towel hanging on the shower bar! They even missed servicing the room for the first day of our three day stay. Found out it was not listed as being occupied so cleaning staff knew to clean room. Just too many mismanagement issues that reflect on a poorly managed hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Clifford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I regret that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping supervisor to help us determine the issues that may have occurred during your visit. Your shared experience is highly valued and essential to the improvement of our services and standards for future guests.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I hardly ever go out of town, so whenever you go out of town for the first time in awhile, it's very nice to find an awesome & clean hotel like this one! The room was clean, the appearance of the lobby was beautiful & the breakfast was awesome! Great job Homewood Suites & be sure to keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with TripAdvisor. I hope that you enjoyed your night on the town as well and we hope you will choose to stay with us on your next opportunity "out."

Yours in Hospitality,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at. All of the staff I dealt with were helpful and nice. The room was well worth the price I paid for it. They offered both breakfast and dinner in the price of the room. The only problem I had with them was that they did not offer a military discount because it was a holiday weekend. Other hotels may do this to, it was the first time me and my family were not a home for them. Overall though I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Austin area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks Joshua for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy you were able to utilize our breakfast and dinner options during your visit. We do offer Military Family rates at all Hilton family of hotels. It is possible that the holiday rate over Thanksgiving was a better deal at the time! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Thanks,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubobck, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

outstanding service, have been a Hilton Honors and stay at Hilton group hotels anytime possible. Have tried other groups and just not the same. Rooms are always top quality and comfort. Would recommend to all business partners and friends/family members.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you Michael for your loyalty to the Hilton Family of brands. Guests like you are the reason we do what we do best! I appreciate you taking the time to share you comments on TripAdvisor and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin.

Happy Travels,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Did not honor the room rate, staff untrained on the safe deposit boxes, breakfast obviously frozen/pre-packaged and cheap; failure to turn back the clock to standard time caused wakeup calls to be 1 hour early.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
John Michael,

I regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your most recent visit. Our Suite Start Hot Breakfast is a brand standardized menu that is utilized in planning, preparation, cooking, and serving. I would be happy to review the rate issue for you; however, the usual reason for not honoring a rate is for not qualifying for the rate at check in. The change of the time at the hotel requires a technician in the system and therefore can be delayed for 24 hours. I will be sure to share this with the front desk so that perhaps we can adjust the wake up calls on the day of the change.

If there is anything else we can do better, please let me know. Your opinion is highly valued as a guest of Homewood Suites by Hilton.

Happy Travels,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

not the value for the amount spent. Breakfast was cold one morning. Wake up call was not accurate on a time change weekend. No restaurants close by. Location was close to airport and easy access to 71 E/W but only a Walmart and fast food in the near area, as far we could find within 2 miles.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Mary,

We do have a great location near the airport, highway 71 and interstate 35 with easy access. I would definitely encourage you to ask the front desk staff for some recommendations on your next visit. There is plenty of options within a 2 mile radius of the hotel; however, they can be difficult to see due to the highway intersection. Our staff would be more than happy to give you some directions and points of interest. I regret that you were disappointed with breakfast and will be certain to review this with the staff.

If I can be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out. We hope that you will choose Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South on your future visits to Austin.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin Marriott South
#49 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Address: 4143 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744-1048
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-South/Airport is a an upscale, residential-style, all-suite hotel located in Austin, Texas, that provides corporate housing, temporary housing and luxurious accommodations for anyone traveling to Austin for business or for pleasure. We are conveniently situated at the southeast corner of IH-35 and Highway 71/Ben White Boulevard, five miles from downtown Austin and six miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. All guests can enjoy free internet WiFi, the daily complimentary Suite Start Hot Breakfast and the Welcome Home evening reception, featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (subject to state and local laws). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin South / Airport Hotel Austin
Hilton Austin
Homewood Austin
Homewood Suites Austin South
Austin Hilton
Austin Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing