We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Capitol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Ranked #22 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location for Capitol”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to be close to the Capitol and because they had suites for a family with teenagers. Room was fine and we had a few times where service was great (need a corkscrew? They will find you one.). But one of the elevators was still out (judging by other reviews it had been out a while) so there was a longish wait. Some new hired front desk attendant needed to brush up on policies...do you have coffee or not? If we return to Austin we will probably come back here - mostly due to the proximity of the Texas Chili Parlor though.

Helpful?
Thank LindaIC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    279
    94
    32
    14
See reviews for
248
134
23
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

pull out bed was terrible. Springs seem to be broken. Called for a Taxi night before, because we had an early flight. Arrangements at the front desk supposedly took care of this. Maid service was fair at best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a very nice Doubletree in a great location downtown close to the capital (and right around the corner from the Clay Pit; see my review). The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The room was spacious and had a nice balcony overlooking the city.

My only complaints are the ice machine and the elevator. We were on the 12th floor. I left the room to search for an ice machine and didn't find one. So I went back to the room and called downstairs. They told me the machine was on the 2nd floor. The actually did offer to have ice sent up, but it seemed crazy to me so I made the trip.

What was worse, the elevator stopped on the 10th floor to let some people in and then it did not want to leave the floor. The doors closed and it just sat there. The 10th floor folks said they had been having this trouble for their entire stay and they would just have to keep trying and eventually it would go. They did and it did, so I got my ice.

Then, when we were ready to checkout on Sunday, there was literally a 10 minute wait for an elevator. You can imagine how many people were on the thing when it finally arrived. We squeezed in, but then it stopped on every floor (of course because there were so many people waiting). On each floor, the doors opened, the people sighed and complained, the doors closed, and we did it again; 11 times!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTripBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
581 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

They spent a long time remodeling the whole interior of the hotel. I finally made it back after a year and was quite pleased at the improvements. While the renovations were going on it seemed they were cutting corners and leaving some items in the rooms old rather than replacing them, now it seems like a brand new hotel from top to bottom.

The rooms are quite spacious, the views from the south side of the building are great. Ask for room XX15 - it is a NE corner suite looking across at the State Capitol building. In particular, the best room in the hotel is 1516 - huge room looking at the Capitol with three balconies - perfect for large parties.

The lobby bar has a couple TVs in it. I don't eat at the restaurant there, but they serve full menu at the bar - burgers are the best. Immediately east of the building and half a block south is the Texas Chili Parlor - best food around the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room XX15 - it is a NE corner suite looking across at the State Capitol building. In particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My 2 sisters and myself stayed at the Double Tree Suites by Hilton in Austin. The bedroom was very large and had 2 queen beds. The living room and bar/breakfast area was very nice. The staff were very nice and directed us to a place to eat near the hotel. They also have a hotel shuttle that took us to get our Duck Tour. We 3 sisters were very pleased. We have all traveled extensively and were all very happy with our stay of two nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Beautiful rooms. Comfortable beds. Walking distance to our meeting. Staff was cordial and knowledgeable. Cookies were delicious and parking was easy. I would like to consider this hotel for a future personal stay, however it was a little pricey

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morenci, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Attended a conference in Austin, were able to walk to conference each day from hotel, staff was great, our group was able to get shuttle service to several outstanding restaurants near the hotel. We were just a few blocks from the state capital, walked over one evening and took great pictures.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#18 Business Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton - Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing