We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Ranked #50 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Southern Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel was the start of a 3 week TX tour, staff was friendly, and knows Austin. we enjoyed the stay so much extended our stay by 2 days. looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ickyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We continually strive to provide the utmost service to our guests and the information you have provided will help others who are looking to stay in the Austin area.

We hope for a future opportunity to serve you, thank you again.

Sincerely,

Shay Bourgeois
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    308
    175
    97
    47
See reviews for
220
163
61
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I enjoy the Doubletree franchise and generally seek them out. However, this is one where I doubt I will return. The resturant was over priced, the street noise from Interstate 35 was aggravating, the "in room" amenities were sparse and the wifi was largely non-existant. That said, the location was great.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the highway side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatherRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is 5 minutes away from downtown and overall was nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and welcomed me with a warm cookie. Nice place and at a reasonable price!!

Room Tip: If you work for the government they will give you a discount! Rooms were big and restroom was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed here for a week while doing research at UT. I wanted an efficient, decent, reasonably-priced hotel near the UT campus. The hotel mostly fitted that bill. The room was a bit dark and noisy -- next to the freeway, and I didn't like the charges in the business center, or the slowness of the free wifi (I guess done deliberately to make you pay to upgrade). However, service was good (although the poor guy on the front desk was often alone and overwhelmed) and prompt; I had room service twice and it was efficient and tasty. If you don't have a car there aren't too many dining options in the evening-- Denny's next door, and then a fifteen minute walk through deserted streets to the very interesting East Village area. This hotel was thus decent enough, but nothing to write home about. If you wanted something clean, efficient, and near t the University, and you have a car, I'd recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
301 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I frequently stay here on business and on pleasure with my wife. I like the location by UT and centrally located for everything in the area. The hotel is up to date, rooms are very nice, and the staff is always helpful. Parking is free, outside area is very nice, and good restaurants close by. The Dennys in the parking lot is convenient and 6th street is just across I35. I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

It was within walking distance of Sixth Avenue entertainment area as well as close to the University of Texas. It was an okay hotel for the price, most of the hotels in Austin for the week we were visiting were a lot more expensive. The hotel was a lot nicer than the outside environs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briancarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We have a newly renovated hotel and pride ourselves in providing exceptional customer service. We appreciate the positive review and look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Doubletree Austin University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAYLOR, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

the hotel is within walking distance of the baseball and football fields. loved the pillows here.
the furniture was worn, the a/c unit was in disrepair, the window had a bullet hole in it.
the grounds were tree covered, but the property backs up to a cemetery.
would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. While we did just go through a recent renovation I am sorry to hear that the furniture in your room was already worn as well as the air conditioning unit. I wish we could have had the opportunity to repair prior to your departure. I appreciate your feedback as it is through feedback such as yours that we can continue to move forward. While I cannot change the location of our hotel being next to the cemetary, we do get our share of compliments because of the quietness of the rooms and the ability to obtain a good nights rest. Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Austin University while in the Austin area.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
0.7 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions, including Austin's famed 6th Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area
DoubleTree By Hilton Austin - University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing